Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best 1/2 Inch Torque Wrench Under $100 (2026)

Five 1/2-inch click torque wrenches under $100 compared by torque range, accuracy, ratchet teeth and included kit, from a 13-piece set to bare wrenches.

Best 1/2 Inch Torque Wrench Under $100 (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1toolant 13-Piece SetBest Overalltoolant 13-Piece Set9.8/10View on Amazon
  2. 2YIYEIE Torque WrenchBest Certified PickYIYEIE Torque Wrench9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3VEVOR Torque WrenchBest Kit ValueVEVOR Torque Wrench9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4ANPUDS Torque WrenchBest Mid-RangeANPUDS Torque Wrench9.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 51/2 Inch Drive Torque Wrench 10-170 Ft-Lb for Car Repair1/2 Inch Drive Torque Wrench 10-170 Ft-Lb for Car RepairView on Amazon
  6. 6Torque Wrench 1/2-Inch Drive Dual Range Scales 10-170Torque Wrench 1/2-Inch Drive Dual Range Scales 10-170View on Amazon
  7. 7EPAuto 1/2-inch Drive Click Torque WrenchEPAuto 1/2-inch Drive Click Torque WrenchView on Amazon
  8. 8LEXIVON Torque Wrench 1/2-Inch Drive Click 10~150LEXIVON Torque Wrench 1/2-Inch Drive Click 10~150View on Amazon
  9. 9EPAuto 3/8-Inch Drive Click Torque Wrench 10-80 Ft-lb./EPAuto 3/8-Inch Drive Click Torque Wrench 10-80 Ft-lb./View on Amazon

A torque wrench is the tool that keeps lug nuts and engine bolts at the tightness the manual calls for, not the tightness your arm guesses. Too loose and things back off; too tight and threads stretch or snap. The search for the best 1/2 inch torque wrench under 100 turns on a short list of questions: how wide the torque range runs, how tight the accuracy claim is, how fine the ratchet teeth are, and what comes in the box. This guide works through each candidate against those questions, using only what each listing publishes. A click wrench signals the set value with a click you can hear and feel, which is why every pick here is a click-type wrench.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall toolant 13-Piece Set: 13-piece set: 25-250 ft-lb wrench, 10 sockets, extension, breaker bar, 2-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Certified Pick YIYEIE Torque Wrench: ±3% wrench with a traceable calibration certificate and an upgraded lock ring. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Kit Value VEVOR Torque Wrench: 25-250 ft-lb wrench with adapters, extension rods and a calibration certificate. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Mid-Range ANPUDS Torque Wrench: 10-170 ft-lb at ±3% with a calibration report and serial number. Check price on Amazon

The picks

toolant 13-Piece 1/2" Torque Wrench Set

toolant 13-Piece 1/2" Torque Wrench Set

toolant9.8/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 13-piece 1/2-inch torque wrench set with a 25-250 ft-lb wrench at ±3%, 10 deep sockets, a 5-inch extension and an 18 to 24 inch telescopic breaker bar, backed by a 2-year unconditional warranty.

Pros

  • 25 to 250 ft-lb range at ±3% accuracy
  • 13-piece kit: 10 deep sockets, 5-inch extension, telescopic breaker bar
  • 2-year unconditional warranty stated
  • Traceable serial certificate included

Cons

  • White finish will show shop grime
  • Kit format is more than a wrench-only buyer needs
  • No accuracy figure is stated for the breaker bar
  • No safety certification is stated
1/2-Inch Drive Torque Wrench with Upgraded Lock

1/2-Inch Drive Torque Wrench with Upgraded Lock

YIYEIE9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1/2-inch click torque wrench with a 10-160 FT.LB range at ±3%, a 72-tooth ratchet, an upgraded lock ring and a traceable calibration certificate.

