Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

2Ah vs 5Ah 20V Battery: Which One Should You Buy?

A 2ah and a 5ah 20v battery compared for cordless garage jobs: capacity, weight, charging and warranty, with examples from each side.

2Ah vs 5Ah 20V Battery: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 12Ah Replacement Compatible for Dewalt 20V MAX Battery with2Ah Replacement Compatible for Dewalt 20V MAX Battery with9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 22 Pack 5Ah Replacement Battery Compatible with DeWalt 20V MAX2 Pack 5Ah Replacement Battery Compatible with DeWalt 20V MAX9.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3CRAFTSMAN 20V Battery and Charger SetCRAFTSMAN 20V Battery and Charger Set9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4DEWALT 20V MAX Lithium-Ion Battery 2-PackDEWALT 20V MAX Lithium-Ion Battery 2-PackView on Amazon
  5. 5DEWALT 20V MAX BatteryDEWALT 20V MAX BatteryView on Amazon
  6. 6DEWALT 20V MAX 5 Ah Lithium Ion Battery 2-PackDEWALT 20V MAX 5 Ah Lithium Ion Battery 2-PackView on Amazon
  7. 7DCB205 5.0Ah 20V MAX Lithium-Ion Battery Compatible withDCB205 5.0Ah 20V MAX Lithium-Ion Battery Compatible withView on Amazon
  8. 8DEWALT 20V MAX Compact Lithium-Ion 2.0Ah Battery Pack DCB203DEWALT 20V MAX Compact Lithium-Ion 2.0Ah Battery Pack DCB203View on Amazon

Verdict: Choose a 2ah battery if the job is short and a spare pack can sit on the charger. Choose a 5ah 20v battery if the job runs long between charges.

A cordless drill quits halfway through a deck board run, and the garage goes quiet while the pack sits on the charger. That pause is the whole argument in 2ah vs 5ah 20v battery: a smaller pack suits short jobs with a spare on the charger, while a larger pack, on its stated capacity, runs longer between charges.

This comparison looks at capacity, weight, charging, protection and warranty, using listings from each side as examples. A figure from a listing describes that listing only, and where listings disagree, the review says so.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

2 Pack 5Ah Replacement Battery Compatible

2 Pack 5Ah Replacement Battery Compatible

FUDUOO9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of 5Ah replacement batteries for DeWalt 20V MAX tools, with a 3-LED fuel gauge, 9-layer protection and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 5Ah capacity in each pack, with a 2-pack total of 10Ah stated
  • 3-LED fuel gauge shows remaining charge at a press
  • 9-layer protection system guards against overcharge, over-discharge and short circuit
  • AAA-grade lithium-ion cells with a 6th-generation smart chip

Cons

  • Charger not included
  • Weighs 2.8 lb per battery
  • Dimensions of 7.2 Inches x 5.0 Inches x 3.6 Inches need room in a tool bag
  • Fit is stated for DCB200-series tools
2Ah Replacement Compatible for Dewalt 20V MAX

2Ah Replacement Compatible for Dewalt 20V MAX

VelgoNyx9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2Ah replacement for DeWalt 20V MAX tools with Grade A lithium cells, a 4th-gen smart chip, 9 safeguards and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 2Ah (2,000mAh) capacity stated
  • Grade A lithium cells with a 4th-gen smart chip
  • 9 safeguards including over-charge and short circuit protection
  • FCC, RoHS and CE certification stated

Cons

  • No charge indicator is stated
  • No weight is stated
  • No dimensions are stated
  • Batteries ship partially charged, so a full charge is needed before use
CRAFTSMAN 20V Battery and Charger Set

CRAFTSMAN 20V Battery and Charger Set

CRAFTSMAN9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A Craftsman V20 set with a 4.0Ah pack, a 2.0Ah pack and a charger, with a 3-LED indicator and a 3 Year Limited Warranty.

Pros

  • Two capacities in one set: a 4.0Ah pack and a 2.0Ah pack
  • Charger included in the set
  • 3-LED indicator shows state of charge
  • 3 Year Limited Warranty stated

Cons

  • No protection system is detailed in the listing
  • No cell grade is stated
  • No charge time is stated
  • Fit is stated for Craftsman V20 tools
DEWALT 20V MAX Battery, Compact 1.5Ah (DCB201)

DEWALT 20V MAX Battery, Compact 1.5Ah (DCB201)

DEWALT9.2/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A DeWalt 20V MAX compact battery titled 1.5Ah, listed with package dimensions and a package weight of 0.88 Pounds.

Pros

  • Compact 1.5Ah capacity in the title
  • 20V MAX platform fit stated
  • Package weight of 0.88 Pounds stated
  • Package dimensions stated in the listing

Cons

  • Title capacity of 1.5Ah differs from the 5Ah example on the same side
  • Spec table weight conflicts with the package weight in the bullets
  • No maker warranty term is stated
  • No protection, indicator or charge time is stated

