Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Hole Saw Carbide (2026): 5 Kits Compared

Five carbide hole saw kits compared by kit size, size range, materials, arbors and pilot bits for steel, wood and plastic jobs in the garage.

Best Hole Saw Carbide (2026): 5 Kits Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Spyder 18 Pc TCT KitBest OverallSpyder 18 Pc TCT Kit9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Highfire 20 Pc TCT KitBest Size RangeHighfire 20 Pc TCT Kit9.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Greenlee 660 6 Pc KitBest Quick ChangeGreenlee 660 6 Pc Kit9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4EZARC 3 Pc Carbide KitBest Small KitEZARC 3 Pc Carbide Kit9.6/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Milwaukee Big Hawg KitMilwaukee Big Hawg KitMilwaukee Big Hawg Kit9.4/10View on Amazon
  6. 6EZARC Carbide Hole Saw Heavy DutyEZARC Carbide Hole Saw Heavy DutyView on Amazon
  7. 7Milwaukee ElectricMilwaukee ElectricView on Amazon
  8. 8Diablo Carbide Teeth Hole Saw SetDiablo Carbide Teeth Hole Saw SetView on Amazon
  9. 94-1/2'' Tungsten Carbide Tipped Hole Saw Drill Bit for Hard4-1/2'' Tungsten Carbide Tipped Hole Saw Drill Bit for HardView on Amazon
  10. 10Rannb Hole Saw 1.5-inch/38mm Metal Hole Saw Carbide TippedRannb Hole Saw 1.5-inch/38mm Metal Hole Saw Carbide TippedView on Amazon

Cutting a clean hole in a steel panel in the garage is the kind of job where the best hole saw carbide earns its place on the drill. We compared carbide hole saw kits by kit size, size range, materials, pilot bits and arbors, using only what each listing publishes.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall Spyder 18 Pc TCT Kit: 12 saws, 2 arbors and 4 pilot bits, with rapid core eject Check price on Amazon
  • Best Size Range Highfire 20 Pc TCT Kit: 13 saws from 1/2 inch to 2-1/8 inch, with case Check price on Amazon
  • Best Quick Change Greenlee 660 6 Pc Kit: Quick change arbor, 5 cutter heads, 7/8 inch to 2 inch, in a case Check price on Amazon
  • Best Small Kit EZARC 3 Pc Carbide Kit: 3 carbide cutters, 7/8 inch to 1-3/8 inch, with 2 pilot bits Check price on Amazon
  • Milwaukee Big Hawg Kit Milwaukee Big Hawg Kit: 10 piece carbide teeth kit, with size and material details not stated Check price on Amazon

Picks for the garage

Spyder 18-Piece Tungsten Carbide Tipped Hole Saw

Spyder 18-Piece Tungsten Carbide Tipped Hole Saw

Spyder9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 18 piece tungsten carbide tipped hole saw kit with 12 hole saws, 2 arbors and 4 pilot bits, with rapid core eject.

Pros

  • 12 hole saws from 3/4 inch to 4-1/2 inch in one kit
  • 2 arbors and 4 pilot bits included, with Hex8 and Hex10 styles listed
  • Rapid core eject, with the core dropped out with a push of a button
  • Materials listed include wood, MDF, fiber cement, concrete, ceramic and plastic

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Heaviest kit here, at 9.5 pounds
  • Wide size range may be more than a single-size job needs
  • No warranty or safety listing is stated
HIGHFIRE 20pcs Carbide Hole Saw Kit with Case

HIGHFIRE 20pcs Carbide Hole Saw Kit with Case

Highfire9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20 piece carbide hole saw kit with case, with 13 hole saws from 1/2 inch to 2-1/8 inch, plus drill bits, hex keys and springs.

