Best Electric Garage Heater 240V (2026)
Five 240V electric garage heaters compared by stated wattage, heating coverage, mounting options, safety certifications and warranty terms for workshop heating.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallDR. INFRARED DR-910F9.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Best for Large ShopsCTSC 8500W MGH10859.7/10View on Amazon - 3
Best Digital 7500WComfort Zone CZ230ER9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
Best for 2-Car GaragesComfort Zone CZ2209.5/10View on Amazon - 5
Newair Electric Garage Heater 240VView on Amazon - 6
Cadet Com-Pak Twin Electric Wall Heater 3000W 240V ThermostatView on Amazon
Choosing the best electric garage heater 240v depends on your shop space, electrical service, and heating requirements. A hardwired 240V electric garage heater delivers consistent warmth without fuel fumes or open flames, provided your electrical panel can support the required amperage. For large shops needing maximum heat output, the 10,000 W DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-910F leads this comparison, while 5,000 W to 8,500 W models offer adjustable settings for mid-sized workspaces.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall DR. INFRARED DR-910F: UL and CUL listed 10,000 W forced-air heater with remote thermostat, 5 adjustable louvers, wall or ceiling mounting and a 1 year warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Best for Large Shops CTSC 8500W MGH1085: UL certified 8,500 W heater with 4 modes, external thermostat compatibility, 58 dB quiet operation and a 1-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Best Digital 7500W Comfort Zone CZ230ER: 7,500 W heater covering up to 1,250 sq ft with digital thermostat, remote control, 12-hour timer and a 1 year warranty. Check price on Amazon
- Best for 2-Car Garages Comfort Zone CZ220: 5,000 W heater with 3 heat settings (3,000, 4,000, 5,000 W), dual knob thermostat, 1,000 sq ft coverage and a 1 year warranty. Check price on Amazon
The picks

DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-910F 10,000-Watt 240V
A UL and CUL listed 10,000 W, 240V hardwired electric garage heater with remote thermostat, 5 adjustable louvers, wall or ceiling mounting and a 1 year warranty.
Pros
- 10,000 W heat output, the highest in this roundup
- UL and CUL listed
- Remote-controlled thermostat from 50 to 85 °F and 5 adjustable louvers
- Wall or ceiling mounting bracket included, 1 year warranty
Cons
- Requires 42 A draw and 6 AWG copper wire on a dedicated circuit
- Heaviest unit here at 49 pounds
- Power cord not included, hardwired installation required
- Spec table lists heating element as radiant while bullets describe a forced-air heater

CTSC 8500W Garage Heater Electric
A UL certified 8,500 W, 240V hardwired electric garage heater with 4 heat settings, external thermostat compatibility, remote control, timer and a 1-year warranty.
Pros
- 8,500 W output rated for 29,010 BTU and 850 sq ft coverage
- UL certified with overheating protection
- Pre-wired for external thermostat connection, remote included
- 4 settings including 4250W low, ECO mode and fan-only, rated at 58 dB
Cons
- Requires 35.4 A draw and hardwired installation without included power cord
- Weight listed as 11 kg in spec table
- Timer limited to 10 hours compared to 24 hours on InoKraft
- 1-year warranty is shorter than multi-year shop tool warranties

Comfort Zone Hard-Wired Ceiling Mount Garage Space
A 7,500 W, 240V hardwired ceiling-mount garage heater with digital thermostat, remote control, 12-hour timer, overheat protection and a 1 year warranty.
Pros
- 7,500 W output rated for 25,600 BTU and coverage up to 1,250 sq ft
- Digital thermostat adjustable from 45 to 95 °F with remote control
- 12-hour timer and 4 adjustable louvers
- 1 year warranty against manufacturer defects
Cons
- Spec table contradicts title: lists 5,000 W and knob controller instead of 7,500 W and digital thermostat
- No UL, ETL or CSA safety listing stated
- Dimensions conflict: 10.75 x 16 x 12.75 in in specs vs 14.02 x 10.63 x 12.91 in
- Hardwired 240V installation requiring 31.25 A draw

