Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best V Block for Drill Press (2026): 5 Picks Compared

5 v blocks for drill press work, compared by stated size, material, stated accuracy and included parts.

Best V Block for Drill Press (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1HFS Cast Iron V-BlockFinest Stated AccuracyHFS Cast Iron V-Block9.5/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Eastwood Center-ItBest for Drill PressEastwood Center-It9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3HHIP Cast Iron V BlockFull Dimensions StatedHHIP Cast Iron V Block9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Grizzly H5608 V-BlockSteel Matched PairGrizzly H5608 V-Block9.4/10View on Amazon

Round stock rolls. On a drill press table, a length of tube wants to roll away from the bit, and a flat vise jaw gives it nothing to sit in. A v block gives round stock a seat, so the bit meets the center of the bar instead of skating off the curve. This guide compares the best v block for drill press work by stated size, material, stated accuracy and included parts, so a home garage can pick the fixture that fits the stock on hand.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you.

Quick picks

  • Finest Stated Accuracy HFS Cast Iron V-Block: 0.0001 in stated accuracy in a 2-piece matched cast iron set sized 2 in by 1-3/8 in by 7/8 in. Check price on Amazon
  • Best for Drill Press Eastwood Center-It: Made to center bar stock and round tubing on a drill press, with mounting bolts, clamps and a chuck key included. Check price on Amazon
  • Full Dimensions Stated HHIP Cast Iron V Block: Matched pair with V-width of 1-3/4 in and depth of 1-5/16 in stated alongside a 0.0005 inch tolerance. Check price on Amazon
  • Steel Matched Pair Grizzly H5608 V-Block: Numbered and matched steel pair with 1 in capacity and clamps. Check price on Amazon

The picks

HFS(R) Cast Iron V-Block Set

HFS(R) Cast Iron V-Block Set

HFS9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-piece matched cast iron v block set sized 2 in by 1-3/8 in by 7/8 in, with stated accuracy of 0.0001 in and a weight of 13.4 ounces.

Pros

  • Stated accuracy of 0.0001 in, the smallest tolerance figure here
  • Matched pair for even support of longer workpieces
  • Cast iron build for rigidity and stability
  • Compact 2 in by 1-3/8 in by 7/8 in size for small stock

Cons

  • Small size limits the stock it can hold
  • No warranty term stated
  • No clamps named in the listing
  • No safety listing stated
HHIP 3 X 1-3/4 X 2-3/8 INCH CAST Iron V Block Set

HHIP 3 X 1-3/4 X 2-3/8 INCH CAST Iron V Block Set

HHIP9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A matched pair of cast iron v blocks sized 3 in by 1-3/4 in by 2-3/8 in, with a V-width of 1-3/4 in, a depth of 1-5/16 in and a stated 0.0005 inch tolerance.

Pros

  • Stated 0.0005 inch tolerance, machined square and parallel
  • V-width of 1-3/4 in and depth of 1-5/16 in stated
  • Matched pair for consistent workholding
  • Cast iron seasoned to prevent distortion

Cons

  • Listing contradicts itself on set size and material
  • No warranty term stated
  • No clamps named in the listing
  • No safety listing stated
Eastwood Drill Press V Block Fixture Center It

Eastwood Drill Press V Block Fixture Center It

Eastwood9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A drill press v block fixture for centering bar stock and round tubing, measuring 4 in wide by 5 in long with a 2 in vee at a 90 degree angle, in 6065-T3 aluminum.

Pros

  • Made for drill press centering of bar stock and tubing
  • Mounting bolts, clamps and a chuck key included
  • 2 in vee at a 90 degree angle suits common tube work
  • 6065-T3 aluminum at 16 ounces, easy to move

Cons

  • No accuracy figure stated
  • No warranty term stated
  • Aluminum suits lighter clamping than iron or steel
  • No safety listing stated
Grizzly Industrial H5608

Grizzly Industrial H5608

Grizzly Industrial9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A numbered and matched steel v block pair sized 1-5/8 in by 1-1/4 in by 1-1/4 in, with a 1 in capacity, clamps included and a stated tensile strength of 1500 pounds.

Pros

  • Numbered and matched pair, precision ground
  • Steel build with 1500 pounds tensile strength
  • Clamps included with the pair
  • 1 in capacity for round stock work

Cons

  • Listing contradicts itself on dimensions
  • No warranty term stated
  • No accuracy figure stated
  • No safety listing stated
Groz 03100 Cast Iron V Block with 3-Inch Base

Groz 03100 Cast Iron V Block with 3-Inch Base

Groz9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2 pack of close grain cast iron v blocks with a 3 in base length, precision ground and machined to hold large jobs at 90 degrees during drilling, milling and grinding.

Pros

  • 2 pack for supporting longer workpieces
  • Close grain cast iron for rugged durability
  • Precision ground and machined, square and parallel
  • Holds large jobs at 90 degrees without clamping

Cons

  • Only a 3 in base length is stated, no full dimensions
  • No accuracy figure stated
  • No warranty term stated
  • No safety listing stated

Compare the picks

Model Shop Score Type Size Material Stated accuracy Included Warranty
HFS Cast Iron V-Block 9.5/10 Matched pair 2 in by 1-3/8 in by 7/8 in Cast iron 0.0001 in 2-piece set Not stated
HHIP Cast Iron V Block 9.5/10 Matched pair 3 in by 1-3/4 in by 2-3/8 in Cast iron 0.0005 inch Matched pair Not stated
Eastwood Center-It 9.5/10 Single fixture 4 in wide by 5 in long 6065-T3 aluminum Not stated Mounting bolts, clamps, chuck key Not stated
Grizzly H5608 V-Block 9.4/10 Matched pair 1-5/8 in by 1-1/4 in by 1-1/4 in Steel Not stated Clamps Not stated
Groz 03100 V Block 9.4/10 2 pack 3 in base length Close grain cast iron Not stated 2 pack Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 25 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.

