Best Stick Welder (2026): 5 Compared
Five inverter stick welders from 160 to 250A compared on amperage, voltage, rod size, weight and stated protections, ranked by Shop Score.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Best OverallHONE MMA2059.7/10View on Amazon - 2
Best ValueHpoouo ARC-2009.6/10View on Amazon - 3
With TIG TorchYESWELDER ARC-205DS9.7/10View on Amazon - 4
Highest AmpsSOARFLY MMA-2509.5/10View on Amazon - 5
ETL ListedDEKOPRO 160A9.6/10View on Amazon - 6
ARCCAPTAIN 220A Stick WelderView on Amazon - 7
Lincoln Electric Weld-Pak 225i Stick WelderView on Amazon - 8
YESWELDER 135A MIG WelderView on Amazon - 9
YESWELDER 205Amp Stick Welder Digital Inverter IGBT ARCView on Amazon - 10
HONE Stick WelderView on Amazon
A stick welder is the simplest way into arc welding: no gas bottle, no wire spool, just the machine, an electrode holder and a rod. The best stick welder for a home shop balances amperage, voltage options and what comes in the box. This guide compares five inverter stick welders on amps, voltage, rod size, weight and stated protections, ranked by Shop Score.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall HONE MMA205: 205A with 20-205A range, lift TIG mode, VRD and 25 rods in the box. Check price on Amazon
- Best Value Hpoouo ARC-200: 200A mini welder at 3.7 lb with 20 rods, chip hammers and gloves included. Check price on Amazon
- With TIG Torch YESWELDER ARC-205DS: 205A dual voltage with lift TIG torch, 10 ft leads and large LED display. Check price on Amazon
- Highest Amps SOARFLY MMA-250: 250A dual voltage with large LED display and 10 rods in the box. Check price on Amazon
- ETL Listed DEKOPRO 160A: 160A dual voltage with ETL listing, hot start and anti-stick. Check price on Amazon
The picks

HONE Stick Welder 110v, Upgraded 205Amp Mini
A 205A 110V inverter stick welder with a 20 to 205A range, lift TIG mode, VRD and 25 rods in the box.
Pros
- 205A with 20-205A adjustable range
- Lift TIG mode (torch not included)
- VRD plus over-voltage, over-current, over-heat and overload protection
- 25 rods, brush, hammer, gloves and face shields included
Cons
- 110V only, no dual voltage
- TIG torch not included
- Weight given as 4.4 lb in text and 9.17 lb in table
- No warranty term stated

YESWELDER 205Amp Stick Welder ARC Welding Machine
A 205A dual-voltage stick welder with the lift TIG torch, 10 ft leads and a large LED display included.
Pros
- 205A, 110/220V dual voltage
- Lift TIG torch included
- 10 ft electrode holder and ground clamp
- Large LED display, 220V-to-110V adapter included
Cons
- Weight given as 8.4 lb in text and 15 lb in table
- No rod diameter stated
- No warranty term stated
- No stated rod count in the box

Hpoouo 200Amp 20PCS Rods Stick Welder
A 200A 110V mini stick welder at 3.7 lb with 20 rods, chip hammers and gloves in the box.
Pros
- 200A with 20-200A range
- 3.7 lb, the lightest here
- 20 rods, 2 chip hammers and gloves included
- Over-voltage, over-current, over-heat and overload protection
Cons
- 110V only, no dual voltage
- No lift TIG mode
- Weight given as 3.7 lb in text and 7.85 lb in table
- No warranty term stated

DEKOPRO 110/220V MMA Welder,160A ARC Welder
A 160A 110/220V stick welder with ETL listing, hot start and anti-stick at 11.11 lb.
Pros
- ETL listed
- 110/220V dual voltage
- Hot start, anti-stick, arc stability
- Electrode holder, clamp, adapter cable and brush included
Cons
- 160A, the lowest amperage here
- 11.11 lb, the heaviest stated unit weight
- No rod size stated
- No warranty term stated

