Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Propane Heater for Garage Without Power (2026)

Five propane heaters for a garage without power, compared by BTU, indoor safety and warranty: indoor-safe models and outdoor-only tank tops.

Best Propane Heater for Garage Without Power (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Mr. Heater Big BuddyBest OverallMr. Heater Big Buddy9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Mr. Heater 20K Vent FreeBest Wall MountMr. Heater 20K Vent Free9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Dura Heat TT-360Best Tank TopDura Heat TT-3609.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4XtremepowerUS Tank TopMost HeatXtremepowerUS Tank Top9.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5SISUPASSIE 30000BTU Propane HeaterSISUPASSIE 30000BTU Propane HeaterView on Amazon
  6. 6BILT HARD 125BILT HARD 125View on Amazon
  7. 7BILT HARD 85BILT HARD 85View on Amazon
  8. 8SISUPASSIE 15000BTU Propane HeaterSISUPASSIE 15000BTU Propane HeaterView on Amazon
  9. 9Dual Power 15Dual Power 15View on Amazon

No power in the garage is no problem for propane: every heater here runs on gas, not electricity. The best propane heater for garage without power pairs real BTU output with indoor-safe design, because a garage is an enclosed space and three of these listings are outdoor-only. This roundup scores five propane heaters on BTU, indoor safety and warranty, with honest notes on which ones belong inside a garage at all.

Listings were collected 19 October 2026.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on our product pages, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall Mr. Heater Big Buddy: Indoor-safe portable heat at 18,000 BTU with ODS and a 3 year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Wall Mount Mr. Heater 20K Vent Free: A 20,000 BTU vent-free wall unit for 700 sq ft, indoor safe with ODS. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Tank Top Dura Heat TT-360: A 15,000 BTU tank-top heater with tip-over shut-off for outdoor use. Check price on Amazon
  • Most Heat XtremepowerUS Tank Top: Dual burners to 30,000 BTU on a 20 lb cylinder for large outdoor areas. Check price on Amazon

The picks

Mr. Heater 18,000 BTU Big Buddy Heater NF 4,000

Mr. Heater 18,000 BTU Big Buddy Heater NF 4,000

Mr. Heater9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 18,000 BTU indoor-safe portable heater with ODS and a 3 year warranty.

Pros

  • Indoor safe stated with ODS
  • 4,000 to 18,000 BTU, 3 settings
  • Tip-over protection stated
  • 3 year limited warranty stated

Cons

  • Spec table contradicts the title
  • No safety certification is stated
  • 13 lb plus cylinders to carry
  • 1 lb cylinders run out fast
Mr. Heater 20,000 BTU Vent Free Blue Flame Propane

Mr. Heater 20,000 BTU Vent Free Blue Flame Propane

Mr. Heater9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20,000 BTU wall-mount vent-free heater, indoor safe with ODS.

Pros

  • 20,000 BTU, the highest indoor rating
  • 700 sq ft stated coverage
  • Indoor safe with ODS stated
  • No electricity required

Cons

  • Wall mount only, not portable
  • Blower fan kit sold separately
  • No safety certification beyond ODS
  • 19.6 lb to mount
Dura Heat TT-360 Propane(LP)

Dura Heat TT-360 Propane(LP)

Dura Heat9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A tank-top heater to 15,000 BTU for outdoor and construction use.

Pros

  • 9,000 to 15,000 BTU, 3 settings
  • Tip-over shut-off stated
  • 5.5 lb, light on the tank
  • 1 year warranty stated

Cons

  • Outdoor use only
  • Bullets and spec disagree on coverage
  • Match light ignition
  • Tank sold separately
XtremepowerUS Propane Tank Top Heater

XtremepowerUS Propane Tank Top Heater

XtremepowerUS9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A dual-burner tank-top heater to 30,000 BTU with tip-over switch.