How we scored them

Each pick is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on the How We Pick page. None of the 5 listings states a safety listing or a warranty term, so every pick scores zero on safety and warranty, and the ranking turns on stated size, material, stated accuracy and included parts.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
HFS Cast Iron V-Block 9.5 32 21 20 0 0
HHIP Cast Iron V Block 9.5 30 21 20 0 0
Eastwood Center-It 9.5 30 20 20 0 0
Grizzly H5608 V-Block 9.4 28 21 19 0 0
Groz 03100 V Block 9.4 27 20 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

The 5 listings break down as follows: 3 describe cast iron, 1 describes steel and 1 describes aluminum. 2 state an accuracy figure, and 3 describe a matched pair. None states a warranty term or a safety listing. 2 listings contradict themselves between the title or bullets and the spec table, and those contradictions are called out in the reviews below.

Buying guide: the best v block for drill press

Size and V opening

Start from the stock, not the fixture. The Eastwood fixture measures 4 in wide by 5 in long with a 2 in vee at a 90 degree angle, while the HHIP set measures 3 in by 1-3/4 in by 2-3/8 in with a V-width of 1-3/4 in and a depth of 1-5/16 in. The Grizzly pair measures 1-5/8 in by 1-1/4 in by 1-1/4 in with a 1 in capacity, the HFS set measures 2 in by 1-3/8 in by 7/8 in, and the Groz block carries a 3 in base length. A drill press v block should match the stock it will hold: a vee that is too narrow leaves round stock perched high, and a block that is too small for the job leaves little surface to clamp against.

Material

Material shapes how the fixture behaves under a clamp. The HHIP, HFS and Groz listings describe cast iron, with the HHIP bullets noting cast iron seasoned to prevent distortion and the Groz listing naming close grain cast iron. The Grizzly pair is steel with a stated tensile strength of 1500 pounds, and the Eastwood fixture is 6065-T3 aluminum at 16 ounces. Cast iron suits a bench fixture that stays put, steel suits a pair that takes hard clamping, and aluminum suits a fixture that moves between the drill press and the saw.

Matched pairs and stated accuracy

A matched pair holds a longer workpiece at the same height at both ends, which keeps a drilled hole square to the stock. The HFS listing states accuracy of 0.0001 in, the HHIP listing states a 0.0005 inch tolerance, and both describe blocks machined square and parallel. The Grizzly pair is numbered and matched and precision ground, and the Groz pair is precision ground and machined. Where a listing states no accuracy figure, treat the stated dimensions as the whole story and check the setup against the stock before drilling.

Included parts

Check what comes with the fixture before ordering. The Eastwood listing includes mounting bolts, clamps and a chuck key, and the Grizzly title notes clamps with the pair. The HFS and HHIP listings describe sets, and the Groz listing is a 2 pack. A listing that names no clamps or bolts means clamps and bolts come from the bench, not the box.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Bench space: the Eastwood fixture at 4 in by 5 in needs more table room than the HFS set at 2 in by 1-3/8 in by 7/8 in, so measure the drill press table before ordering.
  • Stock fit: match the vee to the stock, from the Eastwood 2 in vee at a 90 degree angle to the HHIP V-width of 1-3/4 in and the Grizzly 1 in capacity.
  • Storage: keep matched pairs together, since a numbered pair like the Grizzly set is only a pair while both blocks stay together.
  • Before the first job: check the included parts against the listing, and check the title and bullets against the spec table where the figures differ.

Frequently Asked Questions

What size v block fits a drill press?

Match the block to the stock diameter and to the drill press table. The picks here run from the HFS set at 2 in by 1-3/8 in by 7/8 in to the Eastwood fixture at 4 in wide by 5 in long, so a small block suits small round stock and a larger fixture suits bar stock and tubing.

Are matched pairs worth it for longer stock?

Yes for longer workpieces. The HFS listing notes that the matched pair helps maintain consistent alignment when supporting longer workpieces, and the Grizzly and HHIP listings also describe matched pairs for even support at both ends.

Cast iron, steel or aluminum?

Cast iron is the common choice here, with 3 listings describing it, while the Grizzly pair is steel and the Eastwood fixture is 6065-T3 aluminum. Cast iron and steel suit a fixture that stays clamped on the table, and aluminum suits a lighter fixture that moves between jobs.

Do any of these picks include clamps?

The Eastwood listing includes mounting bolts, clamps and a chuck key, and the Grizzly title notes clamps with the pair. The other listings name no clamps, so plan on bench clamps for those sets.

What does stated accuracy mean here?

It means the tolerance figure the listing itself publishes: 0.0001 in for the HFS set and 0.0005 inch for the HHIP set. The other listings state no accuracy figure, so compare those picks on stated dimensions, material and included parts instead.

Related: the best drill press for metal work, the best drill press for beginners, benchtop vs floor drill press, our engine and shop equipment hub and the best bench vise for garage.

More buying guides