Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Garage Storage Cabinets for 3 Car Garage (2026)

Five garage storage cabinets for a 3 car garage compared: steel and resin cabinets from 36 to 80.25 inches tall, with shelf capacities, locks and anti-tip features.

Best Garage Storage Cabinets for 3 Car Garage (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Greenvelly 72in CabinetBest OverallGreenvelly 72in Cabinet9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2BYNSOE 75in CabinetBest RollingBYNSOE 75in Cabinet9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3SUNCROWN 36in CabinetBest CompactSUNCROWN 36in Cabinet9.4/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Incbruce 72in CabinetBest Tall ValueIncbruce 72in Cabinet9.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Suncast BMC8000 CabinetBest ResinSuncast BMC8000 Cabinet9.4/10View on Amazon
  6. 6Akro-Mils 44-Drawer Plastic Storage CabinetAkro-Mils 44-Drawer Plastic Storage CabinetView on Amazon
  7. 7Sterilite 4 Shelf CabinetSterilite 4 Shelf CabinetView on Amazon
  8. 8Yizosh Metal Storage Cabinet with LockYizosh Metal Storage Cabinet with LockView on Amazon
  9. 9GAIOUS 75.2" Tall Metal Storage Cabinet with 2 Doors & 5GAIOUS 75.2" Tall Metal Storage Cabinet with 2 Doors & 5View on Amazon
  10. 10Yizosh Small Metal Garage Storage CabinetYizosh Small Metal Garage Storage CabinetView on Amazon

A three-car garage swallows tools, parts, paint and sports gear and still asks for more room. Without cabinets, every flat surface becomes a shelf and every shelf becomes a pile. A tall locking cabinet puts the mess behind doors and keeps the bays clear for cars, and in a garage this size there is wall to spare if you plan it. This guide to the best garage storage cabinets for 3 car garage compares five cabinets the listings pitch at exactly that job, ranked by what each listing states about size, capacity, locks and anti-tip features.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall Greenvelly 72in Cabinet: 72 inch steel cabinet with 180 lb capacity, 3-point locking and anti-tip wall holes. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Rolling BYNSOE 75in Cabinet: 75 inch steel cabinet on braked wheels with 180 lb per shelf and a locking door. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Compact SUNCROWN 36in Cabinet: 36 inch steel cabinet with 180 lb per shelf, 3-point locking and anti-tip holes. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Tall Value Incbruce 72in Cabinet: 72 inch metal cabinet with 4 shelves, 3-point locking and anti-tip wall holes. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Resin Suncast BMC8000 Cabinet: 80.25 inch resin cabinet, 31 cu ft, 75 lb per shelf, made in the USA. Check price on Amazon

The picks

Greenvelly 72" H Metal Storage Cabinet

Greenvelly 72" H Metal Storage Cabinet

Greenvelly9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 72 inch tall steel garage cabinet, 36 by 18 inches, with 4 adjustable shelves, 180 pound capacity, 3-point locking with 2 keys and anti-tip wall-mount holes.

Pros

  • 72 x 36 x 18 in with 4 adjustable shelves
  • 180 pound stated capacity
  • 3-point locking with 2 keys
  • Anti-tip wall-mount holes

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • Requires assembly
  • 83.5 lb before loading
  • Cold-rolled steel at 0.8mm is thin
BYNSOE Metal Garage Storage Cabinet with 4

BYNSOE Metal Garage Storage Cabinet with 4

BYNSOE9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 75 inch steel cabinet on four 360 degree wheels, 31.5 by 15.7 inches, with 4 adjustable shelves at 180 pounds per shelf, a locking door and anti-tipping design.

Pros

  • Four 360 degree wheels, two braked
  • 180 pounds per shelf stated
  • 75 inch tall with 4 adjustable shelves
  • Anti-tipping design stated

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • Single locking door, not double
  • Needs assembly with a screwdriver
  • 80 lb before loading
SUNCROWN Metal Storage Cabinets

SUNCROWN Metal Storage Cabinets

SUNCROWN9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact 36 inch steel cabinet, 32 by 16 inches, with 2 adjustable shelves at 180 pounds per shelf, 3-point locking with 2 keys and anti-tip wall holes.

