Oemtools 22233 Review: Pros, Cons & Who It’s For
A listing-based look at the OEMTOOLS 22233 6-piece socket tray set: SAE and metric ranges for 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in drives, ABS build, drawer fit and lifetime warranty.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
OEMTOOLS 22233 6-Piece SAE and Metric Socket Tray Set9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
OEMTOOLS 22227 11/32 Inch SAE SocketView on Amazon - 3
OEMTOOLS 22313 1 Inch SAE SocketView on Amazon - 4
OEMTOOLS 22418 6-Pc SAE & Metric Socket Tray Set for SizesView on Amazon - 5
OEMTOOLS Coil Spring CompressorView on Amazon - 6
OEMTOOLS 37200 Coil Spring Compressor to Remove/Install CoilView on Amazon
Loose sockets in a drawer slow every job: you dig, you guess, you grab the wrong size twice. A socket tray set puts every socket on a marked peg so the right size is the first one you touch. This OEMTOOLS 22233 review comes down to one point: the 22233 is a 6-piece tray set for 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in drives that organizes SAE and metric sockets, deep and shallow, with a limited lifetime warranty. We have not used the trays ourselves; this review is based on OEMTOOLS’ Amazon listing and the specs published there.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

OEMTOOLS 22233 6-Piece SAE and Metric Socket Tray
A 6-piece ABS socket tray set for 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in drives, holding up to 40 deep well and 40 shallow SAE sockets, plus 45 deep well and 45 shallow metric sockets with clear size markings and a limited lifetime warranty.
Pros
- 6 trays cover 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in drives in SAE and metric
- Clear size marking on top of each peg
- Wide bases prevent tipping; ABS plastic
- OEMTOOLS Limited Lifetime warranty
Cons
- Trays only; no sockets included
- ABS plastic, not metal rails
- Mounting hardware not stated
- 3.9 in peg height may be tall for shallow drawers
More options to compare
OEMTOOLS 22227 11/32 Inch SAE SocketCheck price on Amazon
OEMTOOLS 22313 1 Inch SAE SocketCheck price on Amazon
OEMTOOLS 22418 6-Pc SAE & Metric Socket Tray Set for SizesCheck price on Amazon
OEMTOOLS Coil Spring CompressorCheck price on Amazon
OEMTOOLS 37200 Coil Spring Compressor to Remove/Install CoilCheck price on Amazon
OEMTOOLS 22233 review: the short verdict
The 22233 is a 6-piece socket tray set for 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in drives, covering SAE and metric sockets in deep well and shallow. The listing says the 6 trays store up to 40 deep well and 40 shallow SAE sockets, plus 45 deep well and 45 shallow metric sockets. Each peg carries a clear size marking at the top so you find the right size quickly, the trays are strong ABS plastic with wide bases that prevent tipping, and the spec table states an OEMTOOLS Limited Lifetime warranty.
The listing has gaps. No socket count per individual tray is stated beyond the totals, the wall-mount hole is mentioned with no hardware stated, and the 3.9-inch maximum peg height means shallow drawers need measuring first. Read on for what the stated specs mean in practice.
Key specs
| Feature | OEMTOOLS 22233 |
|---|---|
| Trays | 6 |
| Drives | 1/4, 3/8, 1/2 in |
| SAE range | 1/8-5/8, 1/4-1, 3/8-1-1/4 in |
| Metric range | 4-15, 6-20, 10-27 mm |
| Capacity | 40 deep + 40 shallow SAE; 45 deep + 45 shallow metric |
| Peg height | 3.9 in max |
| Length | 15.6 in |
| Material | ABS plastic |
| Warranty | OEMTOOLS Limited Lifetime |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on the Amazon listing and collected 19 October 2026. Where the listing is thin, the review says so.
The tray set
What the 22233 does well
SAE and metric in one set
Six trays cover both systems across three drives: metric 4 to 15 mm on 1/4 in drive, 6 to 20 on 3/8 in drive and 10 to 27 on 1/2 in drive, plus SAE 1/8 to 5/8 in on 1/4 in drive, 1/4 to 1 on 3/8 in drive and 3/8 to 1-1/4 on 1/2 in drive. Deep well and shallow sockets each get their stated capacity, so one set can hold the common range of a home mechanic’s collection.
