Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Cordless vs Corded Angle Grinder: Which One Should You Buy?

Cordless grinders run on 18V or 20V batteries and go anywhere; corded grinders need an outlet but never need a battery swap. Four cordless examples ranked.

Cordless vs Corded Angle Grinder: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Cordless Heat Gun Compatible with Dewalt 20v BatteryCordless Heat Gun Compatible with Dewalt 20v Battery9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2GALAX PRO Corded Oscillating Multi Tool Kit 3.5A with 30PcsGALAX PRO Corded Oscillating Multi Tool Kit 3.5A with 30Pcs9.4/10View on Amazon
  3. 3RYOBI ONE+ HP 18V Brushless Cordless Compact 1/4 in. RightRYOBI ONE+ HP 18V Brushless Cordless Compact 1/4 in. Right9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Ryobi 5133001903 R18AG-0 One+ Cordless Angle Grinder AngledRyobi 5133001903 R18AG-0 One+ Cordless Angle Grinder AngledView on Amazon
  5. 5SKIL 6 Amp 4-1/2-Inch Corded Angle GrinderSKIL 6 Amp 4-1/2-Inch Corded Angle GrinderView on Amazon
  6. 6Bosch GWS8-45 4-1/2 In. Angle GrinderBosch GWS8-45 4-1/2 In. Angle GrinderView on Amazon
  7. 7DEWALT Die GrinderDEWALT Die GrinderView on Amazon
  8. 8WORKPRO Air Angle Die GrinderWORKPRO Air Angle Die GrinderView on Amazon
  9. 9PROSHI 1/4-Inch Mini Angle GrinderPROSHI 1/4-Inch Mini Angle GrinderView on Amazon

Cord or no cord? The cordless vs corded angle grinder question is really a power-source question: a corded grinder plugs into an outlet and runs as long as the power holds, while a cordless grinder runs on a battery pack and goes wherever the outlet does not reach. The short answer: buy cordless if you work away from outlets or move around the car and the yard; buy corded if you grind at the bench for long stretches and never want to think about a battery. All four examples in this guide are cordless, so the gear section covers that side in detail.

More options to compare

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Cordless vs corded angle grinder: the short answer

The listings make the cordless case on freedom and the corded case on continuity. A cordless grinder, like the four here, runs on an 18V or 20V battery platform, spins 8,500 to 9,000 rpm and works away from outlets: under the car, at the fence line, on the roof. A corded grinder trades that freedom for a cord: it needs an outlet within reach, but it never needs a battery swap. Neither side wins on paper alone; the listings state the cordless specs, and your work decides.

What the cordless listings state

The four listings agree on the shape of a modern cordless grinder. Voltages are 18V on the Ryobi and Makita and 20V on the DEWALT and CRAFTSMAN. No-load speeds are 9,000 rpm on the Ryobi and DEWALT and 8,500 rpm on the Makita and CRAFTSMAN, though the CRAFTSMAN spec table also says 9,000 rpm against its own bullets, which win. Wheel sizes are 4-1/2 inch to 5 inch on the Makita and DEWALT and 4-1/2 inch on the CRAFTSMAN; the Ryobi listing states no wheel size. Brushless motors appear on the Makita, with automatic speed change and a claim of up to 50% longer runtime per charge, and the DEWALT is brushless with FLEXVOLT Advantage, claiming up to 54% more power when paired with FLEXVOLT batteries. Safety tech is stated too: the Makita has Active Feedback-sensing Technology that turns the motor off if the wheel stops suddenly, and the DEWALT has a kickback brake plus E-CLUTCH that shuts the motor down in under a tenth of a second on a pinch or stall.

What corded gives you

No corded examples are in this guide’s data, so this section stays qualitative. A corded grinder draws mains power: no battery to charge, no runtime limit, no platform to buy into. The tradeoff is the cord itself: you need an outlet within reach, and you manage the cord around the work. If your grinding happens at one bench for long stretches, that tradeoff favors corded. If it happens around the car, the yard or the job site, it favors cordless. Nothing in the listings contradicts that split.