Pros

  • 180 pounds per shelf stated
  • 3-point locking with 2 keys
  • Anti-tip wall-mount holes
  • Compact 36 x 32 x 16 in footprint

Cons

  • Bullets say white, color field says black
  • Table says aluminum, bullets say steel plates
  • No warranty term stated
  • Only 2 shelves
Incbruce 72” Metal Storage Cabinet

Incbruce 72” Metal Storage Cabinet

Incbruce9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 72 inch powder-coated metal cabinet, 32 by 16 inches, with 4 adjustable shelves, 3-point locking with 2 keys and anti-tip wall holes.

Pros

  • 72 x 32 x 16 in tall storage
  • 4 adjustable shelves
  • 3-point locking with 2 keys
  • Anti-tip wall-mount holes

Cons

  • No shelf capacity stated
  • No warranty term stated
  • No item weight stated
  • Requires assembly
Suncast 80.25" Mega Tall Storage Cabinet

Suncast 80.25" Mega Tall Storage Cabinet

Suncast9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 80.25 inch resin cabinet, 40 by 20.25 inches, with 31 cu ft of space, 3 adjustable reinforced shelves at 75 pounds each and padlockable doors, made in the USA.

Pros

  • 80.25 in tall with 31 cu ft
  • Resin resists dents, rust and rotting
  • 3 reinforced shelves at 75 lb each
  • Made in the USA

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • Depth field says 22.25 in vs 20.25 in dims
  • Padlock not included
  • Plastic body dents less but holds less

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Shop Score Size (H x W x D) Material Shelves Capacity Lock Anti-tip
Greenvelly 72in Cabinet 9.6/10 72 x 36 x 18 in Cold-rolled steel 4 adjustable 180 lb 3-point, 2 keys Wall-mount holes
BYNSOE 75in Cabinet 9.5/10 75 x 31.5 x 15.7 in Steel 4 adjustable 180 lb per shelf Locking door Anti-tipping, brake wheels
SUNCROWN 36in Cabinet 9.4/10 36 x 32 x 16 in Steel, 0.5mm 2 adjustable 180 lb per shelf 3-point, 2 keys Wall-mount holes
Incbruce 72in Cabinet 9.4/10 72 x 32 x 16 in Metal 4 adjustable Not stated 3-point, 2 keys Wall-mount holes
Suncast BMC8000 Cabinet 9.4/10 80.25 x 40 x 20.25 in Resin 3 adjustable 75 lb per shelf Padlockable Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

Each cabinet is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. Size and shelf capacity earn performance points; stated materials and coatings earn build; anti-tip features earn safety.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Greenvelly 72in Cabinet 9.6 30 21 20 4 0
BYNSOE 75in Cabinet 9.5 28 19 20 4 0
SUNCROWN 36in Cabinet 9.4 27 19 19 4 0
Incbruce 72in Cabinet 9.4 27 18 19 4 0
Suncast BMC8000 Cabinet 9.4 29 20 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

Five cabinets, from a compact 36 inch steel box to an 80.25 inch resin tower. Four are steel or metal with powder or painted coatings; the Suncast is multi-wall resin that the listing says resists dents, rust and rotting. Heights run from 36 to 80.25 inches, widths from 31.5 to 40 inches and depths from 15.7 to 20.25 inches. Shelf counts run from 2 to 4 adjustable shelves, with stated capacities of 180 pounds on three listings and 75 pounds per shelf on the Suncast; the Incbruce listing states no capacity. Four listings describe locking doors with keys, the Suncast takes a padlock, and four describe anti-tip wall mounting or wheels with brakes. None of the five states a warranty term.

The best garage storage cabinets for 3 car garage: buying guide

Size: measure the wall first

The listings here span 36 to 80.25 inches tall and 31.5 to 40 inches wide, at depths of 15.7 to 20.25 inches. A 72 inch cabinet fits under most garage ceilings with room to spare; the 80.25 inch Suncast needs a taller wall. In a three-car garage the parking bays come first, so measure the wall run and the door swing before ordering, and keep the depth in mind: a 20.25 inch cabinet eats more bay than a 15.7 inch one.

Steel or resin

Four cabinets here are steel or metal. The Greenvelly lists cold-rolled steel at 0.8mm with a waterproof and rust-resistant coating; the SUNCROWN lists 0.5mm steel plates with reinforced shelves; the Incbruce lists powder-coated metal. Steel takes heavy loads and locks solidly. The Suncast goes the other way: multi-wall resin panels that the listing says resist dents, rust and rotting, at 80 pounds for the whole 80.25 inch cabinet. Resin will not rust in a damp garage; steel holds more weight per shelf on the listings that state a figure.

