Best Torque Wrench for Lug Nuts: 5 Picks Compared
Five click torque wrenches for lug nuts, compared by torque range, drive size, accuracy, kit contents, compliance claims and warranty.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallCRAFTSMAN 1/2 in 50-2509.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Tire-Change Kit PickDEWALT 12-Piece Kit9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Most Complete SetMatework 22-Piece Set9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
Three-Drive SetNEBICALS 9-Piece Set9.5/10View on Amazon - 5
Small-Range PickATsafepro 3/8 in 5-509.4/10View on Amazon - 6
1/2 Inch Drive Click Torque WrenchView on Amazon - 7
GROWNEER Digital Torque WrenchView on Amazon - 8
Seesii Torque Wrench Set 1/4" 3/8" 1/2" Drive ±3% HighView on Amazon - 9
OEMTOOLS 24666 1/2” Drive Heavy Duty Impact WrenchView on Amazon - 10
Torque MultiplierView on Amazon
A tire rotation turns into a guessing game without the right wrench: under-tightened lug nuts can work loose, and over-tightened ones turn the next removal into a fight. The best torque wrench for lug nuts is a 1/2 in drive click wrench with a torque range that covers wheel fasteners, a scale you can read in garage light, and a case so it stays calibrated in the drawer. These five run from a single CRAFTSMAN clicker with a stated ASME compliance claim to 22- and 9-piece sets with sockets, extension bars and adapters.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall CRAFTSMAN 1/2 in 50-250: 50-250 ft-lb range with stated ASME compliance, locking setting and storage case. Check price on Amazon
- Tire-Change Kit Pick DEWALT 12-Piece Kit: 12 pcs: 50-250 ft-lb wrench, breaker bar, four SAE lug sockets and case. Check price on Amazon
- Most Complete Set Matework 22-Piece Set: 22 pcs: ±3% 10-180 ft-lb wrench, 17 sockets, extension bar and adapters. Check price on Amazon
- Three-Drive Set NEBICALS 9-Piece Set: 9 pcs covering 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in drives, each ±3% with certificate. Check price on Amazon
- Small-Range Pick ATsafepro 3/8 in 5-50: 3/8 in drive, 5-50 ft-lb, dual scales and 72-tooth quick-release head. Check price on Amazon

CRAFTSMAN Torque Wrench, 1/2" Drive
A 1/2 in drive click torque wrench spanning 50 to 250 ft-lb (68 to 339 Nm), 29.65 in long, with a stated claim of meeting or exceeding ASME specifications and a durable storage case.
Pros
- 50 to 250 ft-lb (68 to 339 Nm), the widest range here
- States it meets or exceeds ASME specifications
- Bi-material handle and locking setting feature
- Sturdy storage case and stamped inch and metric scales
Cons
- States no accuracy figure on the listing
- No warranty term is stated
- 29.65 in long, needs swing room
- Wrench only, no sockets included

DEWALT Torque Wrench Tool Set, Tire Change Kit
A 12-piece tire change kit with a 50 to 250 ft-lb 1/2 in drive click torque wrench, a breaker bar, four SAE sockets, a head bumper and a storage case, with a stated ASME/ISO/TAA compliance claim.
Pros
- 50 to 250 ft-lb range with stated ASME/ISO/TAA compliance
- Breaker bar and four SAE lug sockets in the box
- Locking trigger with forward and reverse torque
- Protective head bumper and bi-material grip
Cons
- States no accuracy figure on the listing
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table lists a 0.27 g weight, which is wrong
- Only four sockets: 3/4, 13/16, 7/8 and 15/16 in

1/2-Inch Drive Torque Wrench Set 22PCS
A 22-piece set with a 10 to 180 ft-lb (13.6 to 244.1 Nm) 1/2 in drive click wrench stated at plus or minus 3 percent, seventeen 6-point impact sockets, extension bar, universal joint and two adapters.
Pros
- Plus or minus 3 percent accuracy with calibration certificate
- Twenty-two pieces: seventeen 6-point impact sockets 8 to 24 mm
- 72-tooth head with stated 5 degree swing angle
- 1 ft-lb micro-adjustment on the graduation ring
Cons
- No safety listing or compliance claim is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- 10 to 180 ft-lb tops out below the 250 ft-lb picks
- Aluminum-titanium handle, not a traditional steel beam

