Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Bi-Metal vs Carbide Hole Saw: Which One Should You Buy?

Bi-metal and carbon steel hole saw kits compared by stated sizes, materials and the jobs each one suits, with no carbide listing in the data.

Bi-Metal vs Carbide Hole Saw: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Cutting a round hole for a cable pass-through in a plywood workbench is a quick job with the right saw and a tooth-dulling chore with the wrong one. That is the whole question behind bi-metal vs carbide hole saw: which tooth material matches the material you are cutting. Buy bi-metal when the job includes mild steel, aluminum or thin metals except stainless steel, and carbon steel only when every cut is in soft material. No carbide listing is in the data for this guide, so the comparison below uses the bi-metal and carbon steel kits the listings state.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on our product pages, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Below: where the tooth materials differ, what each listing states, the gear in this guide ranked by stated specs, and a checklist before the first cut.

Bi-metal vs carbide hole saw: where the difference comes from

The listings draw the line by tooth material. The VIKITON saw is bi-metal construction with high-speed steel teeth and a flexible steel body, and the Amazon Basics kit is HSS-M3 bi-metal steel with a powder-coated finish. The two KATA kits are heat-treated carbon steel with a black coating. That tooth material shapes what each saw is listed to cut: the bi-metal listings name mild steel, aluminum and thin metals except stainless steel, plus plastic, while the 8-piece carbon steel kit rules out metal entirely and the 25-piece carbon steel kit rules out thick metal only. Carbide does not appear in any listing in the data for this guide, so no carbide spec is compared here. For carbide picks, see our best hole saw carbide guide.

What bi-metal cuts, by the listings

The Amazon Basics 9-piece kit is listed for cutting mild steel, aluminum, plastic and plasterboard, and the VIKITON 4 inch saw is listed for wood, plastic, drywall and thin metals, excluding stainless steel. Both are bi-metal, and both ship with arbors: the Amazon Basics kit includes a 1/4 inch hex arbor with a 75mm pilot drill to connect 14-30mm hole saws and a 7/16 inch hex arbor with a 75mm pilot drill to connect 32-152mm hole saws, plus a hex key and a durable carrying case. The VIKITON package includes 1 pc 4 inch hole saw, 1 pc arbor with drill bit, 1 pc pilot drill bit as a replacement and 1 pc hex key.

The size ranges differ. The Amazon Basics kit includes 6 hole saws in sizes 25/32 inch (20mm), 1 inch (25mm), 1-3/8 inch (35mm), 1-9/16 inch (40mm), 2 inch (51mm) and 2-11/16 inch (68mm). The VIKITON saw is a single 4 inch (102mm) saw. The Amazon Basics kit weighs 2.2 pounds in the spec table, and the VIKITON listing states no weight.

Bi-metal kit Sizes Arbors Case
Amazon Basics 9-Piece Bi-Metal Kit 6 saws, 25/32 inch to 2-11/16 inch 2 hex arbors with 75mm pilot drills Durable carrying case
VIKITON 4 Inch Bi-Metal Saw 1 saw, 4 inch (102mm) Arbor with drill bit, plus a spare pilot bit Not stated

What carbon steel cuts, by the listings

Both KATA kits are heat-treated carbon steel. The 8-piece kit is limited to soft materials, while the 25-piece kit is recommended for soft materials and states it is not intended for thick metal. The 8-piece kit lists soft wood, plywood, drywall, PVC board and thin plastic, and states it is not intended for metal, stainless steel, tile, stone or concrete. The 25-piece kit lists wood, drywall, PVC board and thin plastic, and states it is not intended for thick metal, tile, concrete or stone. Both kits cap the cutting depth at about 1 inch (25 mm).

The 8-piece kit includes 5 hole saws in sizes 1 inch (25 mm), 1-1/4 inch (32 mm), 1-1/2 inch (38 mm), 2 inch (51 mm) and 2-1/8 inch (54 mm), plus 1 pc mandrel, 2 pc drill bits and 1 pc hex key in a clear plastic storage case. The 25-piece kit covers sizes from 3/4 inch to 6 inches (19-152mm) and adds drill bits, mandrels, a hex key, a wrench (19-22mm), an installation plate and a heavy duty case. The 25-piece kit weighs 3.12 pounds in the spec table. Both KATA listings state a limited warranty with no term given. The counts disagree with the titles: the 8-piece title says 8 pieces while its bullets list 5 saws plus a mandrel, 2 drill bits and a hex key, and the spec table lists 6 items; the 25-piece title says 25 pieces while the spec table lists 20 items.

