Best Vertical Storage Lift for Garage: 5 Picks (2026)
Five vertical storage lifts for the garage, compared by capacity, lift height, platform size, power and warranty, so the bins go up and the floor stays clear.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallSpaceLift SL 5228-S9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Best MotorizedTekmira Attic Lift9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
Best CapacityGarvee Ceiling Rack 4×49.6/10View on Amazon - 4
Also ConsiderFLEXIMOUNTS GL1 Rack9.6/10View on Amazon - 5
Bike Hoist PickRAD Sportz Bike Hoist9.6/10View on Amazon
Every garage reaches the same Saturday: the floor is covered in bins, the ladder leans against the wall, and the attic hatch sits open above a stack of holiday boxes. A vertical lift moves those bins up without the climb, and the best vertical storage lift for garage use is the one that matches the load, the ceiling and the way you want to run it. This guide compares five lifts, from a 100 lb bike hoist to a 350 lb ceiling rack, by capacity, lift height, platform size, power and warranty.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall SpaceLift SL 5228-S: 15 ft of lift, a 24 by 41 in platform, obstacle detection and a 2-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Best Motorized Tekmira Attic Lift: 1200W motor, 220 lb capacity and dual wired and wireless remotes. Check price on Amazon
- Best Capacity Garvee Ceiling Rack 4×4: 350 lb capacity on a 4 by 4 ft rack that lifts 79 in. Check price on Amazon
- Also Consider FLEXIMOUNTS GL1 Rack: 4 by 4 ft rack rated 350 lbs with a 71 in axle. Check price on Amazon
- Bike Hoist Pick RAD Sportz Bike Hoist: Two-pack bike hoist with a 100 lb capacity. Check price on Amazon
Picks for the garage

SpaceLift SL 5228-S Motorized Attic Lift
A motorized attic lift with a 24 by 41 in platform, 15 ft of vertical travel, obstacle detection and a 2-year warranty, made in the USA.
Pros
- 15 ft of vertical lift range
- 24 by 41 in low-profile platform
- Obstacle detection stops the platform on obstruction
- 2-year limited warranty
Cons
- 200 lb capacity is lower than the 350 lb racks here
- Will not fit homes with engineered 2 by 4 trusses
- Motor wattage is not stated
- Unit is 28 in wide, so check the joist spacing first

Electric Attic Lift with 4-Sided Safety Rails
An electric attic lift with a 1200W motor, a 220 lb capacity, a 13.1 ft lift height and 4-sided safety rails, run by wired or wireless remote.
Pros
- 1200W motor for heavy boxes
- 4-sided safety rails keep items on the platform
- Dual wired and wireless remotes
- Automatic stop protects the motor
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 220 lb capacity is below the 350 lb racks here
- Lift height is 13.1 ft, less than the 15 ft SpaceLift range
- No minimum ceiling height is stated

Overhead Garage Lifting Storage Rack
A 4 by 4 ft ceiling storage rack with a 350 lb capacity, a 79 in lift and a hand crank that also takes a power drill.
Pros
- 350 lb capacity
- Lifts 79 in without a ladder
- Hand crank or power drill operation
- Double-rope design with a safety lock
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No motor, so lifting is manual or drill driven
- 79 in of lift is less than the motorized lifts here
- No stated ceiling height requirement

FLEXIMOUNTS GL1 Overhead Garage Lifting Storage
4x4 ft crank-lowered overhead storage rack with 350 lb rating, 79 in lifting range, double rope design and safety lock.
Pros
- Crank lowers the deck to you
- 350 lb rated, 600 lb proof load
- Safety lock prevents movement
- Suits ceilings under 10 ft
Cons
- Needs a ceiling under 10 ft
- No warranty term stated
- Crank operation is slower than fixed racks
- 600 lb proof load vs 350 lb rated: load to the rating

