Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best OBD2 Scanner Under $50 (2026): 5 Picks by Function Depth

Five OBD2 code readers compared on screen, code library, live data, freeze frame, I/M readiness and warranty, for a home garage that wants answers from its own driveway.

Best OBD2 Scanner Under $50 (2026): 5 Picks by Function Depth
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1CGSULIT SC103Top PickCGSULIT SC1039.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2WEJOWE WJW519Runner-UpWEJOWE WJW5199.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Autel AL329Best I/M CheckAutel AL3299.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Autel MS309Simplest ReaderAutel MS3099.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Veepeak Mini Bluetooth OBD2 Scanner Code Reader for AndroidVeepeak Mini Bluetooth OBD2 Scanner Code Reader for AndroidView on Amazon
  6. 6OBD2 Scanner & WiFi Car Code ReaderOBD2 Scanner & WiFi Car Code ReaderView on Amazon
  7. 7NEXAS NexLINK Bluetooth OBD2 Scanner with Live Data for AllNEXAS NexLINK Bluetooth OBD2 Scanner with Live Data for AllView on Amazon
  8. 8BLCKTEC 410 Bluetooth OBD2 Scanner for iPhone & AndroidBLCKTEC 410 Bluetooth OBD2 Scanner for iPhone & AndroidView on Amazon
  9. 9ANCEL JP700 JOBD Scanner for Japanese CarsANCEL JP700 JOBD Scanner for Japanese CarsView on Amazon

The check engine light comes on the night before a road trip, and the garage suddenly has a question to answer. Guessing costs a tow, so plug in a code reader and know. This guide to the best obd2 scanner under 50 compares five code readers on what a home garage actually uses: code reading and clearing, freeze frame, live data, screen, I/M readiness and warranty.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Top Pick CGSULIT SC103: 2.8 inch color screen, graphical live data, all 5 OBD II protocols, 2 year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Runner-Up WEJOWE WJW519: 50,000 code library, battery voltage monitoring, PC printing, lifetime free upgrades. Check price on Amazon
  • Best I/M Check Autel AL329: One-click I/M readiness with LED and tone feedback, plus Auto VIN on pre-2017 vehicles. Check price on Amazon
  • Simplest Reader Autel MS309: Two buttons, 1 inch backlit screen, no batteries, plain code reading and clearing. Check price on Amazon

The picks

OBD2 Scanner, CGSULIT SC103 Car Code Reader

OBD2 Scanner, CGSULIT SC103 Car Code Reader

CGSULIT9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2.8 inch color TFT reader with graphical live data, all 5 OBD II protocols, a built-in code library and a stated 2 year warranty.

Pros

  • 2.8 inch color TFT screen with graphical live data display
  • States all 5 OBD II protocols, from CAN to ISO9141
  • Built-in DTC lookup library, no phone needed
  • Stated 2 year warranty with 24/7 customer support

Cons

  • No screen resolution or dimensions stated
  • No code count given for the built-in library
  • No stated certifications
  • No ABS, SRS or transmission coverage stated
Professional OBD2 Scanner Diagnostic Tool

Professional OBD2 Scanner Diagnostic Tool

WEJOWE9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2.8 inch reader with a 50,000 code lookup library, battery voltage monitoring, live data streaming and PC printing.

Pros

  • Built-in library of 50,000 diagnostic trouble codes
  • Battery voltage monitoring with a dedicated health readout
  • Live data stream with replay and PC printing
  • Lifetime free upgrades stated by the maker

Cons

  • Engine system only: no ABS, SRS or transmission stated
  • No weight or dimensions stated
  • No stated certifications
  • Printing needs a computer connection
Autel OBD2 Scanner AL329

Autel OBD2 Scanner AL329

Autel9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Autel's one-click I/M readiness reader with LED and tone feedback, Auto VIN, and graph, record and playback live data.

Pros

  • One-click I/M readiness with green, yellow and red LEDs and audible tones
  • Auto VIN retrieval on pre-2017 vehicles
  • Live data with graph, record and playback
  • Lifetime free online updates stated by Autel

Cons

  • No warranty term stated, so the warranty score is zero
  • Auto VIN works only on vehicles before 2017
  • Screen size not stated; resolution is 220 by 176
  • No code library count stated
Autel MS309 OBD2 Scanner Universal Car Engine

Autel MS309 OBD2 Scanner Universal Car Engine

Autel9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Autel's two-button reader for plain code reading and clearing, with a 1 inch backlit screen and no batteries needed.

Pros

  • Two buttons and a backlit screen: simple to operate
  • Powered by the car's OBD2 socket; no batteries
  • Compact at 2.74 by 0.8 by 4.34 inches and 8.8 ounces
  • 12 month warranty stated in the bullets

Cons

  • No live data stated
  • Not for FCA vehicles after 2017 with the SGW system
  • Does not support full engine system diagnostics, per the listing
  • Warranty term contradicts itself: 12 months in bullets, 45 days in the spec table
OBD2 Scanner Car Code Reader Support Voltage Test

OBD2 Scanner Car Code Reader Support Voltage Test

Xiauodo9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1.8 inch color reader with a 30,000+ code database, six shortcut buttons and a voltage monitor, with a 90 day warranty.