Pros

  • 13 hole saws from 1/2 inch to 2-1/8 inch, with diameters also listed in mm
  • Three-blade teeth design, with outer, middle and inner blades listed
  • Double round circles listed to remove metal filings and aid cooling
  • Case included, with drill bits, hex keys and springs in the kit

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Title count of 20 pieces includes bits, keys and springs, not 20 saws
  • Coolant advised during continuous high-speed drilling
  • No safety listing is stated
Greenlee 660 6-Piece Quick Change Carbide-Tipped

Greenlee 660 6-Piece Quick Change Carbide-Tipped

Greenlee9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A quick change carbide-tipped hole cutter set with 5 cutter heads from 7/8 inch to 2 inch, a quick change arbor and a rugged plastic tool case.

Pros

  • Quick change arbor with a minimum chuck size of 3/8 inch
  • Flange stop listed to prevent over-drilling
  • Replaceable cobalt-steel pilot drill with a split-point tip listed
  • Rugged plastic tool case listed for storage

Cons

  • Warranty description states no term
  • Title says 6 pieces while the spec table says 7 pieces
  • Only 5 cutter head sizes, from 7/8 inch to 2 inch
  • No safety listing is stated
EZARC Carbide Hole Saw Kit

EZARC Carbide Hole Saw Kit

EZARC9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3 piece carbide tipped hole cutter kit with cutters in 7/8 inch, 1-1/8 inch and 1-3/8 inch sizes, plus pilot drill bits and a hex key.

Pros

  • Tungsten carbide technology listed for hard metal drilling
  • Cutters in 7/8 inch, 1-1/8 inch and 1-3/8 inch sizes
  • 2 HSS pilot drill bits and 1 hex key included
  • Maker claims more than 10 times longer life than bi-metal hole saws on hardened metal

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Title count of 3 pieces counts cutters only, with bits and a hex key extra
  • Only 3 cutter sizes, from 7/8 inch to 1-3/8 inch
  • No safety listing is stated
Milwaukee 49-56-9290 10 PC BIG HAWG Hole Saw

Milwaukee 49-56-9290 10 PC BIG HAWG Hole Saw

Milwaukee9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10 piece Milwaukee Big Hawg hole saw kit with carbide teeth, with size and material details not stated in the listing.

Pros

  • 10 piece kit as stated in the title
  • Carbide teeth as stated in the title
  • Milwaukee Big Hawg kit type as stated in the listing
  • Kit format, rather than a single cutter, as stated in the title

Cons

  • Warranty description states no term
  • No cutter sizes are stated in the listing
  • No materials are stated in the listing
  • No pilot bit or arbor details are stated in the listing

Other tools worth a look

Compared on paper

Hole Saw Shop Score Kit Size Size Range Materials Pilot Bit
Spyder 18 Pc TCT Kit 9.7/10 18 pieces 3/4 inch to 4-1/2 inch Wood, MDF, fiber cement, concrete, ceramic, plastic Included
Highfire 20 Pc TCT Kit 9.7/10 20 pieces 1/2 inch to 2-1/8 inch Stainless steel, iron, aluminum, plastic, FRP Included
Greenlee 660 6 Pc Kit 9.6/10 6 pieces 7/8 inch to 2 inch Stainless steel, mild steel, copper, aluminum Included
EZARC 3 Pc Carbide Kit 9.6/10 3 pieces 7/8 inch to 1-3/8 inch Stainless steel, sheet metal, cast iron, mild steel, aluminum, FRP Included
Milwaukee Big Hawg Kit 9.4/10 10 pieces Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 1 November 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown.

How the points were given

The Shop Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. None of the five state a safety listing, so all score zero on safety, and none state a concrete warranty term, so all score zero on warranty. How We Pick explains the weights.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Spyder 18 Pc TCT Kit 9.7 32 22 21 n/a 0
Highfire 20 Pc TCT Kit 9.7 30 21 22 n/a 0
Greenlee 660 6 Pc Kit 9.6 30 22 20 n/a 0
EZARC 3 Pc Carbide Kit 9.6 29 21 20 n/a 0
Milwaukee Big Hawg Kit 9.4 26 19 18 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

How to choose the best hole saw carbide

Size range and kit size

Size range decides which holes one kit can cover. The Spyder kit lists sizes from 3/4 inch to 4-1/2 inch, the Highfire kit from 1/2 inch to 2-1/8 inch, and the Greenlee kit from 7/8 inch to 2 inch, while the EZARC kit covers 7/8 inch to 1-3/8 inch. A wide kit suits varied garage jobs, while a small kit suits a job where one or two sizes do all the work. See best hole saw for sheet metal when the job is mainly thin metal panels.

