Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Garage Heater for 400 Square Feet (2026)

Four electric garage heaters for a 400 square foot garage, compared by wattage, coverage, mounting, controls, safety listing and warranty.

Best Garage Heater for 400 Square Feet (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Dr. Infrared DR-966 Garage HeaterBest OverallDr. Infrared DR-966 Garage Heater9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2NewAir 4800W Electric Garage HeaterBest Remote ControlNewAir 4800W Electric Garage Heater9.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3BEYOND HEAT 2-Pack Radiant HeaterBest 120V PairBEYOND HEAT 2-Pack Radiant Heater9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4ThermoMate 3000W Infrared HeaterBest Zone HeaterThermoMate 3000W Infrared Heater9.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Dual Power 15Dual Power 15View on Amazon
  6. 6NewAir NGH160GA00NewAir NGH160GA00View on Amazon
  7. 7GiveBest Portable Electric Space Heaters for Indoor UseGiveBest Portable Electric Space Heaters for Indoor UseView on Amazon
  8. 8Mr. Heater 18Mr. Heater 18View on Amazon
  9. 9Remington LP Forced Air HeaterRemington LP Forced Air HeaterView on Amazon
  10. 10Mr. Heater Corporation Vent Free Flame Natural Gas HeaterMr. Heater Corporation Vent Free Flame Natural Gas HeaterView on Amazon

Winter turns a simple brake job into a shivering chore: numb fingers drop bolts, and every trip under the hood feels longer than the last. A warm garage changes the whole job, and finding the best garage heater for 400 square feet starts with what the listings actually promise, not with the box the heater ships in.

This guide compares four electric garage heaters by the figures that matter for a space that size: wattage, stated heating coverage, voltage, mounting options, thermostat control, safety listing and warranty. Three run on 240V circuits and one plugs into a 120V outlet. Stated coverage runs from 130 square feet enclosed to 600 square feet, so matching the heater to the garage is half the decision.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall Dr. Infrared DR-966 Garage Heater: 3000 and 6000 watts with 600 sq ft of stated coverage, wall or ceiling mount, UL/CUL listed. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Remote Control NewAir 4800W Electric Garage Heater: 4800 watts for 500 sq ft with a remote, digital thermostat, timer and fan speed, plus a UL-certified 30-amp plug. Check price on Amazon
  • Best 120V Pair BEYOND HEAT 2-Pack Radiant Heater: Two 1500W radiant heaters that plug into 120V, with 90-degree tilt, halogen light, ETL approval and overheat protection. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Zone Heater ThermoMate 3000W Infrared Heater: 3000W carbon fiber infrared with three heat levels, remote and ETL certification, for a 130 sq ft enclosed zone. Check price on Amazon

The picks

Newair Electric Garage Heater 240V

Newair Electric Garage Heater 240V

NewAir9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

4800W fan-forced 240V garage heater for 500 sq ft, with a remote, digital thermostat and a choice of freestanding or ceiling and wall mounting. UL-certified 30-amp plug with automatic shut-off and a 1-year limited warranty.

Pros

  • 4800W fan-forced heat for 500 sq ft stated coverage
  • Remote with digital thermostat, timer and fan speed
  • Freestanding or ceiling and wall mount with bracket
  • Automatic shut-off; UL-certified 30-amp plug; 1-year warranty

Cons

  • Needs a dedicated 240-volt outlet
  • 12.1 pounds to lift for a ceiling mount
  • Spec table says radiant element; bullets say fan-forced
  • Temperature tops out at 99 degrees F
Dr. Infrared Heater DR-966 240-Volt Hardwired Shop

Dr. Infrared Heater DR-966 240-Volt Hardwired Shop

DR. INFRARED HEATER9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Hardwired 240V shop heater with 3000 and 6000 watt settings, wall or ceiling mount, 5 adjustable louvers and a stated 600 sq ft heating coverage. UL/CUL listed.

Pros

  • 6000W setting with 600 sq ft stated coverage
  • Wall or ceiling mount with bracket included
  • Adjustable thermostat, 37 to 104 degrees F, HIGH and LOW
  • UL/CUL listed with 5 adjustable louvers to direct airflow

Cons

  • Hardwired install; power cord not included
  • Needs a 240V 25A circuit
  • 27 pounds to mount overhead
  • Spec table mixes forced air method with radiant element
BEYOND HEAT Electric Garage Heater 120V

BEYOND HEAT Electric Garage Heater 120V

BEYOND HEAT9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Two 1500W radiant ceiling-mount heaters on 120V, with dual quartz tubes, 2 heat settings on a pull string, 90-degree tilt and a halogen light. ETL approved for the US with overheat protection and a metal safety grille.

