Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Tabletop Heat Gun: 5 Small Guns Compared

Small heat guns for shrink tubing, crafts and electronics bench work, compared by power, temperature, control, nozzles and tabletop use.

Best Tabletop Heat Gun: 5 Small Guns Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1YIHUA 8858-IVTop pickYIHUA 8858-IV9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Master EC-MINIBest airflowMaster EC-MINI9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3SEEKONE HG350Dual temperature pickSEEKONE HG3509.4/10View on Amazon
  4. 4CRAFTSMAN CMCE530BBest cordlessCRAFTSMAN CMCE530B9.4/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Fanttik H3 Master 70W Max Cordless Heat Gun for 3D Printing &Fanttik H3 Master 70W Max Cordless Heat Gun for 3D Printing &View on Amazon
  6. 6Wagner Spraytech HT1000 Dual-Temperature Heat GunWagner Spraytech HT1000 Dual-Temperature Heat GunView on Amazon
  7. 76.56FT Long Heat Gun6.56FT Long Heat GunView on Amazon
  8. 8BLACK+DECKER Heat Gun for CraftsBLACK+DECKER Heat Gun for CraftsView on Amazon
  9. 9ROMECH Heat GunROMECH Heat GunView on Amazon

Shrink tubing on a wiring job needs steady, focused heat, and a full-size heat gun is more tool than the bench calls for. A small gun that stands on the tabletop, aims a narrow stream of hot air and stays out of the way between passes is the right shape for that job. This best tabletop heat gun roundup compares small guns by power, temperature, control and tabletop use, using only what each listing states.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Top pick YIHUA 8858-IV: 700 watts, 212°F to 932°F range, adjustable air volume and 3 nozzles. Check price on Amazon
  • Best airflow Master EC-MINI: 9.9 CFM airflow with 350 watts and a heat shrink reflector included. Check price on Amazon
  • Dual temperature pick SEEKONE HG350: 500°F and 842°F settings, overheat protection and a retractable bracket for tabletop use. Check price on Amazon
  • Best cordless CRAFTSMAN CMCE530B: Up to 950 degrees with 7 seconds to operational temperature, no cord. Check price on Amazon

Picks for the garage

YIHUA 8858 IV Multi-Purpose Heat Gun for Crafting

YIHUA 8858 IV Multi-Purpose Heat Gun for Crafting

YIHUA9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 700 watts heat gun with adjustable temperature and air volume, a standby mode and 3 nozzles, for crafting, electronics soldering, shrink tubing and epoxy resin work.

Pros

  • 700 watts with temperature adjustable from 212°F to 932°F in the bullets
  • Air volume adjustable from large to small for smaller objects
  • 3 nozzles with different diameters included
  • Standby mode cools to 212°F and turns off temporarily when the activation button is pressed

Cons

  • Spec table states 392°F to 842°F, against 212°F to 932°F in the bullets
  • No stand or bracket for tabletop use stated
  • No preset temperature settings are listed in the listing
  • No reflector nozzle named in the listing, unlike the SEEKONE and Master examples
Master Appliance EC-MINI Heat Gun for Crafts

Master Appliance EC-MINI Heat Gun for Crafts

Master Appliance9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 350 watts mini heat gun with 9.9 CFM airflow, a 640°F temperature, a pen-like hold and a heat shrink reflector included.

Pros

  • 9.9 CFM airflow paired with 350 watts of power
  • Reaches 640°F quickly, per the listing
  • Heat shrink reflector included for wire connectors and heat shrink tubing
  • Built-in wire stand for setting the gun down between uses

Cons

  • No adjustable temperature stated
  • No warranty term stated in the listing
  • Item weight of 15 ounces, heavier than the SEEKONE and QYQRQF examples
  • No temperature range is given, only the single 640°F figure
SEEKONE 350W Mini Heat Gun with 2-Temp Settings

SEEKONE 350W Mini Heat Gun with 2-Temp Settings

SEEKONE9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 350 watts mini heat gun with dual temperature settings, overheat protection, a reflector nozzle and a retractable bracket for tabletop use.