Battery platforms and what tool-only means

Three of the four listings state the battery situation plainly. The Makita and DEWALT titles say Tool Only, and the CRAFTSMAN bullets say battery and charger sold separately. The Ryobi listing does not state battery inclusion either way. Tool-only means what it says: the grinder, a guard and usually a wheel, but no battery and no charger. If you already own the platform’s batteries, tool-only is the cheaper route in; if you do not, budget for the battery and charger the listing does not include. The platforms are Ryobi ONE+ 18V, Makita 18V LXT, DEWALT 20V MAX and FLEXVOLT, and CRAFTSMAN V20.

The four cordless examples, ranked

All four products here are cordless, ranked on stated specs, safety tech and warranty. The CRAFTSMAN leads on a stated limited lifetime warranty; the DEWALT leads on stated safety tech and power.

1. CRAFTSMAN V20 4-1/2 in: the warranty pick

The CRAFTSMAN is the only listing here with a stated limited lifetime warranty, and it backs that with a cast metal gear housing the listing says dissipates heat during extended use. It runs 8,500 rpm per its bullets, with a tool-free guard, a 3-position handle and a contoured over-molded handle. Note the contradiction: its spec table says 9,000 rpm against the bullets’ 8,500; the bullets win. Battery and charger are sold separately.

2. DEWALT 20V MAX FLEXVOLT Advantage: the tech pick

The DEWALT brings the most stated safety tech: a kickback brake that stops the wheel on bind-up and E-CLUTCH that shuts the motor down in under a tenth of a second on a pinch or stall. It is a 20V MAX paddle-switch grinder, 4-1/2 to 5 inch, 9,000 rpm, 1,550 watts, with a stated 3 year warranty on material and workmanship. The listing claims up to 54% more power with FLEXVOLT batteries. Tool only.

3. Makita 18V LXT brushless: the efficiency pick

The Makita is an 18V LXT brushless 4-1/2 to 5 inch grinder at 8,500 rpm with Active Feedback-sensing Technology and automatic speed change that adjusts speed and torque during operation. The listing claims up to 50% longer runtime per charge from the brushless motor. Its warranty field reads only “Warranty” with no term, which counts as no stated warranty. Tool only.

4. Ryobi ONE+ 18V: the simple pick

The Ryobi is an 18V ONE+ cordless grinder at 9,000 rpm, the simplest listing here: one line of bullets and no stated wheel size, warranty or battery inclusion. It is the lightest data of the four, which is a reason to check the listing yourself, not a verdict on the tool.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a cordless angle grinder as powerful as a corded one?

The listings make the cordless case: the DEWALT states 1,550 watts and claims up to 54% more power with FLEXVOLT batteries, and the Makita claims up to 50% longer runtime per charge. A corded grinder has no battery to drain, which is its own advantage for long bench sessions.

What does tool only mean?

It means no battery and no charger in the box. The Makita and DEWALT titles say Tool Only and the CRAFTSMAN bullets say battery and charger sold separately. The Ryobi listing does not state battery inclusion.

Is 20V better than 18V?

The listings state both: 18V on the Ryobi and Makita, 20V on the DEWALT and CRAFTSMAN, with no-load speeds of 8,500 to 9,000 rpm across all four. Neither voltage is stated to outperform the other; compare the rpm, features and warranty instead.

Which listing has the longest stated warranty?

The CRAFTSMAN states a limited lifetime warranty. The DEWALT states 3 years on material and workmanship. The Makita warranty field reads only “Warranty” with no term, and the Ryobi listing states none.

Do any of these include a battery?

The Makita and DEWALT are tool only and the CRAFTSMAN states battery and charger sold separately. The Ryobi listing does not state battery inclusion either way, so check it before assuming. You need the matching platform battery to run any of them.

Related: oscillating multi-tool vs angle grinder, cut-off tool vs die grinder, die grinder vs rotary tool and plasma cutter vs angle grinder.

More buying guides

Cordless Tools ·

Best Impact Driver Under $100 (2026)

Five cordless impact drivers under $100 compared on torque, speed, kit contents and the warranty each listing states.