SOARFLY Stick Welder, 110V/220V Dual Voltage
A 250A dual-voltage stick welder with a large LED display and 10 rods in the box.
Pros
- 250A, the highest amperage here
- 110/220V dual voltage
- Large LED display
- Supports E6010, E6013, E7018, E308-16
Cons
- No protection features stated
- No warranty term stated
- 220V use needs an adapter (not included)
- Only 10 rods in the box
More options to compare
ARCCAPTAIN 220A Stick WelderCheck price on Amazon
Lincoln Electric Weld-Pak 225i Stick WelderCheck price on Amazon
YESWELDER 135A MIG WelderCheck price on Amazon
YESWELDER 205Amp Stick Welder Digital Inverter IGBT ARCCheck price on Amazon
HONE Stick WelderCheck price on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Model | Shop Score | Amps | Voltage | Rod size | Weight | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HONE MMA205 | 9.7/10 | 205A | 110V | 1/16-1/8 in | 4.4 lb | Not stated |
| YESWELDER ARC-205DS | 9.7/10 | 205A | 110/220V | Not stated | 8.4 lb | Not stated |
| Hpoouo ARC-200 | 9.6/10 | 200A | 110V | 1/16-1/8 in | 3.7 lb | Not stated |
| DEKOPRO 160A | 9.6/10 | 160A | 110/220V | Not stated | 11.11 lb | Not stated |
| SOARFLY MMA-250 | 9.5/10 | 250A | 110/220V | 2.5-3.2 mm | 3.7 kg | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 20 October 2026. “Not stated” means the listing does not give the figure.
How we scored them
Each welder is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty. The DEKOPRO earns safety points for its ETL listing, and the Hpoouo, HONE and YESWELDER for their stated protection features; the SOARFLY states no protection features and scores zero there. No listing states a warranty term, so every welder scores zero on warranty.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HONE MMA205 | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 22 | 8 | 0 |
| YESWELDER ARC-205DS | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 22 | 7 | 0 |
| Hpoouo ARC-200 | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 22 | 7 | 0 |
| DEKOPRO 160A | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
| SOARFLY MMA-250 | 9.5 | 33 | 20 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you
We read five inverter stick welder listings, all IGBT machines. Amperage runs 160 to 250A; two are 110V only and three are dual 110/220V. Two list a lift TIG mode, one with the torch in the box. Rod sizes are stated as 1/16 to 1/8 in on two listings and 2.5 to 3.2mm on one. Three listings state protection features and one states an ETL listing. None states a warranty term. Three listings give different weights in the text and the spec table.
Buying guide: best stick welder
Amperage and thickness
Amperage sets how thick you can weld: 160A on the DEKOPRO, 200A on the Hpoouo for 0.06 to 0.2-inch metal, 205A on the HONE for 0.05 to 0.22-inch workpieces and on the YESWELDER, and 250A on the SOARFLY. All five are inverter machines with hot start and anti-stick stated; the Hpoouo, HONE and SOARFLY also state arc force. For sheet metal and repair work the 200A class is plenty; the 250A SOARFLY is the pick for the thickest stated capacity.
Voltage: 110V vs dual
The Hpoouo and HONE are 110V only, which suits household outlets. The DEKOPRO, SOARFLY and YESWELDER are dual 110/220V for household or jobsite power. Note the fine print: the YESWELDER includes a 220V-to-110V adapter, while the SOARFLY notes that 220V use requires an adapter that is not included.
Rod sizes
The Hpoouo and HONE state 1/16 to 1/8 in rods (E6013, E6011, E6010, E7018, E308), and the SOARFLY states 2.5 to 3.2mm (E6010, E6013, E7018, E308-16). The DEKOPRO and YESWELDER state no rod diameter. The Hpoouo includes 20 rods, the HONE 25 and the SOARFLY 10, so the HONE gets you welding longest before a restock.
Lift TIG bonus
Two listings add a second process: the HONE lists a lift TIG mode but notes the torch is not included, while the YESWELDER includes the lift TIG torch with 10 ft leads. If TIG interests you, the YESWELDER is the complete package; the HONE needs the torch bought separately.