Pros

  • Dual temperature mode: 500°F and 842°F
  • Overheat protection cuts current automatically when overheated, per the listing
  • Retractable bracket lets the gun stand on the table
  • Pencil-like design and 13.4 ounces for tight areas

Cons

  • Single reflector nozzle included, with no extra nozzles stated
  • Only the pink color is stated in the listing
  • No adjustable air volume stated
  • Corded AC power only, with no battery option stated
CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Heat Gun

CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Heat Gun

CRAFTSMAN9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A cordless heat gun with a 950 degrees Fahrenheit maximum temperature, up to 15 minutes of runtime per charge and a compact design for tight spaces.

Pros

  • Up to 950 degrees Fahrenheit maximum temperature, the highest maximum stated here
  • Reaches operational temperature in 7 seconds, per the listing
  • Cordless design with no cord across the bench
  • Flat spreader nozzle and curved deflector nozzle included

Cons

  • Battery and charger sold separately; the listing is tool only
  • Runtime limited to up to 15 minutes per charge
  • No stand or bracket for tabletop use stated
  • No wattage stated in the listing
Heat Gun, Mini Hot Air Gun for DIY Crafts Portable

Heat Gun, Mini Hot Air Gun for DIY Crafts Portable

QYQRQF9.3/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 300 watts mini heat gun with a fixed temperature of about 392°F, a built-in stand for tabletop use and an ergonomic non-slip handle.

Pros

  • Built-in stand for self-support and tabletop use
  • Lightest item weight stated here at 9.6 ounces
  • Simple operation: press the button to open it, per the listing
  • Stainless steel inside and ABS plastic outside, with heat vents at the tail

Cons

  • Temperature cannot be adjusted, reaching about 392°F
  • Listing says do not use more than 10 minutes in one time
  • No warranty term stated in the listing
  • No extra nozzle stated beyond the gun itself

Other tools worth a look

Compare the picks: best tabletop heat gun

Model Shop Score Power Temperature Control Stand Warranty
YIHUA 8858-IV 9.6/10 700 watts 212°F to 932°F in bullets; spec table 392°F to 842°F Adjustable temperature and air volume Not stated 12-month manufacturer technical coverage
Master EC-MINI 9.5/10 350 watts 640°F Not stated Built-in wire stand Not stated
SEEKONE HG350 9.4/10 350 watts 500°F and 842°F Dual temperature mode Retractable bracket Not stated
CRAFTSMAN CMCE530B 9.4/10 Battery, watts not stated Up to 950°F Not stated Not stated Not stated
QYQRQF Mini Heat Gun 9.3/10 300 watts About 392°F Not adjustable Built-in stand Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 28 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.

How the points were given

Each gun is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on the How We Pick page. None states a UL, ETL or CSA listing, so all score zero on safety, and only the YIHUA example states a coverage term.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
YIHUA 8858-IV 9.6 32 21 21 0 2
Master EC-MINI 9.5 30 21 20 0 0
SEEKONE HG350 9.4 29 20 20 0 0
CRAFTSMAN CMCE530B 9.4 28 20 16 0 0
QYQRQF Mini Heat Gun 9.3 24 18 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

Five listings were reviewed. Three state a stand or bracket for tabletop use, one is cordless, and one states adjustable air volume. Two state a reflector nozzle, and two give no temperature range at all, only a single temperature figure. The widest temperature range in the bullets belongs to the YIHUA example, while the highest single maximum belongs to the cordless CRAFTSMAN example. That spread is the point of the roundup: small guns are not one tool with one job, and the right pick depends on whether the work needs a wide range, a fixed gentle heat, or no cord at all.

Buying guide: a first tabletop heat gun

Power and temperature

Power in this roundup runs from 300 watts to 700 watts, and temperature from about 392°F on the fixed QYQRQF example to 932°F at the top of the YIHUA bullets range. A higher maximum does not help a delicate job; the listing for the QYQRQF example advises a 5-6cm distance and about a 45 degree angle, which shows how a gentle, fixed heat is meant to be used. Match the temperature to the material, not to the biggest number on the page.