9PCS 1/4 3/8 & 1/2 Torque Wrench Set,Long
A 9-piece set with three click wrenches (1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in drives) stated at plus or minus 3 percent, three extension bars, a universal joint and adapters, with a calibration certificate.
Pros
- Three drive sizes: 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 in click wrenches
- Plus or minus 3 percent accuracy with calibration certificate
- Three extension bars, universal joint and adapters included
- 72-tooth heads on hardened Cr-Mo steel ratchets
Cons
- No safety listing or compliance claim is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- Title says 6 adapters while the bullets list 2
- The 1/2 in wrench tops out at 170 ft-lb

ATsafepro 3/8-Inch Drive Click Torque
A 3/8 in drive click torque wrench at 5 to 50 ft-lb (6.8 to 68 Nm) stated at plus or minus 3 percent, with dual Nm and ft-lb scales, a 72-tooth dual-direction head and a quick-release button.
Pros
- Plus or minus 3 percent accuracy on a small 5 to 50 ft-lb range
- Dual Nm and ft-lb scales that the listing calls wear-resistant
- 72-tooth dual-direction head with quick-release button
- States calibration to DIN, ISO and ASME standards
Cons
- 3/8 in drive is not the lug nut drive size
- 50 ft-lb maximum is the smallest range here
- No case or sockets are stated as included
- Bullet 4 calls it a 1/2 torque wrench, contradicting the title
More options to compare
1/2 Inch Drive Click Torque WrenchCheck price on Amazon
GROWNEER Digital Torque WrenchCheck price on Amazon
Seesii Torque Wrench Set 1/4" 3/8" 1/2" Drive ±3% HighCheck price on Amazon
OEMTOOLS 24666 1/2” Drive Heavy Duty Impact WrenchCheck price on Amazon
Torque MultiplierCheck price on Amazon
Compare the torque wrenches
[gth_compare]
| Model | Shop Score | Torque range | Drive | Length | Accuracy | Contents | Listing / warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CRAFTSMAN 1/2 in 50-250 | 9.7/10 | 50-250 ft-lb (68-339 Nm) | 1/2 in | 29.65 in | Not stated | Wrench and case | ASME / none |
| DEWALT 12-Piece Kit | 9.6/10 | 50-250 ft-lb | 1/2 in | 30 in | Not stated | Wrench, breaker bar, 4 SAE sockets | ASME/ISO/TAA / none |
| Matework 22-Piece Set | 9.5/10 | 10-180 ft-lb (13.6-244.1 Nm) | 1/2 in | 17 in | ±3% | 22 pcs with 17 sockets | none / none |
| NEBICALS 9-Piece Set | 9.5/10 | 10-170 ft-lb; 5-45 ft-lb; 20-220 in-lb | 1/4, 3/8, 1/2 in | 17.1 in | ±3% | 9 pcs with 3 wrenches | none / none |
| ATsafepro 3/8 in 5-50 | 9.4/10 | 5-50 ft-lb (6.8-68 Nm) | 3/8 in | Not stated | ±3% | Wrench only | DIN/ISO/ASME / none |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 19 October 2026.
The five torque wrenches
How we scored them
Each wrench is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. A compliance statement to ASME or other standards on the listing earns safety points; nothing stated earns none.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CRAFTSMAN 1/2 in 50-250 | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| DEWALT 12-Piece Kit | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
| Matework 22-Piece Set | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 22 | 0 | 0 |
| NEBICALS 9-Piece Set | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| ATsafepro 3/8 in 5-50 | 9.4 | 23 | 19 | 19 | 4 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Buying guide: best torque wrench for lug nuts
Torque range
The stated ranges here split into two groups. The CRAFTSMAN and DEWALT both span 50 to 250 ft-lb, the widest ranges on this page, with the CRAFTSMAN also giving 68 to 339 Nm. The Matework covers 10 to 180 ft-lb (13.6 to 244.1 Nm), and the NEBICALS 1/2 in wrench covers 10 to 170 ft-lb (14 to 231 Nm), with its 3/8 in wrench at 5 to 45 ft-lb and its 1/4 in wrench at 20 to 220 in-lb (2.3 to 24.9 Nm). The ATsafepro runs 5 to 50 ft-lb (6.8 to 68 Nm), the smallest range here; its own listing names spark plugs, bicycles and motorcycles, which fits a range that tops out at 50 ft-lb better than wheel work. Pick a wrench whose range places your lug nut setting in the middle of the scale, not at its limit.
Drive size
Four of the five use a 1/2 in drive, the standard for lug nut sockets. The DEWALT 12-piece kit builds on that with SAE sockets in 3/4, 13/16, 7/8 and 15/16 in, plus a 1/2 in drive breaker bar for breaking nuts loose before the torque wrench finishes the job. The Matework set includes seventeen 6-point impact sockets from 8 to 24 mm, a 10 in extension bar, a 1/2 in universal joint, a 1/2 to 3/8 in adapter and a 1/2 to 1/4 in drill adapter. The ATsafepro is the only 3/8 in drive wrench here, which suits smaller fasteners and pairs with smaller sockets.