Shelf capacity

Three listings state 180 pounds: the Greenvelly for the cabinet, the BYNSOE and SUNCROWN per shelf. The Suncast states 75 pounds per shelf across its 3 adjustable reinforced shelves. The Incbruce listing states no capacity at all, so plan conservatively with it. Match the capacity to the load: fluids and parts are heavy, and a cabinet that bows is a cabinet that tips.

Locks

The Greenvelly, SUNCROWN and Incbruce listings all describe a 3-point locking system with 2 keys. The BYNSOE lists a locking door. The Suncast is padlockable: you supply the padlock. A lock keeps kids and visitors out of chemicals and sharp tools, which is the real reason to lock a garage cabinet.

Anti-tip

Tall cabinets want anchoring. The Greenvelly, SUNCROWN and Incbruce listings all describe mounting holes at the back for fixing the cabinet to the wall. The BYNSOE lists an anti-tipping design and puts the cabinet on four 360 degree wheels, two with brakes, so it rolls when you want it to and stays when you do not. The Suncast is floor mount with a pedestal base. Use the wall holes where the listing provides them.

Wheels or fixed

Only the BYNSOE rolls: four 360 degree wheels, two braked. The rest are freestanding floor cabinets. Wheels help when the garage layout changes with the seasons; fixed cabinets hold heavier loads without wandering.

How many cabinets for a 3 car garage

One cabinet rarely finishes the job in a three-car garage. The listings here give you the building blocks: a tall 72 or 75 inch cabinet for chemicals and tall tools, a compact 36 inch cabinet for the workbench wall, and the 80.25 inch resin tower for bulky gear. Two cabinets on one wall run, anchored and locked, cover most garages without touching the bays. Start with the tall one, add the second when the first fills.

Assembly

Every listing here needs assembly. The Greenvelly ships with foam packaging, instructions and a video tutorial for 1 to 2 people; the BYNSOE needs only a screwdriver and warns not to tighten screws until assembly is complete; the SUNCROWN includes instructions and videos. Plan an afternoon and a clear bay.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Depths run 15.7 to 20.25 inches; check the parking clearance before placing a cabinet against the bay wall.
  • Heights run 36 to 80.25 inches; the 80.25 inch Suncast needs a tall, clear wall.
  • The Greenvelly, SUNCROWN and Incbruce list wall-mount holes; anchor tall cabinets before loading the shelves.
  • The BYNSOE rolls on four wheels with two brakes; lock the brakes once it is in place.
  • Stated shelf capacities run 75 to 180 pounds; the Incbruce states none, so load it lightly.

Frequently Asked Questions

How big a cabinet fits a 3 car garage?

The listings here run 36 to 80.25 inches tall, 31.5 to 40 inches wide and 15.7 to 20.25 inches deep. Measure the wall run and the parking clearance first; the bays come before the storage.

Steel or resin for a garage cabinet?

Steel on these listings holds more stated weight: 180 pounds on three of them. Resin, on the Suncast, resists dents, rust and rotting and weighs 80 pounds for an 80.25 inch cabinet. Pick steel for heavy loads, resin for damp garages.

How much weight can these shelves hold?

The Greenvelly lists 180 pounds, the BYNSOE and SUNCROWN list 180 pounds per shelf, and the Suncast lists 75 pounds per shelf. The Incbruce listing states no capacity.

Do these cabinets lock?

The Greenvelly, SUNCROWN and Incbruce list 3-point locking with 2 keys; the BYNSOE lists a locking door; the Suncast is padlockable with a lock you supply.

Do I need to anchor a tall cabinet to the wall?

The Greenvelly, SUNCROWN and Incbruce listings provide wall-mount holes for exactly that, and the BYNSOE lists an anti-tipping design with braked wheels. Anchor tall cabinets before loading them.

Related: the best garage storage cabinets for 2 car garage, the wire shelving vs garage cabinets comparison, the best garage shelving for heavy loads and our tool storage hub.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Tool Bag with Wheels (2026): 5 Picks

Five rolling tool bags for mechanics compared on stated load capacity, pockets, wheels, handles, water resistance and what each listing leaves out.