Other tools worth a look

2ah vs 5ah 20v battery side by side

2Ah side 5Ah 20V side Notes
Capacity stated 2Ah in the VelgoNyx example; 2.0Ah and 4.0Ah in the Craftsman set 5Ah in the FUDUOO example; 1.5Ah in the DEWALT title Capacity is per listing, not per side
Charge indicator 3-LED indicator on the Craftsman set; none stated for VelgoNyx 3-LED fuel gauge on the FUDUOO pack; none stated for DEWALT Indicator is per listing
Protection stated 9 safeguards on the VelgoNyx example; none detailed for Craftsman 9-layer protection on the FUDUOO example; none stated for DEWALT Protection is per listing
Weight stated 3.1 Pounds for the Craftsman set 2.8 lb per FUDUOO battery; 0.88 Pounds package weight for DEWALT Weights cover different items, so they do not settle a side win
Warranty stated 2-year warranty for VelgoNyx; 3 Year Limited Warranty for Craftsman 2-year warranty for FUDUOO; no maker term stated for DEWALT Warranty is per listing
Charger Charger included in the Craftsman set Charger not included with FUDUOO; none stated for DEWALT Charger is per listing
Charge time Not stated for the 2Ah examples About 2-3 hours stated for FUDUOO; not stated for DEWALT Charge time is per listing

Example figures are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 2 November 2026.

What capacity changes

Capacity is the headline difference, but the listings show it is not a clean side split. The VelgoNyx example states 2Ah (2,000mAh), while the Craftsman set on the same side bundles a 2.0Ah pack with a 4.0Ah pack and a charger. On the other side, the FUDUOO example states 5Ah in each pack, with a 2-pack total of 10Ah stated, while the DEWALT example is titled Compact 1.5Ah. Read the title and bullets of the exact listing before ordering.

Runtime claims stay vague across these listings. VelgoNyx claims extended runtime, and FUDUOO claims extended runtime for home repairs, furniture assembly, woodworking and daily maintenance tasks. Neither listing states a runtime figure, so the capacity figures above are the only stated basis for comparing run length.

Weight and handling in the examples

Weight figures cover different items, so they do not settle a side win. The Craftsman set states 3.1 Pounds for the set, with dimensions of 5.9 inches x 5.25 inches x 5.875 inches. The FUDUOO battery states 2.8 lb per battery, with dimensions of 7.2 Inches x 5.0 Inches x 3.6 Inches. The DEWALT listing states a package weight of 0.88 Pounds, while the VelgoNyx listing states no weight at all.

Charging, indicators and protection

Charging detail is thin except for FUDUOO, which states about 2-3 hours with a compatible DeWalt 20V MAX charger, with the charger not included. The Craftsman set includes its charger, while VelgoNyx and DEWALT state no charge time. For charge level, Craftsman states a 3-LED indicator and FUDUOO states a 3-LED fuel gauge, while VelgoNyx and DEWALT state no indicator.

Protection is where the two strongest listings match: VelgoNyx states 9 safeguards with a 4th-gen smart chip, and FUDUOO states a 9-layer protection system with a 6th-generation smart chip. Craftsman states premium high-performance cells with no protection system detailed, and DEWALT states no protection detail.

Choose a 2ah if

  • Jobs are short and a spare pack can sit on the charger
  • A charger-included set covers the whole kit at once
  • Stated safeguards and certifications matter more than capacity

Choose a 5ah if

  • Jobs run long between charges
  • A spare pack in the 2-pack format suits the workshop
  • A stated fuel gauge helps plan pack swaps

Example batteries

For a closer capacity step, see the 2ah vs 4ah 20v battery comparison, and for charging gear, see the best smart battery charger guide.

Battery charging safety

Lead-acid batteries can release hydrogen while charging, so charge in a ventilated space away from sparks and flames, connect positive first and negative last, set the charger to the battery type (flooded, AGM, gel, lithium), and wear eye protection. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Check the DCB200-series fit list before ordering a DeWalt-style pack
  • Keep a charger that matches the pack on the bench, since some listings exclude the charger
  • Match the pack voltage to the tool manual before the job starts
  • Plan a swap routine so a pack sits on the charger while the other works
  • Store packs where the housing stays clear of sharp edges and damp floors

FAQ: garage tools

Which side fits a drill better: 2ah or 5ah 20v battery?

Pick the 2ah side for short jobs where a spare can charge nearby. Pick the 5ah 20v battery side for long jobs where fewer swaps matter.

Does a 5ah battery fit every 20v tool?

No. Fit is per listing: FUDUOO states DCB200-series fit, and Craftsman states Craftsman V20 fit. Check the tool manual and the listing fit list before ordering.

Why does the DEWALT example say 1.5Ah?

The DEWALT title says Compact 1.5Ah, which differs from the FUDUOO 5Ah example on the same side. The review trusts the title and bullets over the spec table, and the listing gives package dimensions and a package weight of 0.88 Pounds with no further capacity detail.

How long does the FUDUOO pack take to charge?

About 2-3 hours with a compatible DeWalt 20V MAX charger, which is not included. The 3-LED fuel gauge shows remaining charge at a press, so a swap can be planned before a project stops.

What warranty do these examples carry?

VelgoNyx states a 2-year manufacturer’s warranty, FUDUOO states a 2-year warranty, and Craftsman states a 3 Year Limited Warranty. DEWALT states no maker warranty term, only an Amazon easy 30 days return.

Related: the 2ah vs 4ah 20v battery comparison and the best smart battery charger guide.

More buying guides

Cordless Tools ·

Best Hole Saw Heavy Duty (2026)

4 carbide hole saw kits for heavy duty metal cutting, from 13 and 15 size kits with full listings to 2 title-only kits, compared…