Pros

  • 2-pack of 1500W heaters on 120V
  • Radiant heat with 90-degree adjustable tilt
  • Halogen light works with or without the heat
  • ETL approval; overheat protection; metal safety grille

Cons

  • No heating coverage figure stated
  • No warranty term stated
  • Pull-string control; no thermostat or remote
  • Ceiling mount only
ThermoMate Infrared Heater

ThermoMate Infrared Heater

thermomate9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

240V carbon fiber infrared heater with 1000, 2000 and 3000W levels, remote control and a stated 130 sq ft of enclosed coverage. ETL certified with an IP65 rating stated, a 15A UL plug and a 7.88 ft minimum mounting height.

Pros

  • 3 heat levels: 1000, 2000 and 3000W
  • Remote control with mounting kit included
  • ETL certified; IP65 stated; 15A UL plug
  • Light 6.8 lb wall-mount bar

Cons

  • 130 sq ft enclosed coverage is the smallest stated here
  • No warranty term stated
  • Needs a 240V circuit
  • Bullet header says 120 sq ft; body states 100 and 130

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Shop Score Wattage Stated coverage Voltage Mounting Warranty
Dr. Infrared DR-966 Garage Heater 9.6/10 3000 / 6000 W 600 sq ft 240 V Wall / ceiling Not stated
NewAir 4800W Electric Garage Heater 9.7/10 4800 W 500 sq ft 240 V Freestanding / ceiling / wall 1 year
BEYOND HEAT 2-Pack Radiant Heater 9.5/10 1500 W x 2 Not stated 120 V Ceiling Not stated
ThermoMate 3000W Infrared Heater 9.4/10 1000 / 2000 / 3000 W 130 sq ft enclosed 240 V Wall Not stated

*Coverage is the maker’s stated heating coverage. “Not stated” means the listing gives no coverage figure.

22 October 2026

How we scored them

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
NewAir 4800W Electric Garage Heater 9.7 30 21 21 9 4
Dr. Infrared DR-966 Garage Heater 9.6 32 21 20 9 0
BEYOND HEAT 2-Pack Radiant Heater 9.5 23 20 20 8 0
ThermoMate 3000W Infrared Heater 9.4 21 19 19 7 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Each heater is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Performance follows the stated wattage and heating coverage; safety follows stated listings and shut-off features. A warranty only counts when the listing states a term: the NewAir listing states a 1-year warranty, and the other three listings state no warranty term.

What the listings tell you

All four listings give wattage, voltage and mounting type, but they are uneven on the figures that matter for a 400 square foot garage. Two state a heating coverage: the Dr. Infrared DR-966 states 600 sq ft and the NewAir states 500 sq ft. The ThermoMate states 100 sq ft outdoors and 130 sq ft in an enclosed area. The BEYOND HEAT 2-pack states no coverage at all, so its fit for a whole garage is unclear from the listing. Three heaters need 240V; only the BEYOND HEAT plugs into 120V. Two listings state a warranty term; the other two state none.

Buying guide: the best garage heater for 400 square feet

Wattage and stated coverage

Wattage and the maker’s stated coverage are the two figures that decide whether a heater fits a 400 square foot garage. The Dr. Infrared DR-966 lists 3000 and 6000 watts with 600 sq ft of stated coverage, and the NewAir lists 4800 watts with 500 sq ft. The ThermoMate lists 3000 watts but only 130 sq ft of enclosed coverage, and the BEYOND HEAT 2-pack lists 1500 watts per heater with no coverage figure at all. A listing that states both figures makes the decision easy; one that states neither leaves it to guesswork, so favor the listings that publish a coverage number.

240V or 120V

Three of the four heaters need a 240V circuit. The Dr. Infrared DR-966 is hardwired at 25 amps and ships without a power cord, so it needs a permanent wired install. The NewAir uses a UL-certified 30-amp, 3-prong plug for a dedicated 240-volt outlet. The ThermoMate runs 240V through a 5.6 ft cable with a 15A UL plug. Only the BEYOND HEAT 2-pack runs on 120V with a grounded 3-prong plug. If the garage has no 240V circuit, that decides the shortlist before anything else.

