Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Power Station vs Jump Starter (2026): Which One Fits Your Garage?

Power station vs jump starter: two Jackery power stations and two DEWALT jump starters compared by capacity, output, starting power and extras.

Power Station vs Jump Starter (2026): Which One Fits Your Garage?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Schumacher Electric Car Battery Jump Starter & Power StationSchumacher Electric Car Battery Jump Starter & Power Station9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2AstroAI S8 Ultra 12V 4000A Lithium Jump Starter Up to AllAstroAI S8 Ultra 12V 4000A Lithium Jump Starter Up to All9.8/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Car Battery Jump Starter-1000Amp 12V Lead-Acid Battery JumpCar Battery Jump Starter-1000Amp 12V Lead-Acid Battery Jump9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4BLUETTI Elite 10 Mini Portable Power StationBLUETTI Elite 10 Mini Portable Power StationView on Amazon
  5. 5BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 Portable Power Station 288Wh 600W LFPBLUETTI Elite 30 V2 Portable Power Station 288Wh 600W LFPView on Amazon

Verdict: In the power station vs jump starter question, pick a jump starter if you need to start vehicles and fill tires; pick a power station if you need hours of backup power. The DEWALT units start engines with 1600 to 2000 peak amps; the Jackery units run devices for hours with 292 to 1070Wh. We compared all four by capacity, output, starting power and extras, using only what each listing publishes.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Pick Garage Score Side Capacity Output Starting Power Warranty
Jackery Explorer 300 9.5/10 Power station 292 Wh 300 W 600 W surge 3+2
DEWALT DXAEPS14 9.6/10 Jump starter Not stated 500 W AC inverter 2000 peak amps Not stated
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 9.6/10 Power station 1070 Wh 1500 W 3000 W surge Not stated
DEWALT DXAEJ14 9.5/10 Jump starter Not stated No AC inverter stated 1600 peak amps Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

The picks

DEWALT DXAEPS14 2000 Peak Amp Jump Starter

DEWALT DXAEPS14 2000 Peak Amp Jump Starter

DEWALT9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2000 peak amp jump starter with 120 PSI air inflator, 500W AC inverter and reverse-polarity protection.

Pros

  • 2000 peak amps for 4, 6 and 8-cylinder
  • 120 PSI digital air inflator
  • 500W AC power inverter
  • Reverse-polarity protection

Cons

  • 1-year warranty is shorter than the Jackery 3+2
  • Battery capacity is not stated
  • Heavier duty, bulkier than a bare starter
  • Inflator auto shuts off at 10 minutes
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Portable Power

Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Portable Power

Jackery9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1070Wh portable power station with 1500W output, 1-hour fast charge and LFP battery.

Pros

  • 1070Wh capacity, 1500W output
  • 1-hour emergency charge via app
  • 4,000 cycles for over 10 years, per the listing
  • 7 total outlets including 3 AC

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 23.8 pounds, the heaviest pick
  • Solar panel not included
  • No jump-start function
DEWALT DXAEJ14 1600 Peak Amp Jump Starter with 120

DEWALT DXAEJ14 1600 Peak Amp Jump Starter with 120

DEWALT9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1600 peak amp jump starter with 120 PSI air inflator, USB charging and LED light.

Pros

  • 1600 peak amps for cars, trucks, boats, RVs
  • 120 PSI digital air inflator
  • Recharges with a standard extension cord
  • Reverse-polarity protection

Cons

  • 1-year warranty is shorter than the Jackery 3+2
  • No AC inverter, unlike the DXAEPS14
  • Battery capacity is not stated
  • 1600 peak amps is less than the DXAEPS14
Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station,292Wh

Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station,292Wh

Jackery9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 292Wh portable power station with 300W output, LiFePO4 battery and a 3+2 warranty.

Pros

  • 292Wh capacity at 7.5 pounds
  • 4,000 charge cycles, per the listing
  • 3+2 warranty, per the listing
  • 2 AC outlets, 100W USB-C, car port

Cons

  • 300W output won't run heavy tools
  • Solar panel not included
  • 4-hour AC charge time
  • No jump-start function

More options to compare

How we scored them

The Garage Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. The power stations score on capacity and outlets; the jump starters on peak amps and extras. Only the Jackery Explorer 300 states a warranty. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
DEWALT DXAEPS14 9.6 32 22 21 2 0
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 9.6 34 22 21 0 0
DEWALT DXAEJ14 9.5 30 22 20 2 0
Jackery Explorer 300 9.5 30 21 21 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Power station vs jump starter: what separates the two sides

Capacity vs starting power

The two Jackery examples state capacity in watt-hours: 292Wh on the Explorer 300 and 1070Wh on the Explorer 1000 v2. The two DEWALT examples state starting power in peak amps: 2000 on the DXAEPS14 and 1600 on the DXAEJ14. Capacity runs devices for hours; peak amps crank an engine. A power station is built for hours of device power; a jump starter is built for the seconds of cranking an engine.