Pros

  • ±3% accuracy with a traceable calibration certificate
  • 72-tooth ratchet for tight spaces
  • Upgraded push-to-set, pull-to-lock ring
  • Exceeding ANSI and ASME standards, per the listing

Cons

  • 160 ft-lb top end is lower than the 250 ft-lb models here
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No case is listed
  • No safety certification is stated
VEVOR 1/2-inch Drive Click Torque Wrench

VEVOR 1/2-inch Drive Click Torque Wrench

VEVOR9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1/2-inch click torque wrench with a 25-250 ft-lb range at ±3%, chrome-vanadium build, drive adapters, extension rods and a calibration certificate.

Pros

  • 25 to 250 ft-lb range at ±3% accuracy
  • Adapters and extension rods included
  • Calibration certificate included
  • Laser-engraved dual-range scale

Cons

  • Spec table lists a 20 ft-lb minimum against the 25 ft-lb title
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No tooth count is stated for the ratchet
  • No safety certification is stated
1/2 Inch Drive Click Torque Wrench,10-170

1/2 Inch Drive Click Torque Wrench,10-170

ANPUDS9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1/2-inch click torque wrench with a 10-170 ft-lb range at ±3%, a 72-tooth ratchet, dual-range scales and a calibration report with serial number.

Pros

  • 10 to 170 ft-lb range at ±3% accuracy
  • 72-tooth dual-direction ratchet
  • Calibration report with unique serial number
  • 1 ft-lb torque increments

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No case is listed
  • No weight is stated
  • No safety certification is stated
Amazon Basics 1/2-Inch Drive Click Heavy-Duty

Amazon Basics 1/2-Inch Drive Click Heavy-Duty

Amazon Basics9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1/2-inch click torque wrench with a 25-250 ft-lb range at ±4% and a plastic storage case, though its spec table describes a different wrench.

Pros

  • 25 to 250 ft-lb range for heavy fasteners
  • Sturdy plastic case included
  • High-contrast dual-range scale
  • Hardened Cr-V steel ratchet head

Cons

  • Spec table describes a 1/4-inch, 20-150 in-lb wrench, not this one
  • ±4% accuracy is the loosest claim here
  • No calibration certificate is stated
  • No warranty term is stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Range Accuracy Ratchet Weight (listed) In the box
toolant 13-Piece Set 25 to 250 ft-lb ±3% 72-tooth 4.85 kg 10 sockets, extension, breaker bar, certificate
YIYEIE Torque Wrench 10 to 160 FT.LB ±3% 72-tooth 1.61 kg Calibration certificate
VEVOR Torque Wrench 25 to 250 ft-lb ±3% Not stated 5.5 pounds Adapter, extensions, certificate
ANPUDS Torque Wrench 10 to 170 ft-lb ±3% 72-tooth Not stated Calibration report
Amazon Basics Wrench 25 to 250 ft-lb ±4% Not stated 2.7 kg Plastic case

Specifications are manufacturer rated, collected 22 October 2026. Torque ranges and accuracy figures are as listed; where a spec table disagrees with the title and bullets, the title and bullets win.

How we scored them

Each wrench is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. The weights behind the Shop Score are on our How We Pick page.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
toolant 13-Piece Set 9.8 32 22 22 n/a 3
YIYEIE Torque Wrench 9.6 29 21 19 n/a 0
VEVOR Torque Wrench 9.6 28 21 20 n/a 0
ANPUDS Torque Wrench 9.5 27 20 19 n/a 0
Amazon Basics Wrench 9.5 26 19 19 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

How to choose the best 1/2 inch torque wrench under 100

Torque range: match it to your fasteners

The five listings here cover three ranges: 10 to 160 FT.LB on the YIYEIE, 10 to 170 ft-lb on the ANPUDS, and 25 to 250 ft-lb on the Amazon Basics, the VEVOR and the toolant. The 25 to 250 ft-lb wrenches reach higher than the 10 to 160 and 10 to 170 ft-lb models, which start lower. Every listing here also prints a metric scale alongside the foot-pound one, from 10 to 227 Nm on the YIYEIE up to 33.9 to 339.0 Nm on the toolant. Pick the range that covers the fasteners you touch most, and check your vehicle’s manual for the actual spec.