Pros

  • Up to 30,000 BTU stated
  • Dual burner infrared radiant
  • Tip-over switch stated
  • Rust-proof steel frame stated

Cons

  • Outdoor use only
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety certification beyond tip-over
  • Tank not included
2 in 1 Propane Heater & Stove

2 in 1 Propane Heater & Stove

MOZODAWN9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 13,000 BTU 2-in-1 heater and stove with ODS and tip-over switch.

Pros

  • 13,000 BTU heater plus stove
  • ODS and tip-over switch stated
  • 5 ft hose connector included
  • Portable handle stated

Cons

  • Outdoor use pitched
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 3.92 kg for heater plus tank
  • Single bullet of detail on coverage

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Verdict BTU Coverage Indoor safe Warranty
Mr. Heater Big Buddy Top pick 18,000 (title) 450 sq ft (bullets) Yes 3 year limited
Mr. Heater 20K Vent Free Best wall mount 20,000 700 sq ft Yes 1 year limited
Dura Heat TT-360 Outdoor only 15,000 max 1,000 sq ft (bullets) No 1 year
XtremepowerUS Tank Top Outdoor only 30,000 750 sq ft No Not stated
MOZODAWN 2-in-1 Heater + stove 13,000 Not stated No Not stated

How we scored them

Each heater is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what the listing publishes. The weights are on our How We Pick page.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Mr. Heater Big Buddy 9.6 28 25 24 0 3
Mr. Heater 20K Vent Free 9.6 30 25 24 0 2
Dura Heat TT-360 9.5 24 22 24 0 2
XtremepowerUS Tank Top 9.5 26 22 22 0 0
MOZODAWN 2-in-1 9.4 24 21 22 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

Indoor safety is the dividing line. The two Mr. Heater models are the indoor-safe picks: the Big Buddy states indoor and outdoor use with an automatic low-oxygen shut-off (ODS) and tip-over protection, and the 20,000 BTU vent-free model states indoor safe with ODS and no electricity required. The other three are outdoor-only: the Dura Heat states outdoor and construction use only, the XtremepowerUS says never operate in enclosed or poorly ventilated spaces, and the MOZODAWN is pitched at camping, tents and patios. Running an outdoor-only heater in a closed garage is a carbon monoxide risk; buy one of the indoor-rated Mr. Heaters for enclosed use.

Two listings contradict themselves. The Big Buddy title says 18,000 BTU and 450 sq ft, but its spec table says 3,800 BTU and 95 sq ft; trust the title and bullets, and treat the spec table as erroneous. The Dura Heat bullets say up to 1,000 sq ft while its spec table says up to 300 sq ft. Warranties: 3 year limited on the Big Buddy, 1 year limited on the vent-free and the Dura Heat, none stated on the XtremepowerUS or MOZODAWN.

Buying guide: best propane heater for garage without power

Match BTU to the space. The vent-free Mr. Heater states 20,000 BTU for up to 700 sq ft; the Big Buddy states 4,000, 9,000 or 18,000 BTU across 3 settings for about 450 sq ft; the tank tops run 9,000 to 30,000 BTU for outdoor areas. Ignition is piezo or battery electronic on the indoor models and match light on the Dura Heat. The Big Buddy runs on 1 lb cylinders at 13 lb portable; the tank tops mount on 20 lb cylinders. For a garage with no power, the indoor-safe Mr. Heaters are the only honest picks; the outdoor models suit the driveway, not the interior.