RAD Sportz Bicycle Hoist 2-Pack Quality Garage
A 2-pack ceiling bike hoist with rubber coated hooks, a 100 lb capacity and safety locks, for indoor ceilings up to 12 ft.
Pros
- 100 lb capacity in a 2-pack for two bikes
- Rubber coated hooks protect the bike from scratches
- Safety locks prevent accidental release
- Works as a ladder lift as well as a bike hoist
Cons
- 30 Day warranty is short next to the other picks
- Listing mentions hanging a kayak, which muddies the bike focus
- Ceiling range tops out at 12 ft
- No hook spacing stated in the listing
Compared on paper
| Model | Shop Score | Capacity | Lift height | Platform | Power | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SpaceLift SL 5228-S | 9.7/10 | 200 lb | 15 ft | 24 x 41 in | Not stated | 2 years |
| Tekmira Attic Lift | 9.7/10 | 220 lb | 13.1 ft | 19.9 x 37.3 in | 1200 W | Not stated |
| Garvee Ceiling Rack 4×4 | 9.6/10 | 350 lb | 79 in | 4 x 4 ft | Hand crank or drill | Not stated |
| FLEXIMOUNTS GL1 Rack | 9.6/10 | 350 lbs | Not stated | 4 x 4 ft | Not stated | Not stated |
| RAD Sportz Bike Hoist | 9.6/10 | 100 lb | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 6 November 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.
How the points were given
Each lift is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. Safety points come from features the listings name, such as safety rails, automatic stops, obstacle detection and safety locks. Only the SpaceLift states a warranty term, so the warranty column stays empty for the rest.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SpaceLift SL 5228-S | 9.7 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| Tekmira Attic Lift | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| Garvee Ceiling Rack 4×4 | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you
Five listings made this guide. One states a motor wattage, one states a warranty term, and three name safety features. Two listings give the title only, so their cards stay short and their scores sit below the full listings.
Buying guide: the best vertical storage lift for garage
Capacity
Match the rating to the heaviest bin you plan to lift. The RAD hoist is rated 100 lb, the SpaceLift 200 lb, the Tekmira 220 lb, and the Garvee and FLEXIMOUNTS racks 350 lb. A bin of books or tools fills a rating fast, so leave room above the load you expect.
Lift height and ceiling
Check the range against the ceiling. The Tekmira lifts 13.1 ft, the SpaceLift 15 ft, and the Garvee rack 79 in. The two title-only listings state no lift height, so their range is not stated here.
Platform size
Measure the biggest bin against the platform. The SpaceLift platform is 24 by 41 in, the Tekmira platform is 19.9 by 37.3 in, and the Garvee and FLEXIMOUNTS racks are 4 by 4 ft decks. Tall boxes need room above the platform too, and the SpaceLift has no outer frame to limit the stack height.
Power and controls
The Tekmira runs on a 1200W motor with wired and wireless remotes, and the SpaceLift runs on a motorized winch with a wall-mounted control station. The Garvee rack lifts with a hand crank or a power drill. The two title-only listings state no power or controls.
Warranty and safety
Only the SpaceLift states a warranty term, a 2-year limited warranty. For safety, look for the features the listings name: 4-sided rails and an automatic stop on the Tekmira, obstacle detection on the SpaceLift, and a double-rope design with a safety lock on the Garvee rack.
Check the lift's rated capacity against your heaviest vehicle, and its ceiling and concrete requirements (thickness and strength) before you buy. Install it exactly as the manufacturer specifies, use the mechanical locks before you go under, and look for ALI certification on the model. See the Automotive Lift Institute (ALI). Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- Measure the ceiling against the lift range: 13.1 ft for the Tekmira, 15 ft for the SpaceLift, and 79 in for the Garvee rack.
- Check the framing before ordering: the SpaceLift will not fit homes with engineered 2 by 4 trusses, and the maker says to consult an installer first.
- Match the load to the rating: 100 lb for the RAD hoist, 200 lb for the SpaceLift, 220 lb for the Tekmira, and 350 lb for the Garvee and FLEXIMOUNTS racks.
- Keep the controls within reach from the floor: the Tekmira uses wired and wireless remotes, and the SpaceLift uses a wall-mounted control station.
- Only the SpaceLift states a warranty term, a 2-year limited warranty, so read the other listings before the first lift.
Check rated capacity, ceiling height and the concrete the manual requires, have the lift installed exactly as specified, and only go under once the mechanical locks are engaged. Never work under a vehicle held by a jack alone. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
FAQ: garage tools
What is an overhead lift?
An overhead lift is a motorized platform or a rack that carries storage bins from the garage floor up to attic or ceiling storage. The Tekmira and SpaceLift lifts are motorized platforms, and the Garvee and FLEXIMOUNTS racks are ceiling racks that lift on a crank or a drill.
How do I lift a storage container into the attic?
Load the container on the platform, stand on the floor, and run the lift with the remote or the wall-mounted control station. The Tekmira stops automatically, and the SpaceLift stops at full height or when it hits an obstruction.
How much weight can a garage storage lift hold?
The RAD hoist holds 100 lb, the SpaceLift holds 200 lb, the Tekmira holds 220 lb, and the Garvee and FLEXIMOUNTS racks hold 350 lb. Match the load to the rating on the listing, and keep the heaviest bin under the rating.
What should I check before installing a storage lift?
Check the ceiling height against the lift range, the joist framing, and the load rating. The SpaceLift will not fit homes with engineered 2 by 4 trusses, and the maker says to consult an installer first.
Related: the best overhead garage storage racks that can be lowered, the best garage storage racks, the best large storage totes and our tool storage hub. Also see our storage tote rack.