Comfort Zone 5000-Watt Fan-Forced Ceiling Mount
A 5,000 W, 240V hardwired ceiling-mount garage heater with 3 heat settings, dual knob thermostat, overheat protection and a 1 year warranty.
Pros
- 3 heat settings at 3,000, 4,000 and 5,000 W (17,065 BTU)
- Lower 20.83 A draw suitable for a 30 A 240V circuit
- Heavy-gauge steel body with 4 adjustable louvers
- 1 year warranty against manufacturer defects
Cons
- No UL, ETL or CSA safety listing stated
- Manual dual knob controls without digital display or remote
- Dimensions conflict: 10.75 x 16 x 12.75 in vs 14.02 x 10.63 x 12.91 in
- Ceiling mount only, lacks wall mounting bracket option

InoKraft 7500W Electric Garage Heater
A 7,500 W, 240V hardwired garage heater with 4 operating modes, digital thermostat, remote control, 24-hour timer and 5 mounting angles.
Pros
- 7,500 W output with 4 modes: High, Low, ECO and Fan Only
- Digital thermostat adjustable from 40 to 99 °F with remote control
- 24-hour timer and 5 installation angle adjustments
- Wall or ceiling mounting options with fan delay function
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No UL, ETL or CSA safety listing stated
- Spec table contradicts bullets: heating element listed as radiant instead of forced air
- Sound level rated at 65 dB, louder than CTSC's 58 dB
More options to compare
Newair Electric Garage Heater 240VCheck price on Amazon
Cadet Com-Pak Twin Electric Wall Heater 3000W 240V ThermostatCheck price on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Model | Shop Score | Watts | Amps | Heat Settings | Controls | Safety listing (stated) | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-910F | 9.7/10 | 10,000 W | 42 A | 1 | Remote thermostat (50-85 °F), timer | UL, CUL | 1 year |
| CTSC MGH1085-02 | 9.7/10 | 8,500 W | 35.4 A | 4 (8500W, 4250W, ECO, Fan) | Remote, digital panel, external thermostat ready | UL | 1 year |
| Comfort Zone CZ230ER | 9.5/10 | 7,500 W (title) / 5,000 W (table) | 31.25 A | 3 | Remote, digital thermostat, 12-hr timer | Not stated | 1 year |
| Comfort Zone CZ220 | 9.5/10 | 5,000 W | 20.83 A | 3 (3,000, 4,000, 5,000 W) | Dual knob thermostat | Not stated | 1 year |
| InoKraft IK05001002 | 9.5/10 | 7,500 W | 31.25 A | 4 modes (High, Low, ECO, Fan Only) | Remote, digital thermostat, 24-hr timer | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 8 October 2026. Coverage and current draw reflect manufacturer ratings on 240V power. Contradictions between listing titles, bullets, and spec tables are noted where they occur.
How we scored them
Each heater is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. Stated UL or CUL certification earns the safety points; uncertified models earn none here.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DR. INFRARED DR-910F | 9.7 | 33 | 22 | 20 | 8 | 2 |
| CTSC 8500W MGH1085 | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 2 |
| Comfort Zone CZ230ER | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 22 | 0 | 2 |
| Comfort Zone CZ220 | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 22 | 0 | 2 |
| InoKraft IK05001002 | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you
We examined 5 electric garage heater listings. Every listing specified 240V voltage and heat output between 5,000 W and 10,000 W. Two of the 5 models stated UL safety certification. Stated warranties ranged from 1 year to no stated term.
Buying guide: best electric garage heater 240v
Sizing heat output to your garage
Heating capacity is measured in watts and BTUs. In this roundup, models deliver between 5,000 W (17,065 BTU) and 10,000 W. Stated coverage ranges from 750 sq ft on the InoKraft up to 1,250 sq ft on the Comfort Zone CZ230ER, with 5,000 W models listing 1,000 sq ft. For detailed sizing guidelines by garage dimensions, see our guide on what size garage heater do I need.
Electrical circuits and breaker sizing
A 240V electric garage heater places a continuous electrical load on your panel. The heaters reviewed here draw between 20.83 A for a 5,000 W model up to 42 A for a 10,000 W model. Continuous heating loads require appropriately sized dedicated circuits and breakers, such as 6 AWG copper wire specified for the 42 A DR-910F. To determine the correct circuit capacity, review what size breaker for a 240V garage heater and use a licensed electrician for all hardwire connections.
Safety certifications and overheat shut-off