Clear size marking on every peg
The listing puts the size marking at the top of each socket peg, which is where your eyes land when you reach into the drawer. That is the whole point of a tray over a loose drawer: no more digging through sockets rolling around, in the listing’s words.
Wide bases and ABS build
The trays are made from strong ABS plastic to withstand workshop environments, per the listing, and the wide bases prevent tipping over. A tray that tips when you pull one socket defeats its own purpose, so the base width matters as much as the peg layout.
Deep well and shallow, side by side
The trays are designed for shallow and deep sockets alike, with the 3.9-inch maximum peg height fitting deep wells. The listing’s stated capacities split evenly: 40 deep and 40 shallow SAE sockets, plus 45 deep and 45 shallow metric sockets. That even split means one set can swallow a full combination set without leaving the deep wells homeless.
Mounting hole and drawer fit
Each tray has a hole for mounting on a workstation or wall, and the 3.9-inch maximum peg height means the trays fit many tool drawer organizer designs, per the listing. The set is 15.6 inches long in black and green, rectangular, so it sits square in a drawer.
Limitations
- Trays only; no sockets included. This is an organizer set, so budget for the sockets separately if you are starting from zero.
- ABS plastic, not metal. The listing states strong ABS plastic. It will not match the rigidity of metal socket rails, though the wide bases compensate against tipping.
- Mounting hardware not stated. The trays have a mounting hole for a workstation or wall, but no screws or anchors are listed as included.
- Check shallow drawers. The maximum peg height is 3.9 inches, so measure a shallow drawer before assuming the trays fit.
How we scored it
Shop Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Full method on the site’s how we pick page. The 22233 earns points for its stated SAE and metric coverage across three drives, the size-marked pegs, the wide anti-tip bases and the limited lifetime warranty. It loses points for plastic rather than metal construction and the unstated mounting hardware.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OEMTOOLS 22233 | 9.6 | 27 | 20 | 20 | n/a | 4 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
Who should buy the OEMTOOLS 22233, and who should skip it
Buy it if
- You own SAE and metric sockets in 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in drives and want them all on marked pegs.
- You want deep well and shallow sockets organized together, up to the listing’s stated capacities.
- A limited lifetime warranty matters to you; it is stated in the spec table.
- You want the option of wall or workstation mounting; the hole is in every tray, and the hardware is on you.
Skip it if
- You want metal socket rails rather than ABS plastic trays.
- Your drawers are shallow; the 3.9-inch peg height needs checking first.
- You only own one drive size. A single-drive rail would take less drawer space.
Alternatives
- Other tray and rail styles: the best socket organizers compares five socket trays and rails.
- Drawer-specific picks: the socket organizers for tool box drawers covers five picks sized for drawers.
- Building the set: if you need the sockets too, see socket set types for how sets are organized.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Whatever organizer you use: keep heavy tools low in the box, do not overload a wall-mounted tray beyond its fasteners, and keep small sockets away from children. This listing states wide anti-tip bases and strong ABS plastic.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will the 22233 fit my tool drawer?
It fits many drawer designs, per the listing, with a maximum peg height of 3.9 inches and a 15.6-inch length. Measure your drawer’s depth and length first, especially shallow top drawers.
What socket ranges do the trays cover?
Metric 4 to 15 mm on 1/4 in drive, 6 to 20 on 3/8 in drive and 10 to 27 on 1/2 in drive; SAE 1/8 to 5/8 in on 1/4 in drive, 1/4 to 1 on 3/8 in drive and 3/8 to 1-1/4 on 1/2 in drive. Deep well and shallow sockets are both covered.
Can I mount the trays on a wall?
The trays have a hole for mounting on a workstation or wall, per the listing. Mounting hardware is not stated as included, so plan on supplying your own.
How many sockets does it hold?
Up to 40 deep well and 40 shallow SAE sockets, plus 45 deep well and 45 shallow metric sockets, per the listing. That is the total across all 6 trays, so a large collection may still need a second organizer.
Is there a warranty?
The spec table states an OEMTOOLS Limited Lifetime warranty. That is the term as published on the listing.
Related: the best socket organizers, the socket organizers for tool box drawers, socket set types and the tool storage hub.
Back to all tool storage reviews.