Pros

  • 30,000 or more fault codes in the database
  • Six buttons with dedicated I/M and DTC shortcut keys
  • Real-time voltage monitoring with a power indicator light
  • Impact-resistant, non-slip housing with a long flexible cable

Cons

  • The listing contradicts itself on truck coverage: several bullets claim trucks, others say trucks cannot be checked
  • Also contradicts itself on Japanese models: 2005 and newer only, versus most 1996 and newer US cars
  • 90 day warranty, the shortest stated here
  • 1.8 inch screen is smaller than the 2.8 inch screens above

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Shop Score Screen Code library Live data Freeze frame Warranty
CGSULIT SC103 9.6/10 2.8 in color TFT Built-in Graphical Stated 2 years
WEJOWE WJW519 9.6/10 2.8 in 50,000 codes Stated Stated 1 year
Autel AL329 9.6/10 220 x 176 Not stated Graph, record, playback Stated Not stated
Autel MS309 9.4/10 1 in backlit, 128 x 64 Not stated Not stated Stated 12 months
Xiauodo v600-01 9.4/10 1.8 in color 30,000+ codes Streaming Stated 90 days

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 20 October 2026. “Not stated” means the listing does not give the figure.

How we scored them

Each scanner is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. The AL329 is the only listing that states certifications, FCC, CE and RoHS, so it is the only pick with a safety score above zero; none of the five states a UL, ETL or CSA listing. Stated warranty terms run from 90 days to 2 years, and one listing states no term, so warranty scores spread widely.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
CGSULIT SC103 9.6 30 21 21 0 4
WEJOWE WJW519 9.6 32 21 21 0 3
Autel AL329 9.6 32 21 21 3 0
Autel MS309 9.4 26 19 21 0 3
Xiauodo v600-01 9.4 28 20 20 0 1

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

We compared the five listings. Two state a 2.8 inch screen, one a 1.8 inch color screen, one a 1 inch backlit screen, and one states a 220 by 176 resolution. Three state a code lookup library: 50,000 codes, 30,000 or more codes, and a built-in library with no count given. Four state live data, and all five state freeze frame and I/M readiness. One listing states no warranty term; the other four range from 90 days to 2 years. Two listings contradict themselves on vehicle coverage, and the reviews below call those out.

Buying guide: best obd2 scanner under 50

Reading and clearing is the baseline

Every reader here reads and clears diagnostic trouble codes and turns off the check engine light. Clearing a code does not fix the fault: if the problem remains, the light comes back. Use the reader to see the code, then decide whether the repair is a driveway job or a shop job.

Live data separates the field

Four of the five stream live data, which shows what sensors report while the engine runs. The SC103 draws it as text and graphs at the same time, and the AL329 graphs, records and plays it back. The MS309 does not state live data, so choose it only if plain code reading is enough. For more on choosing, see our how to choose an OBD2 scanner guide.

Screen and buttons

Bigger screens show more at once: the WEJOWE and SC103 state 2.8 inches, the Xiauodo 1.8 inches in color, and the MS309 a 1 inch backlit screen. The Xiauodo adds dedicated I/M and DTC shortcut keys, and the AL329 answers I/M readiness with one key press and LED feedback.

I/M readiness before inspection day

All five state I/M readiness, which reports whether the emission monitors have run since the last code clear. The AL329 makes it a one-button check with green, yellow and red LEDs plus audible tones. Run it before a state inspection so a not-ready monitor does not surprise you.

Warranty and support

Stated terms here are 2 years, 1 year, 12 months and 90 days, and the AL329 states none. A reader with no stated term can still clear codes fine, but it scores zero on warranty, which is why it sits third instead of higher.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Space: every pick is a handheld reader. The SC103 listing says it fits in a glovebox, the WEJOWE includes a canvas storage bag, and the Xiauodo and MS309 are stated at 5 ounces and 8.8 ounces.
  • Power: the MS309 and SC103 state no batteries are needed, drawing power from the OBD2 port; the WEJOWE includes a Type-C cable for its PC printing function.
  • Cable and screen: the Xiauodo lists a long, flexible cable. Screen sizes stated are 2.8 inches on the WEJOWE and SC103, 1.8 inches in color on the Xiauodo, and 1 inch backlit on the MS309.
  • Before the first job: confirm your vehicle is a 1996 or newer OBD II model with a 16-pin port, note the MS309 exclusion of post-2017 FCA vehicles with the Secure Gateway system, and check the Xiauodo coverage notes if you drive a truck.

Frequently Asked Questions

Will these scanners work on my car?

All five state compatibility with 1996 and newer OBD II vehicles, which covers US cars, light trucks and SUVs back to 1996. Note the exceptions: the MS309 states it cannot work with FCA vehicles (Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep and others) produced after 2017 because of the Secure Gateway system, and the Xiauodo bullets disagree about trucks, so confirm coverage for your own vehicle before ordering.

Can a scanner under $50 turn off the check engine light?

Yes. Every pick here reads and clears codes, which turns the light off. The light returns if the underlying fault is still there, so treat a returning light as the car asking for a repair, not another clear.

Can these check ABS, airbag or transmission systems?

Not per these listings. The WEJOWE states it covers the engine system only, and the others describe engine-code functions. For ABS and SRS coverage, see our best OBD2 scanner for ABS and SRS guide.

What is the one-click I/M readiness check?

On the AL329, one key press checks the state emission monitor status and reports it with green, yellow or red LEDs plus audible tones. Green means the monitors are ready; yellow or red means something needs attention before an inspection.

What does Auto VIN do on the AL329?

It reads the vehicle identification number, plus CALID and CVN, automatically to simplify code retrieval. The listing states it works on vehicles before 2017.

Related: our WiFi vs Bluetooth OBD2 scanner comparison, the best OBD2 scanner for check engine light guide, multimeter vs OBD2 scanner and OBD2 scanner types. Also see our bidirectional scan tool vs code reader, Bluetooth vs standalone OBD2 scanner and wired vs wireless OBD2 scanner. Also see our what do OBD2 codes mean.

More buying guides