Protections and listings
The DEKOPRO states an ETL certificate, the only third-party listing here. The Hpoouo states over-voltage, over-current, over-heat and overload protection; the HONE adds VRD to the same set; the YESWELDER states over-current, overload and temperature control. The SOARFLY states no protection features. None of the five states a warranty term.
Weight and portability
Stated carry weights run 3.7 lb on the Hpoouo, 4.4 lb on the HONE, around 3.7 kg on the SOARFLY, 8.4 lb on the YESWELDER and 11.11 lb on the DEKOPRO. Watch the fine print: the Hpoouo, HONE and YESWELDER tables list higher weights (7.85, 9.17 and 15 lb) than their bullet text, so treat the exact figure as approximate.
Text vs table: watch the weights
Three listings state one weight in the bullets and another in the spec table: the Hpoouo at 3.7 lb in text against 7.85 lb in the table, the HONE at 4.4 lb against 9.17 lb, and the YESWELDER at 8.4 lb against 15 lb. The text figures are the carry weights the listings advertise; the table figures look like package weights. Either way, treat the exact number as approximate and expect the box to weigh more than the unit.
Kit contents
The HONE leads on extras: 25 rods, steel wire brush, chipping hammer, leather gloves and face shields. The Hpoouo includes 20 rods, 2 chip hammers and gloves. The YESWELDER includes the TIG torch, 10 ft leads and the voltage adapter. The DEKOPRO includes holder, clamp, adapter cable and brush; the SOARFLY includes 10 rods.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Displays and arc-assist features
Displays stated
The DEKOPRO states a digital display LCD. The SOARFLY states a large LED display for real-time monitoring of current and welding mode. The YESWELDER states a large LED display with a value knob for adjustment. The Hpoouo and HONE state no display. For reading settings without removing the helmet, the SOARFLY and YESWELDER state LED displays; the DEKOPRO states an LCD.
Hot start, arc force, anti-stick
The Hpoouo states hot start, arc force and anti-stick. The HONE states hot start, arc force and anti-stick plus a VRD function. The SOARFLY states hot start, arc force and anti-stick. The YESWELDER states adjustable hot start and arc force. The DEKOPRO states built-in anti-stick and hot start with excellent arc stability. For beginners, these stated arc-assist functions ease ignition and reduce sticking; the HONE adds a stated VRD function for user safety.
Protections stated
The Hpoouo states built-in over-voltage, over-current, over-heating and overload protection with a high-power fan. The HONE states over-voltage, over-current, over-heat and over-load protection with a high-power cooling fan. The YESWELDER states over current protection, over load protection and temperature control. The DEKOPRO states an ETL certificate for added safety. The SOARFLY states no protection figure. For stated safety coverage, the Hpoouo and HONE name the most protections.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do you need gas for a stick welder?
No. Stick welding uses flux-coated rods that shield the weld themselves, so there is no gas bottle. None of the five listings includes or requires gas.
What size breaker does a stick welder need?
None of the listings states a breaker size. Follow the manual for the model you buy and run it on a dedicated circuit.
Which welders run on 110V?
The Hpoouo and HONE are 110V only. The DEKOPRO, SOARFLY and YESWELDER are dual 110/220V.
Which includes a TIG torch?
The YESWELDER includes the lift TIG torch. The HONE lists lift TIG mode but the torch is not included.
Which is the lightest?
The Hpoouo at a stated 3.7 lb, then the HONE at 4.4 lb.
Which has the highest amperage?
The SOARFLY at a stated 250A.
Related: the best 110V portable stick welder, the best stick welder for farm use, the best air die grinder for weld cleanup and our engine and shop equipment hub.



