2ah vs 4ah 20v Battery: Which One Should You Buy?
2Ah vs 4Ah 20V batteries compared on capacity, weight, warranty and chargers, with two example batteries per side.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
CRAFTSMAN V20 2Ah Lithium Ion Power Tool Battery 2-Pack and9.5/10View on Amazon - 2
4Ah Replacement Compatible for Dewalt 20V MAX Battery with9.5/10View on Amazon - 3
4Ah Replacement Compatible for Dewalt 20V MAX Battery with9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
DEWALT 20V MAX BatteryView on Amazon - 5
DEWALT 20V MAX Compact Lithium-Ion 2.0Ah Battery Pack DCB203View on Amazon - 6
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4Ah Lithium Ion BatteryView on Amazon - 7
DEWALT FLEXVOLT 20V/60V MAX Lithium Ion BatteryView on Amazon - 8
20V MAX Premium Lithium-Ion 6.0Ah Battery PackView on Amazon
Verdict: Pick a 2Ah 20V battery if you run light-duty tools, want the 350 g or 16-ounce packs the 2Ah listings state, or already own the Craftsman V20 or MZK platform. Pick a 4Ah 20V battery if you want longer runtime between charges for heavy-duty work and your tools take DeWalt 20V Max packs.
The drill dies halfway through the job, and the question is whether the bigger battery is worth it. More amp-hours means more work per charge on paper; the trade is pack size, stated weight and what your tool platform offers. This 2ah vs 4ah 20v battery comparison lays out what the listings state on each side, with two example batteries per side from the listings we reviewed.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.

4Ah Replacement Compatible for Dewalt 20V MAX
A 2-pack of 4Ah replacement batteries for DeWalt 20V Max tools, with Grade A cells, 9 safeguards and FCC, RoHS and CE certification.
Pros
- 4 amp_hours (4,000mAh) for extended runtime
- FCC, RoHS and CE certified with 9 safeguards
- Grade A lithium cells with 4th-gen smart chips
- Fits DCB200 through DCB206 interfaces
Cons
- Title says 3-year warranty while bullets and spec say 2-year
- No charger included
- 45 g stated battery weight is unclear
- Replacement, not DeWalt original

4Ah Replacement Compatible for Dewalt 20V MAX
A 2-pack of 4Ah replacement batteries for DeWalt 20V Max tools, with Grade A cells, 9 safeguards and FCC, RoHS and CE certification.
Pros
- 4 amp_hours (4,000mAh) for extended runtime
- FCC, RoHS and CE certified with 9 safeguards
- Grade A lithium cells with 4th-gen smart chips
- Fits DCB200 through DCB206 interfaces
Cons
- Title says 3-year warranty while bullets and spec say 2-year
- No charger included
- Nearly identical to the DCB203-4-2-Y listing
- Replacement, not DeWalt original

CRAFTSMAN V20 2Ah Lithium Ion Power Tool Battery
A Craftsman V20 2Ah 2-pack plus charger starter kit with a 60 minute charge time, LED indicators and a 3 Year Limited Warranty.
Pros
- Charger included with 60 minute charge time
- 3 Year Limited Warranty, the strongest term here
- LED charging indicators and overload protection
- Premium grade high performance cells stated
Cons
- 2 amp_hours, half the capacity of the 4Ah side
- No certification stated
- Kit weighs 1.22 kg with charger
- V20 platform only