Heater safety

Never run a fuel-burning heater, generator or engine in a closed garage: carbon monoxide builds up fast and has no smell. Fit a CO alarm, keep clearances to cars and storage, use vented gas heaters installed to code, and put 240V electric heaters on a dedicated circuit. See CPSC carbon monoxide guidance. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

BTU and coverage side by side

The BTU spread runs from 13,000 to 30,000. The MOZODAWN is 13,000 BTU, the Dura Heat runs 9,000, 13,000 or 15,000 BTU across its settings, the Big Buddy lists 18,000 BTU in its title (though its spec table says 3,800), the Mr. Heater 20K is 20,000 BTU, and the XtremepowerUS runs 15,000 or 30,000 BTU on its dual burners. Stated coverage does not track BTU cleanly: the Dura Heat claims 1,000 sq ft at 15,000 BTU while the Big Buddy claims 450 sq ft at 18,000 BTU, the 20K claims 700 sq ft at 20,000 BTU, and the XtremepowerUS claims 750 sq ft at 30,000 BTU. Treat coverage figures as marketing rather than physics; the BTU number is the harder figure. For an uninsulated garage, the 20,000 to 30,000 BTU end of this set is where the real heat is.

Mounting and placement

Placement splits the set. The Mr. Heater 20K is a wall-mount unit at 19.6 pounds: it hangs on the wall and stays there, which keeps floor space clear for the car. The Dura Heat and XtremepowerUS are tank-top heaters that screw onto a 20 lb cylinder, so the whole heater moves with the tank and needs no mounting at all. The Big Buddy is a portable floor unit at 13 pounds with a handle, easy to carry from the garage to the patio. The MOZODAWN is the lightest at 3.92 kg, a 2-in-1 heater and stove pitched at camping, tents and patios rather than the garage. For a garage without power, the wall-mount 20K is the set-and-forget answer; the tank-top units are the flexible answer when the heat needs to move.

Ignition and settings

The Dura Heat lights with a match, the simplest ignition here and one less part to fail. Its three BTU settings, 9,000, 13,000 and 15,000, let you match output to the weather. The XtremepowerUS runs single or dual burners for 15,000 or 30,000 BTU, the widest output range in the set. The Big Buddy and the 20K list ODS (oxygen depletion sensor) shut-off, and the Big Buddy, XtremepowerUS, Dura Heat and MOZODAWN all list tip-over shut-off. More settings mean finer control over fuel use: a 20 lb cylinder lasts longer when the heater can run at half output on a mild day.

Weight and what it tells you

Weight tracks the form factor. The MOZODAWN is 3.92 kg, a carry-anywhere unit. The Dura Heat is 5.5 pounds, light because the tank is the stand. The Big Buddy is 13 pounds, a portable unit with its own housing. The 20K is 19.6 pounds, the heaviest here, because it is a wall-mount cabinet heater. Heavier is not better or worse; it just tells you which units are meant to move and which are meant to stay put. For a garage heater that never leaves the wall, 19.6 pounds is irrelevant. For one that rides in the truck to the cabin, it matters.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I run a propane heater in a garage with no power?

Yes, propane heaters need no electricity. But only indoor-rated models belong in an enclosed garage: the two Mr. Heaters here state indoor safe with low-oxygen shut-off. The tank-top models state outdoor use only.

What is the difference between the two Mr. Heaters?

The Big Buddy is portable at 13 lb with 4,000 to 18,000 BTU across 3 settings and a 3 year limited warranty. The 20,000 BTU vent-free model is a wall-mount unit for up to 700 sq ft with a 1 year limited warranty. Both state ODS and indoor safety.

Why do the listings contradict themselves?

The Big Buddy spec table says 3,800 BTU and 95 sq ft against a title of 18,000 BTU and 450 sq ft; the Dura Heat spec table says 300 sq ft against bullets of 1,000 sq ft. Trust the title and bullets, and check the warranty: the Big Buddy states 3 years.

Can I use a tank-top heater in the garage?

The listings say no. The Dura Heat states outdoor and construction use only; the XtremepowerUS says never operate in enclosed spaces. Use them on the driveway or job site, not inside.

Do any of these need electricity?

No. All five run on propane. The vent-free Mr. Heater uses a battery for electronic ignition; the Dura Heat is match light. No outlet is needed for any of them.

Related: the best garage heaters for a 2-car garage and our garage upgrades hub.

More buying guides