The gear in this guide, ranked

Ranked by what the listings state, the Amazon Basics 9-piece bi-metal kit leads: it is the only kit listed for mild steel and aluminum as well as plastic and plasterboard, it covers 6 sizes with 2 arbors, and it packs into a carrying case. The VIKITON 4 inch bi-metal saw follows: a single-size bi-metal saw with high-speed steel teeth, an arbor with a drill bit and a spare pilot bit, listed for thin metals except stainless steel. The KATA 25-piece carbon steel kit comes next: the broadest size range here, from 3/4 inch to 6 inches, with the most accessories, but its listing recommends it for soft materials, rules out thick metal, and caps the cutting depth at about 1 inch. The KATA 8-piece carbon steel kit closes the list: it rules out metal entirely, covers a narrower range than the 25-piece kit, 1 inch to 2-1/8 inch, and has a count its own title, bullets and spec table disagree on.

Kit Tooth material Sizes Depth limit
Amazon Basics 9-Piece Bi-Metal Kit Bi-metal, HSS-M3 25/32 inch to 2-11/16 inch Not stated
VIKITON 4 Inch Bi-Metal Saw Bi-metal, high-speed steel teeth 4 inch (102mm) Not stated
KATA 25-Piece Carbon Steel Kit Carbon steel, heat-treated 3/4 inch to 6 inches About 1 inch (25 mm)
KATA 8-Piece Carbon Steel Kit Carbon steel, heat-treated 1 inch to 2-1/8 inch About 1 inch (25 mm)

Choosing for the job

Match the material first. A cut in mild steel, aluminum or thin metals except stainless steel points to one of the bi-metal kits: the Amazon Basics kit for a range of sizes, the VIKITON saw for a single 4 inch hole. Wood, drywall, PVC board and thin plastic are the carbon steel kits’ home ground, and the 25-piece KATA kit covers the widest size range there. Check the depth before ordering: both KATA kits state a cutting depth of about 1 inch, so a thicker workpiece needs a different approach. Count the arbors too: the Amazon Basics kit includes 2 hex arbors with 75mm pilot drills, the 8-piece KATA kit includes 1 mandrel, and the 25-piece KATA kit includes mandrels. A case keeps the set together: the Amazon Basics kit and both KATA kits include one, while the VIKITON saw ships without a stated case. For the drill itself, see our cordless drill for home garage guide.

Cool it down first

The VIKITON tips state it plainly: allow the hole saw to cool before touching, since the surface temperature is high after drilling. Apply water or coolant and reduce feed speed when drilling metals, and stop immediately if abnormal vibration occurs. Start at low speed, keep the drill straight and clear chips often, as the KATA tips state. Never cut brittle materials such as glass, ceramic, tile, granite, marble, porcelain, brick, masonry or natural stone with the VIKITON saw: its tips state those materials chip easily and quickly dull the teeth.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

FAQ: garage tools

Can a bi-metal hole saw cut metal?

Yes, by the listings. The Amazon Basics kit is listed for mild steel and aluminum, and the VIKITON saw is listed for thin metals, excluding stainless steel.

Can carbon steel hole saws cut metal?

Not by these listings, and the two kits draw the line differently. The 8-piece KATA kit states it is not intended for metal, stainless steel, tile, stone or concrete, and the 25-piece kit states it is not intended for thick metal, tile, concrete or stone.

How deep can these hole saws cut?

Both KATA kits state a cutting depth of about 1 inch (25 mm). The two bi-metal listings state no depth limit.

What sizes do the kits cover?

The Amazon Basics kit runs 25/32 inch to 2-11/16 inch, the KATA 25-piece kit runs 3/4 inch to 6 inches, the KATA 8-piece kit runs 1 inch to 2-1/8 inch, and the VIKITON saw is a single 4 inch saw.

Do the kits include a case?

The Amazon Basics kit includes a durable carrying case, the 8-piece KATA kit includes a clear plastic storage case, and the 25-piece KATA kit includes a heavy duty case. The VIKITON package lists no case.

Does this guide cover carbide hole saws?

No. No carbide listing is in the data for this guide. For carbide picks, see our best hole saw carbide guide.

Related: hole saws for sheet metal, hole saws for thick metal, our drill bit sets and the cordless tools hub.

More buying guides