Click mechanism and accuracy
All five are click wrenches: set the torque, pull until you hear and feel the click, then stop. The Matework, NEBICALS and ATsafepro all state a plus or minus 3 percent accuracy; the Matework adds a 1 ft-lb micro-adjustment on its graduation ring, and the NEBICALS ships with a calibration certificate. The CRAFTSMAN and DEWALT state no accuracy figure on their listings. The Matework, NEBICALS and ATsafepro all use 72-tooth ratchet heads, with the Matework stating a 5 degree swing angle for tight spots between lugs. The CRAFTSMAN lists a locking feature that holds the setting, and the DEWALT a locking trigger with forward and reverse torque.
Wrench-only or a full kit
Think about what is already in the drawer. The CRAFTSMAN is a single wrench in a durable case, for a garage that already has sockets. The DEWALT is a 12-piece tire change kit: wrench, breaker bar, four SAE sockets, a protective head bumper and a storage case. The Matework is a 22-piece set with seventeen sockets, extension bar, universal joint and two adapters in a sturdy plastic case. The NEBICALS is a 9-piece set: three drive sizes of wrench, three extension bars (1/4 in by 4 in, 3/8 in by 6 in, 1/2 in by 5 in), a universal joint and two adapters in a sturdy portable case. The ATsafepro is the wrench alone with no case stated, so plan storage for it.
Length and reading the scale
Longer wrenches give more leverage but need more swing room around the car: the CRAFTSMAN states 29.65 in and the DEWALT 30 in, against 17 in for the Matework and 17.1 in for the NEBICALS; the ATsafepro states no length. For reading the setting, the CRAFTSMAN stamps inch and metric scales into the housing, the Matework uses a graduation ring, and the ATsafepro prints dual Nm and ft-lb scales. Pick the scale style you can read at a glance: stamped scales will not wear off, printed dual scales need good light, and the graduation ring turns for fine adjustments.
For loosening corroded nuts before the final torque pass, see our best cordless impact wrench for lug nuts roundup.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- The CRAFTSMAN and DEWALT are about 30 in long; leave swing room on both sides of the wheel before the first use.
- The 72-tooth heads on the Matework, NEBICALS and ATsafepro, with the Matework stating a 5 degree swing, suit tight spaces between lugs and studs.
- Four of the five ship in a case; the ATsafepro states no case, so give it a protected spot in the drawer.
- The ATsafepro states to return the wrench to the minimum torque value after use to prolong its service life; apply that habit to every click wrench.
- Check socket drive against wrench drive: the kits bundle matching sockets, but a bare 3/8 in wrench needs its own sockets and adapters.
Frequently Asked Questions
What drive size should I use for lug nuts?
A 1/2 in drive. Four of the five wrenches here use 1/2 in drive, and the kits bundle lug-sized sockets to match. The ATsafepro is the only 3/8 in drive wrench here, aimed at smaller fasteners.
How accurate are these click wrenches?
The Matework, NEBICALS and ATsafepro all state plus or minus 3 percent accuracy, and the NEBICALS and Matework ship with a calibration certificate. The CRAFTSMAN and DEWALT listings state no accuracy figure.
Do I need a set, or just the wrench?
Just the wrench if the drawer already has 1/2 in sockets, like the CRAFTSMAN. A set, like the DEWALT 12-piece with its breaker bar and SAE sockets or the Matework 22-piece with seventeen sockets, covers the whole tire change in one box.
Which torque range should I choose?
Pick a range that places your setting in the middle of the scale. The CRAFTSMAN and DEWALT span 50 to 250 ft-lb, the Matework 10 to 180 ft-lb, the NEBICALS 1/2 in wrench 10 to 170 ft-lb, and the ATsafepro 5 to 50 ft-lb.
Which of these state a warranty?
None of the five listings states a warranty term. The NEBICALS mentions 12 months of customer service support, which is not a warranty.
Related: the click vs digital torque wrench and 3/8 vs 1/2 torque wrench comparisons, the best lug nut socket set roundup and our impact wrench vs torque wrench explainer.