Carbide teeth and materials

All five kits use carbide teeth, but the materials each listing names differ. EZARC and Highfire name stainless steel, aluminum and FRP, Greenlee names stainless steel, mild steel, copper and aluminum, and Spyder names wood, MDF, fiber cement board, porous concrete block, ceramic wall tile and plastic. Match the listing to the material in front of you, and do not assume a kit that lists wood also lists hard metal. See best hole saw for thick metal for heavier metal work.

Arbors, pilot bits and core eject

Arbors and pilot bits decide how the cutter mounts and starts. Spyder lists 2 arbors and 4 pilot bits, Highfire lists 2 drill bits, EZARC lists 2 pilot drill bits and 1 hex key, and Greenlee lists a quick change arbor with a minimum chuck size of 3/8 inch plus a replaceable cobalt-steel pilot drill. Spyder also lists rapid core eject, with the core dropped out with a push of a button. Check the chuck size and the arbor style before ordering, since the Milwaukee listing states neither. See best cordless drill for home garage for a drill to pair with a kit.

Cases, cooling and what to check

Storage and cooling are easy to overlook. Highfire lists a case, Greenlee lists a rugged plastic tool case, and Highfire also advises coolant during continuous high-speed drilling, with water or oil as a lubricant so the bit will not overheat. Check the full contents list before ordering, since a title count can mean cutters only, as with the EZARC kit, or the full kit, as with the Spyder kit.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Check the chuck size: the Greenlee arbor lists a minimum chuck size of 3/8 inch.
  • Check storage space: the Spyder kit lists 13.0 inches by 10.5 inches by 4.0 inches and 9.5 pounds.
  • Check the case: Highfire lists a case, and Greenlee lists a rugged plastic tool case.
  • Check the size range against the hole needed, from 1/2 inch in the Highfire kit to 4-1/2 inch in the Spyder kit.
  • Check cooling: the Highfire listing advises coolant during continuous high-speed drilling.

FAQ: garage tools

What type of hole saw is listed for FRP?

EZARC and Highfire both list FRP among their materials, along with stainless steel and aluminum. Spyder lists fiber cement board and plastic, which are different materials from FRP as listed.

What size hole saw is listed for a 2 inch hole?

Greenlee lists cutters up to 2 inch, Spyder lists a 2 inch size, and Highfire lists a 2 inch size. Check the kit contents, since a 2 inch cutter is one size inside a wider kit, not the whole kit.

How does a hole saw work?

As listed, carbide teeth cut the circle while a pilot bit centers the cutter, and Spyder lists rapid core eject, with the core dropped out with a push of a button. The listings do not describe a single cutting speed, so follow the material list for each kit.

How does a hole saw attach to a drill?

As listed, cutters mount on an arbor with a pilot bit, and Greenlee lists a quick change arbor with a minimum chuck size of 3/8 inch. Spyder lists Hex8 and Hex10 arbors, so match the arbor listed with the cutter and the drill chuck.

What comes in a hole saw kit?

Contents differ by kit. Spyder lists 12 hole saws, 2 arbors and 4 pilot bits, Highfire lists 13 hole saws plus drill bits, hex keys and springs, Greenlee lists a quick change auger, a hex key and 5 cutter heads, and EZARC lists 3 cutters, 2 pilot drill bits and 1 hex key.

Related: the best hole saw for sheet metal, the best hole saw for thick metal, the best cordless drill for home garage, the best cordless drill for auto mechanics, our cordless tools hub and the best carbide burr set.

More buying guides

Cordless Tools ·

Best Hole Saw Heavy Duty (2026)

4 carbide hole saw kits for heavy duty metal cutting, from 13 and 15 size kits with full listings to 2 title-only kits, compared…