MZK 20V Battery Pack (20V 2ah)
A single MZK 20V 2Ah interchangeable battery at 16 ounces, with a 1 year warranty.
Pros
- 16 ounces (400 g), the lowest clearly-stated weight
- Interchangeable across listed ET models
- Lithium ion, rechargeable
- Compact at 3.15 x 2.17 x 5.2 inches
Cons
- Single battery, no charger
- 1 year warranty, the briefest term here
- Sparsest listing of the four
- No certification stated
More options to compare
DEWALT 20V MAX BatteryCheck price on Amazon
DEWALT 20V MAX Compact Lithium-Ion 2.0Ah Battery Pack DCB203Check price on Amazon
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4Ah Lithium Ion BatteryCheck price on Amazon
DEWALT FLEXVOLT 20V/60V MAX Lithium Ion BatteryCheck price on Amazon
20V MAX Premium Lithium-Ion 6.0Ah Battery PackCheck price on Amazon
Side by side: 2ah vs 4ah 20v battery
| Factor | 2Ah 20V | 4Ah 20V | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capacity (stated) | 2 amp_hours | 4 amp_hours (4,000mAh) | Both sides state it |
| Voltage (stated) | 20 volts | 20 volts | Same |
| Battery weight (stated) | 350 g / 16 oz | 45 g | Listed figures |
| Warranty (stated) | 3-year / 1-year | 2-year (title says 3-year) | Craftsman leads |
| Certifications (stated) | Not stated | FCC, RoHS, CE | 4Ah side only |
| Charger included | Craftsman kit only | Not stated | Craftsman only |
| Charge time (stated) | 60 minutes (Craftsman) | 4A fast charging support | Different metrics |
| Example count | 2 | 2 | Two per side |
Example figures are manufacturer rated, collected 22 October 2026. “Not stated” means the listing does not give the figure.
Runtime and capacity
The capacity figures are the clearest difference and both sides state them: the 2Ah examples state 2 amp_hours at 20 volts, and the 4Ah examples state 4 amp_hours (4,000mAh) at 20 volts. The VelgoNyx 4Ah listings claim extended runtime and consistent high performance from the bigger pack. The Craftsman 2Ah listing claims extended runtime for heavy duty applications and improved power from premium grade cells. Neither side states a runtime in minutes, so the capacity figure is the comparison.
Weight and size
The 2Ah examples state real weights: the Craftsman battery weighs 350 g, and the MZK weighs 16 ounces (400 g) at 3.15 x 2.17 x 5.2 inches. The VelgoNyx 4Ah listings state a battery weight of 45 g, which is the listed figure. The Craftsman kit as a whole weighs 1.22 kg at 11.1 x 3.96 x 8.59 inches, but that is the 2-pack plus charger, not the battery alone.
Warranty and certifications
The Craftsman 2Ah kit states a 3 Year Limited Warranty, the strongest term here. The MZK 2Ah states a 1 Year Warrenty. The VelgoNyx 4Ah listings are contradictory: the title says 3-Year Warranty while the bullets and spec table say a 2-year manufacturer’s warranty, so we used the 2-year figure. On certifications, the VelgoNyx 4Ah listings state FCC, RoHS and CE certification with a flame-retardant, impact-resistant PC+ABS shell; neither 2Ah listing states a certification.
Chargers and extras
Only the Craftsman 2Ah kit includes a charger: a 2-pack of batteries plus charger with a 60 minute charge time, LED charging indicators and overload protection. The MZK 2Ah is a single battery with no charger stated. The VelgoNyx 4Ah listings are 2-packs of batteries with no charger; they state 4A fast charging support and advise a charger with a charging current of 4A or below.
Buying advice: platform first, amp-hours second
Batteries do not cross platforms, so the amp-hour choice comes second to the platform you already own. The VelgoNyx 4Ah listings state compatibility with DeWalt 20V Max tools using DCB200 through DCB206 battery interfaces; the Craftsman 2Ah kit fits the V20 platform; the MZK 2Ah fits its listed ET models. If your tools are DeWalt 20V Max, the 4Ah examples are the only ones here that fit; if they are Craftsman V20, the 2Ah kit is the match.
On stated weight, the 2Ah side looks heavier: the Craftsman battery lists 350 g and the MZK lists 16 ounces (400 g), while the VelgoNyx 4Ah listings state 45 g. On paper the 4Ah pack weighs the least of the four, which runs against the usual rule that bigger packs weigh more, so treat the 45 g figure with care and compare the stated figures rather than assuming. For runtime, the 4Ah examples state 4 amp-hours (4,000mAh) against the 2Ah examples’ 2 amp-hours; the VelgoNyx listings claim extended runtime from the bigger pack, but no listing states minutes, and real runtime depends on the tool and the job.
Charging is where the kits differ most. The Craftsman 2Ah kit is the only one that includes a charger, with a 60 minute charge time, LED charging indicators and overload protection stated. The VelgoNyx 4Ah listings state 4A fast charging support, advise a charger with a charging current of 4A or below, and describe a 4th-gen smart chip with 9-layer protection covering over-charge, over-discharge, short circuit, over-current, over-voltage, power control, performance monitoring, over-temperature and reverse-charge prevention. The VelgoNyx listings also state FCC, RoHS and CE certification and a flame-retardant, impact-resistant PC+ABS shell; the 2Ah listings state no certifications. On warranty, the Craftsman states a 3 Year Limited Warranty, the VelgoNyx states a 2-year manufacturer’s warranty in its bullets and spec table (the title claims 3-year), and the MZK states 1 year.
Choose 2Ah if
- You run light-duty tools and want the lighter pack
- You already own the Craftsman V20 or MZK platform
- You want the included charger and 3-year warranty of the Craftsman kit
- You want the 2Ah packs at their stated 350 g or 16 ounces (the 4Ah listings state 45 g, an odd figure)
Choose 4Ah if
- You want longer runtime between charges
- Your tools take DeWalt 20V Max packs (DCB200 through DCB206 stated)
- You want the FCC, RoHS and CE certifications stated
- You run heavy-duty applications and want the 2-pack so a spare is ready
Example batteries
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much longer does a 4Ah battery last than a 2Ah?
The listings do not state runtime in minutes. The 4Ah examples state 4 amp_hours (4,000mAh) against the 2Ah examples’ 2 amp_hours, and the VelgoNyx listings claim extended runtime from the bigger pack. Real runtime depends on the tool and the job.
Are 4Ah batteries heavier than 2Ah?
The 2Ah examples state weights: the Craftsman battery at 350 g and the MZK at 16 ounces (400 g). The VelgoNyx 4Ah listings state 45 g, which is the listed figure. Compare the stated figures rather than assuming.
Will a 4Ah battery fit my 20V tools?
The VelgoNyx 4Ah listings state compatibility with DeWalt 20V Max tools using DCB200 through DCB206 battery interfaces. The Craftsman 2Ah fits the V20 platform and the MZK 2Ah fits its listed ET models. Match the battery to your tool’s platform.
Do these batteries come with a charger?
Only the Craftsman 2Ah kit includes a charger, with a 60 minute charge time and LED indicators. The MZK and VelgoNyx listings are batteries only; the VelgoNyx advises a charger with a charging current of 4A or below.
Which has the better warranty?
The Craftsman 2Ah kit states a 3 Year Limited Warranty. The VelgoNyx 4Ah listings state a 2-year manufacturer’s warranty in the bullets and spec table (the title says 3-year). The MZK 2Ah states 1 year.
Related guides
See our battery charger vs battery maintainer and AGM vs flooded battery charger guides, plus air ratchet vs cordless ratchet.