Mounting and placement

Where the heater lives matters as much as how it heats. The Dr. Infrared DR-966 mounts on the wall or the ceiling with the bracket in the box, and its 5 adjustable louvers direct the airflow. The NewAir works freestanding on the floor or a workbench, or mounts to the wall or ceiling with its included bracket. The BEYOND HEAT 2-pack is a ceiling-mount pair with 90 degrees of adjustable tilt, plus a halogen light that works with or without the heat. The ThermoMate is a wall-mount bar 38.58 inches wide, and the listing sets a minimum mounting height of 7.88 feet. Measure the ceiling and the wall space before committing to a mounted unit.

Thermostat and control

Thermostats separate the set-and-forget heaters from the always-on ones. The Dr. Infrared DR-966 has an adjustable thermostat with HIGH and LOW settings, spanning 37 to 104 degrees F. The NewAir pairs a digital thermostat with a remote that also sets the timer and fan speed, spanning 45 to 99 degrees F. The BEYOND HEAT 2-pack uses a pull string for its 2 heat settings, with no thermostat and no remote. The ThermoMate remote switches three levels, 1000, 2000 and 3000 watts, without a thermostat. For a garage that needs steady heat through a workday, a thermostat matters more than a remote.

Safety listings

Safety features are stated plainly in three of the four listings. The Dr. Infrared DR-966 is UL/CUL listed. The NewAir carries a UL-certified 30-amp plug with automatic shut-off. The BEYOND HEAT pair is ETL approved for the US with overheat protection and a metal safety grille over the quartz tubes. The ThermoMate is ETL certified with an IP65 rating stated and a 15A UL plug. No listing here mentions ventilation, and none needs to: all four are electric with no combustion. Keep any heater clear of sawdust piles, cardboard and solvent rags.

Garage Fit Check

  • Power first: the Dr. Infrared (25A hardwired), the NewAir (dedicated 240V 30A plug) and the ThermoMate (240V) all need a 240V circuit; only the BEYOND HEAT 2-pack plugs into 120V.
  • Space second: the Dr. Infrared is 14.5 by 13 by 14.5 inches and 27 pounds on its bracket; the ThermoMate bar is 38.58 inches wide and must mount at least 7.88 feet high.
  • Coverage third: stated coverage runs from 130 sq ft enclosed (ThermoMate) to 600 sq ft (Dr. Infrared); the BEYOND HEAT 2-pack states none, so its whole-garage fit is unproven.
  • What is in the box: remotes come with the NewAir and the ThermoMate, brackets with the Dr. Infrared and the NewAir, a mounting kit with the ThermoMate, and no power cord with the Dr. Infrared.
Heater safety

Never run a fuel-burning heater, generator or engine in a closed garage: carbon monoxide builds up fast and has no smell. Fit a CO alarm, keep clearances to cars and storage, use vented gas heaters installed to code, and put 240V electric heaters on a dedicated circuit. See CPSC carbon monoxide guidance. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many watts heat a 400 square foot garage?

The listings here span 1500 to 6000 watts. The Dr. Infrared lists 6000 watts with 600 sq ft of stated coverage, and the NewAir lists 4800 watts with 500 sq ft. The ThermoMate lists 3000 watts but only 130 sq ft of enclosed coverage, so wattage alone does not tell you the coverage; read the coverage figure the listing states.

Can a garage heater plug into a normal outlet?

Only the BEYOND HEAT 2-pack runs on 120V with a grounded 3-prong plug. The Dr. Infrared is hardwired at 240V and 25 amps with no power cord, the NewAir needs a dedicated 240-volt outlet with its 30-amp plug, and the ThermoMate runs 240V. Check the voltage and the plug before you buy.

Is a bigger coverage number always better?

Not always. The Dr. Infrared states 600 sq ft and the NewAir 500 sq ft, both above a 400 square foot garage, and both have thermostats (37 to 104 degrees F and 45 to 99 degrees F) to hold a set temperature. An oversized heater with a thermostat cycles off; an undersized one runs constantly, so a thermostat matters more than extra coverage.

Should you mount a garage heater on the wall or the ceiling?

It depends on the listing. The Dr. Infrared and the NewAir include brackets for wall or ceiling mounting, the BEYOND HEAT pair is ceiling-mount with 90-degree tilt, and the ThermoMate is a wall-mount bar with a 7.88 ft minimum mounting height. The NewAir also works freestanding on the floor or a workbench.

Do electric garage heaters need ventilation?

The listings here state no ventilation requirement, and none is needed: all four heaters are electric with no combustion. They state safety features instead: UL or ETL listings, overheat protection and automatic shut-off on the models that have it.

Related: the best electric 240V garage heater, the best infrared garage heater and our garage heater picks. Also see our 120V vs 240V garage heater comparison, garage door insulation for cold climates and the garage upgrades hub.

More buying guides