Control

Control is where these listings differ most. The YIHUA example states adjustable temperature and adjustable air volume, with technology that compensates for temperature differences in milliseconds. The SEEKONE example states a dual temperature mode instead of a dial, and the QYQRQF example states no adjustment at all. A dial suits varied work, a dual mode suits two repeated jobs, and a fixed gun suits a single gentle task done often.

Nozzles and airflow

Nozzles shape the stream. The YIHUA example states 3 nozzles with different diameters, the SEEKONE and Master examples each state a reflector nozzle, and the CRAFTSMAN example states a flat spreader nozzle and a curved deflector nozzle. The Master example also states 9.9 CFM airflow, the only airflow figure stated in the roundup. A reflector suits shrink tubing and wire connectors, while a spreader suits a wider area.

Corded or cordless

Four examples are corded, with 110 volts or 120 volts stated, and one is cordless. The CRAFTSMAN example states up to 15 minutes of runtime per charge, with battery and charger sold separately, and a 7 seconds heat-up to operational temperature. A cordless gun removes the cord from the bench, but the runtime figure sets a clear limit on long sessions. Corded guns have no runtime limit stated, and no battery to charge.

Tabletop use and safety

A tabletop gun earns its name by standing on the bench. The SEEKONE example states a retractable bracket, the QYQRQF example states a built-in stand, and the Master example states a built-in wire stand for setting the gun down between uses. The YIHUA and CRAFTSMAN examples state no stand or bracket. For safety features, the SEEKONE example states overheat protection and a nozzle safety shield, and the QYQRQF example states heat vents at the tail for heat dissipation. Keep the nozzle away from skin and from materials that should not be heated, and let a hot gun cool on its stand.

Heater safety

Never run a fuel-burning heater, generator or engine in a closed garage: carbon monoxide builds up fast and has no smell. Fit a CO alarm, keep clearances to cars and storage, use vented gas heaters installed to code, and put 240V electric heaters on a dedicated circuit. See CPSC carbon monoxide guidance. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Bench space: pick a gun with a stand or bracket stated, such as the SEEKONE bracket, the QYQRQF stand or the Master wire stand.
  • Power: corded examples state 110 volts or 120 volts, while the CRAFTSMAN example is battery powered with battery and charger sold separately.
  • Nozzles: the YIHUA example states 3 nozzles, and the SEEKONE and Master examples state a reflector nozzle included.
  • Use limit: the QYQRQF listing says do not use it more than 10 minutes in one time, so plan pauses for longer work.

FAQ: garage tools

Which tabletop heat gun suits shrink tubing?

Several suit it, for different reasons. The YIHUA example states adjustable temperature and air volume with 3 nozzles, the Master example states a heat shrink reflector for wire connectors and heat shrink tubing, and the SEEKONE example states a dual temperature mode with a reflector nozzle. Pick the YIHUA example for varied tubing sizes, and the Master example for wire work with a reflector.

Is adjustable temperature needed?

It depends on the work. The YIHUA example adjusts temperature and air volume, the SEEKONE example offers 500°F and 842°F settings, and the Master example reaches 640°F with no adjustment stated. The QYQRQF example cannot be adjusted and reaches about 392°F. A single gentle task suits a fixed gun, while varied materials suit an adjustable one.

Can a mini heat gun stand on the table?

Three examples state a way to stand: the SEEKONE example has a retractable bracket, the QYQRQF example has a built-in stand, and the Master example has a built-in wire stand. The YIHUA and CRAFTSMAN examples state no stand or bracket, so a gun without one needs a safe resting place while it cools.

Corded or cordless for bench work?

Corded examples state 110 volts or 120 volts and no runtime limit, which suits long bench sessions. The CRAFTSMAN example is cordless, states up to 15 minutes of runtime per charge, and states that battery and charger are sold separately. Cordless suits short jobs away from an outlet, while corded suits steady bench work.

Why does the YIHUA listing show two temperature ranges?

The bullets state 212°F to 932°F, while the spec table states 392°F to 842°F. The bullets win on that point, so the wider range is used in this roundup, with the spec table range shown alongside it. The YIHUA example also states a standby mode that cools to 212°F and turns off temporarily when the activation button is pressed.

Related: the best corded heat gun, the best cordless heat gun, the best heat gun for paint stripping and the cordless tools hub.

More buying guides