Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Polyaspartic vs Polyurea Garage Floor: Which One Should You Buy?

Four garage floor coating listings compared: two polycuramine kits, one epoxy kit and one flake box, ranked by stated coverage, vehicle-ready times and kit contents.

Polyaspartic vs Polyurea Garage Floor: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Polyaspartic High Solids Topcoat Coating SystemPolyaspartic High Solids Topcoat Coating System9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2VIVOHOME Garage Floor Mat 7'9" x 18' Containment Mat withVIVOHOME Garage Floor Mat 7'9" x 18' Containment Mat with9.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3IRONMAX 9’ x 22’ Garage Containment Mat with 1.4" RaisedIRONMAX 9’ x 22’ Garage Containment Mat with 1.4" Raised9.7/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Magic ResinMagic ResinView on Amazon
  5. 5Hurricane Classic Floor Box Fan with 3 Speed SettingsHurricane Classic Floor Box Fan with 3 Speed SettingsView on Amazon
  6. 6B-Air Firtana 20" High Velocity Electric Garage Floor Fan forB-Air Firtana 20" High Velocity Electric Garage Floor Fan forView on Amazon
  7. 7Armor All Premium Original Small Vehicle Garage Floor MatArmor All Premium Original Small Vehicle Garage Floor MatView on Amazon
  8. 8COMFORT ZONE 20-Inch High-Velocity Industrial Floor FanCOMFORT ZONE 20-Inch High-Velocity Industrial Floor FanView on Amazon

Choosing between polyaspartic vs polyurea garage floor coatings starts with a surprise in these listings: none of the four products is labeled polyaspartic or polyurea. What the listings actually offer is two Rust-Oleum RockSolid polycuramine kits, one ArmorPoxy 100% solids epoxy kit, and one box of SIMIRON decorative flakes. This guide compares those four on what each listing states, drive-on times, coverage, application temperature and kit contents, so you can see how the listed coatings differ and what to ask about the two missing types before you buy.

More options to compare

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Below: what the four listings actually are, how their stated specs compare side by side, and what to ask a supplier about polyaspartic and polyurea before you commit.

Polyaspartic vs polyurea garage floor: what these listings actually cover

Rust-Oleum labels its RockSolid product base polycuramine, a distinct name from polyurea, and neither RockSolid listing claims to be polyaspartic or polyurea. The ArmorPoxy listing is explicit too: 100% solids epoxy, a different chemistry again. The SIMIRON listing is not a coating at all, but decorative flakes made to broadcast onto epoxy or other resinous coatings. So this guide cannot rank polyaspartic against polyurea from these files; it can rank the four listed products for a garage floor job and show exactly what each one states.

That honesty matters because coating choice is mostly about the job conditions: how soon you need to drive on it, how much floor you have, and what temperature the garage will be during application. The RockSolid listings state all three; the ArmorPoxy states drive-on time and coverage but no application temperature, and the SIMIRON flakes state none of the three.

The gear, ranked for a garage floor job

1. Rust-Oleum RockSolid black 2.5-car kit. The most complete listing here: burst pouch coating, foam roller, decorative chips and concrete etch in the box, up to 250 sq ft of coverage, foot traffic in 8 to 10 hours and vehicles in 24 to 36 hours. One coat, 45 minute pot life, 40 to 90°F application range.

2. Rust-Oleum RockSolid metallic blue kit. The same polycuramine system with a metallic finish: burst pouch, concrete etch and microfiber roller cover included, up to 250 sq ft, the same 8 to 10 hour foot traffic and 24 to 36 hour vehicle times, and the same 40 to 90°F range. Pick it for the look; the stated specs match the black kit.

3. ArmorPoxy 100% solids epoxy kit. The largest coverage here at 300 sq ft in a 17-piece kit with etching solution, flake mix, non-slip additive, roller and squeegee, applied in 3 steps. The trade is time: 24 hours before the 72-hour vehicle-ready mark, the longest wait of the four. It is also the only epoxy among polycuramine listings.

4. SIMIRON decorative flakes, 40 lb box. Not a coating: 1/4 inch resin and vinyl flakes in the Domino blend, made to broadcast over epoxy or resinous coatings and seal. Buy it to dress up one of the kits above, not as a floor finish by itself.

Kit Base Coverage Coats Foot traffic Vehicles Apply at
RockSolid black 2.5-car Polycuramine Up to 250 sq ft 1 8-10 hours 24-36 hours 40-90°F
RockSolid metallic blue Polycuramine Up to 250 sq ft 1 8-10 hours 24-36 hours 40-90°F
ArmorPoxy epoxy 17-pc 100% solids epoxy 300 sq ft 3 steps 24 hours 72 hours Not stated
SIMIRON flakes 40 lb Resin/vinyl flakes 40 lb box Add-on only Not stated Not stated Not stated

Drive-on times and application

Time is the sharpest difference. Both RockSolid kits state foot traffic in 8 to 10 hours and full vehicle traffic in 24 to 36 hours, with a 7-day recoat window without sanding and low odor for indoor application. The ArmorPoxy listing states a 24-hour mark before vehicles at 72 hours, the longest wait of the four. If the garage must hold cars by the weekend, the stated times point to the RockSolid kits; if the schedule allows, the ArmorPoxy kit trades time for its 300 sq ft coverage.

Temperature narrows it further. The RockSolid listings state a 40 to 90°F application range. The ArmorPoxy listing states no application temperature, so check with the maker before planning a cold-weather job. The SIMIRON flakes state no application figures at all, since they follow whatever coating goes under them.

Coverage and kit contents

Coverage runs from up to 250 sq ft on both RockSolid kits to 300 sq ft on the ArmorPoxy. Kit contents differ in useful ways: the black RockSolid kit includes decorative chips and concrete etch, the metallic blue kit includes etch and a microfiber roller cover, and the ArmorPoxy 17-piece kit includes etching solution, flake mix, non-slip additive, roller and squeegee. The SIMIRON 40 lb box of 1/4 inch flakes is the add-on that dresses up any of them. For related reading see epoxy vs polyaspartic garage floor and best garage floor coating kit.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is polycuramine the same as polyurea?

The listings do not say. Rust-Oleum labels its product base polycuramine, a distinct name, and neither RockSolid listing claims to be polyaspartic or polyurea.

How long until I can drive on the coated floor?

The RockSolid listings state 24 to 36 hours for full vehicle traffic. The ArmorPoxy listing states 72 hours vehicle-ready.

What temperature do these coatings need for application?

The RockSolid listings state 40 to 90°F. The ArmorPoxy and SIMIRON listings state no application temperature.

Do the kits include everything needed?

The black RockSolid kit includes the burst pouch coating, foam roller, decorative chips and concrete etch. The metallic blue kit includes the pouch, etch and a microfiber roller cover. The ArmorPoxy 17-piece kit includes etching solution, flake mix, non-slip additive, roller and squeegee.

Can decorative flakes be used alone as a floor coating?

No. The SIMIRON flakes are made to broadcast onto epoxy or other resinous coatings and then sealed; the listing describes them as protection and enhancement for surfaces, not a standalone finish.

Related: vinyl vs epoxy garage floor, garage floor paint vs epoxy and best concrete floor sealer.

More buying guides