Readability matters in a dim garage: the YIYEIE prints white on black, the VEVOR laser-engraves its dual scale, and the Amazon Basics uses a high-contrast dual range scale. The ANPUDS explains its reading as main scale plus minimum scale, with the listed example of 110 plus 5 making 115. Pick the scale you can read at arm’s length under the car.

Accuracy and calibration

Four of the five listings claim ±3% accuracy: the YIYEIE, the VEVOR, the ANPUDS and the toolant. The Amazon Basics claims ±4%. A calibration certificate ships with the YIYEIE, the VEVOR and the toolant, and the ANPUDS adds a unique serial number to its calibration report. The Amazon Basics states no certificate. Paperwork does not make a wrench accurate, but a stated certificate is the maker’s way of standing behind the number.

The YIYEIE listing cites a 20,000-cycle verification behind its ±3% claim, and the ANPUDS says each wrench is rigorously checked so calibration error stays within ±3%. The VEVOR and toolant certificates serve the same purpose: a written record that your wrench was checked before it shipped.

Ratchet teeth and drive

The YIYEIE, the ANPUDS and the toolant all state a 72-tooth ratchet head, which needs a smaller swing arc in tight spots; the other two listings state no tooth count. All five are 1/2-inch drive click wrenches with dual-direction operation and a quick-release button for socket changes. The YIYEIE adds an upgraded push-to-set, pull-to-lock ring, while the Amazon Basics reminds you to unlock before adjusting and to wind back to the lowest value after use. See ratchet vs torque wrench for how the two tools differ.

Two small habits from the listings: the YIYEIE’s push-to-set, pull-to-lock ring against the traditional pull-and-hold, and the Amazon Basics reminder to unlock before adjusting and wind back to the lowest value after use. The toolant’s 72-tooth head runs both directions like the others, with a loud click when the set value is reached.

What comes in the box

The toolant is the kit of the group: a 13-piece set with 10 deep sockets, a 5-inch extension and an 18 to 24 inch telescopic breaker bar for tire work. The VEVOR includes a 1/2 to 1/4 inch adapter, a 3-inch and a 5-inch extension rod, plus a calibration certificate. The Amazon Basics ships in a sturdy plastic case. The YIYEIE and ANPUDS list the wrench itself with their calibration paperwork. If you already own sockets, the bare wrench is enough; if you are starting out, the kit saves a second order.

The toolant’s breaker bar telescopes from 18 to 24 inches with a 180-degree swivel head, which is the tool you reach for when a bolt will not move. The VEVOR’s 1/2 to 1/4 inch adapter and extension rods cover the odd fastener in tight or deep spaces. Everything else here is the wrench alone, so count your sockets before you order.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

What torque range do I need for lug nuts?

Check your vehicle’s manual for the spec, then pick a wrench whose listed range covers it. The listings here run 10 to 160, 10 to 170 and 25 to 250 ft-lb.

What does ±3% accuracy mean?

It is the tolerance the maker claims around the set value. Four listings here claim ±3%; the Amazon Basics claims ±4%. The claim is only as good as the calibration behind it, which is why the certificates matter.

Do I need a calibration certificate?

It helps. The YIYEIE, VEVOR and toolant listings include a calibration certificate, and the ANPUDS includes a calibration report with a serial number. The Amazon Basics states none. A certificate is the maker’s written backing for the accuracy claim.

Can I use a torque wrench to loosen bolts?

That is not its job. The torque wrenches in these listings are for tightening to a set value; for breaking bolts loose, the toolant set includes an 18 to 24 inch telescopic breaker bar. Using a torque wrench as a breaker bar risks its calibration.

How should I store a torque wrench?

The Amazon Basics listing says to adjust to the lowest value and loosen the locking ring after use, and it ships in a plastic case. Storing a click wrench wound down keeps the spring relaxed. See beam vs click torque wrench for the mechanism differences.

Keep building the toolbox: compare torque wrenches for lug nuts, read torque wrenches for beginners, or see torque stick vs torque wrench and socket set vs torque wrench.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Tool Bag with Wheels (2026): 5 Picks

Five rolling tool bags for mechanics compared on stated load capacity, pockets, wheels, handles, water resistance and what each listing leaves out.