A 240V hardwired shop appliance requires independent safety verification. Certification by UL or CUL confirms the heater complies with electrical and thermal standards. Both the DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-910F and CTSC MGH1085-02 state UL listing. While all 5 models state built-in overheat auto-shutoff sensors, the other 3 listings state no independent safety listing.
Mounting options and airflow louvers
Ceiling and wall mounting keeps heaters off the floor and away from vehicle traffic, sparks, and sawdust. Because heated air rises, directional airflow is essential for comfort at floor level. The DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-910F includes 5 adjustable louvers, while the Comfort Zone CZ220 and CZ230ER provide 4 louvers to direct the discharge pattern toward your primary work area. The InoKraft unit pairs adjustable louvers with 5 bracket mounting angles, and CTSC supplies a mounting bracket with a safety lock that supports both horizontal and vertical orientations. Position the heater to blow along exterior walls or toward cold overhead doors rather than directly onto work surfaces. Clearances around ceilings and adjacent walls must strictly follow manufacturer instructions in the included product manual.
Thermostat placement and external controls
Temperature control methods vary significantly across hardwired heaters. The Comfort Zone CZ220 relies on dual manual knobs on the chassis, meaning adjustments require reaching the elevated heater. By contrast, the DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-910F, Comfort Zone CZ230ER, and InoKraft provide handheld remotes with digital thermostats. The CTSC heater adds pre-wired terminals for an external wall thermostat. Installing an external wall thermostat allows the sensor to monitor room temperature at bench height rather than near the ceiling where warm air naturally collects. Built-in ECO modes on the CTSC and InoKraft models automatically modulate heat output between high and low wattages as the room reaches your selected temperature, helping reduce unnecessary energy consumption during long shop sessions.
Operating costs and heating fuel choices
Electric resistance heating provides direct heat conversion at the element, but operating expenses depend on local electric rates and usage hours. To calculate expected expenses, see how much does it cost to heat a garage. If you are comparing electric models with portable gas alternatives, also review is it safe to use a propane heater in a garage.
Never run a fuel-burning heater, generator or engine in a closed garage: carbon monoxide builds up fast and has no smell. Fit a CO alarm, keep clearances to cars and storage, use vented gas heaters installed to code, and put 240V electric heaters on a dedicated circuit. See CPSC carbon monoxide guidance. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Frequently Asked Questions
What size breaker is needed for a 240V electric garage heater?
Breaker sizing depends on the heater amperage. For example, a 5,000 W heater draws 20.83 A, while a 10,000 W heater draws 42 A and specifies 6 AWG copper wire. Dedicated circuits must be sized for continuous loads; consult the breaker sizing guide and use a licensed electrician to verify panel capacity.
Can a 240V electric garage heater be plugged into an outlet?
All 5 heaters in this roundup are hardwired units that do not include a standard power cord. They must be permanently wired into a dedicated electrical junction box following local electrical codes.
What is the difference between 5,000W and 10,000W garage heaters?
A 5,000 W heater produces 17,065 BTU and draws 20.83 A, suitable for spaces around 1,000 sq ft. A 10,000 W heater produces higher heat output but draws 42 A, requiring heavier 6 AWG copper wire and larger breaker capacity.
Are hardwired electric garage heaters safe to leave unattended?
The models reviewed feature built-in overheat protection sensors that automatically shut off the heating element if temperatures exceed safe limits. Choosing a UL listed model ensures independent safety verification. Never drape items over a heater or block airflow louvers.
How noisy is a fan-forced garage heater?
Fan-forced heaters use a blower motor to circulate air. In this comparison, CTSC specifies a sound level of no more than 58 dB, while InoKraft rates its fan at 65 dB.
Related: our guide to the best garage heater for a 2-car garage, our review of best LED garage lights, and the garage upgrades hub.