Look closer at what each side actually runs. The Explorer 300 states 292Wh with a 300W rated output and 600W peak surge, feeding 2 AC outlets, a 100W USB-C PD port, 2 USB-A ports and a 120W car port for up to 6 devices. The Explorer 1000 v2 states 1070Wh with a 1500W AC output and 3000W surge peak, feeding 3 pure sine wave AC ports, 2 USB-C ports, 1 USB-A port and a DC car port, plus LED lights. Both use LiFePO4 batteries stated to hold over 70% capacity after 4,000 charge cycles. The DEWALT side states no watt-hours at all: the DXAEPS14 gives 2000 peak amps and the DXAEJ14 1600 peak amps, both for 12V lead-acid batteries in 4, 6 and 8-cylinder gas or diesel vehicles.

Outputs and extras

The Jackery examples offer AC outlets, USB-C and car ports for devices; the Explorer 1000 v2 adds app control and 1-hour emergency charging. The DEWALT examples offer 120 PSI air inflators, USB charging and LED lights; the DXAEPS14 adds a 500W AC inverter. Both sides carry safety features: reverse-polarity protection on the DEWALT units, app-managed charging on the Jackery 1000 v2.

The extras decide daily usefulness. Both DEWALT units state a 120 PSI digital air inflator that shuts off automatically at the set pressure, with a 10-minute auto shut-off to avoid overheating, plus a 25W USB-C port, a 15W USB-A port and an integrated LED flashlight. The DXAEPS14 adds a 500W AC power inverter and an LCD display showing battery status, voltage, air pressure and USB status. Both are sealed lead-acid units at 17.3 pounds with a stated 1 year manufacturer warranty, and recharge with a standard extension cord. Neither Jackery lists an inflator; their extras are ports, app control and solar input.

Side Capacity Output Starts vehicles
Power station 292-1070 Wh 300-1500 W No
Jump starter Not stated 500 W AC (DXAEPS14) 1600-2000 peak amps

Charging and battery life

How you refill each side differs completely. The Explorer 300 charges from solar: 80% in about 2.8 hours with a 100W Jackery panel, or 80% in 7.5 hours with a 40W panel. The Explorer 1000 v2 charges 0 to 100% in 1 hour with emergency charging enabled in the Jackery app, defaulting to 1.7 hours to protect battery health, and offers a 30 dB quiet overnight charging mode. The DEWALT units recharge from a wall outlet with a standard extension cord and simply need to be stored charged. LiFePO4 on the Jackery side is stated for 4,000 cycles; the DEWALT side is sealed lead acid with no cycle figure stated.

Which side for your garage

Choose the jump starter side if your pain is dead batteries and low tires: the DXAEPS14 or DXAEJ14 live in the trunk. Choose the power station side if your pain is outages and mobile power: the Explorer 300 or 1000 v2 run tools and devices. Some garages own both. See our jump starter picks for starter picks. See our best car battery charger for winter for chargers.

Weight tells you where each lives. The Explorer 300 is 7.5 lb, light enough to carry on a hike. The Explorer 1000 v2 is 23.8 lb with a foldable handle, a garage or campsite unit. Each DEWALT is 17.3 lb, trunk weight you rarely carry far. If the job is starting a dead truck in winter, peak amps win and the power station cannot help: the Jackery examples state no jump-start function at all.

Battery charging safety

Lead-acid batteries can release hydrogen while charging, so charge in a ventilated space away from sparks and flames, connect positive first and negative last, set the charger to the battery type (flooded, AGM, gel, lithium), and wear eye protection. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Setup Notes

  • Connect red to positive and black to negative before starting.
  • Charge the Jackery 1000 v2 via the app for 1-hour emergency charging.
  • Let the inflator cool; the DXAE units auto shut off at 10 minutes.
  • Store jump starters charged so they are ready.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a power station jump-start a car?

No. The Jackery examples have no jump-start function; only the DEWALT units start engines.

Which has the most capacity?

The Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 at 1070Wh.

Which jump starter has AC power?

The DEWALT DXAEPS14 with a 500W AC inverter.

Which states a warranty?

The Jackery Explorer 300 with a 3+2 warranty, per the listing.

Which is lightest to carry?

The Jackery Explorer 300 at 7.5 lb. The DEWALT units are 17.3 lb each, and the Explorer 1000 v2 is 23.8 lb.

See every diagnostics and electrical guide and all blog guides. Also see our jump starter picks. Also see our best car battery charger for winter.

More picks: browse diagnostics and electrical, engine and shop equipment and tool storage.

More buying guides