Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Tool Box Chest (2026): 5 Chests Compared

Rolling tool box chests compared by drawers, detachable tops, wheels, locking and size for home garages, workshops and repair shops.

Best Tool Box Chest (2026): 5 Chests Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1PLENTORA 8-DrawerBest OverallPLENTORA 8-Drawer9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Goplus Purple 5-DrawerBest 5-Drawer PickGoplus Purple 5-Drawer9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Goplus 5-Drawer ChestGoplus 5-Drawer ListingGoplus 5-Drawer Chest9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4TUFFIOM 5-DrawerTUFFIOM 5-Drawer ListingTUFFIOM 5-Drawer9.6/10View on Amazon
  5. 5AIRAJ 7-DrawerAIRAJ 7-Drawer ListingAIRAJ 7-Drawer9.5/10View on Amazon
  6. 6INTERGREAT 8 Drawers Tool ChestINTERGREAT 8 Drawers Tool ChestView on Amazon
  7. 7LARBANKE Portable 4-Drawer Tool Chest with Lock & KeysLARBANKE Portable 4-Drawer Tool Chest with Lock & KeysView on Amazon
  8. 8INTERGREAT Tool ChestINTERGREAT Tool ChestView on Amazon
  9. 9Tool Chest Heavy Duty Cart Steel Rolling Tool Box 5 DrawerTool Chest Heavy Duty Cart Steel Rolling Tool Box 5 DrawerView on Amazon
  10. 104-Drawer Tool Chest with Lock4-Drawer Tool Chest with LockView on Amazon

A brake job spreads tools across every flat surface in the garage, and the best tool box chest puts them back in one rolling place when the job is done. This guide compares 5 rolling tool chests by drawers, top box, wheels, locking and size, using only the figures the listings state, and what each listing leaves unstated.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall PLENTORA 8-Drawer: 8 drawers with a detachable top chest and double safety lock Check price on Amazon
  • Best 5-Drawer Pick Goplus Purple 5-Drawer: 5 drawers, 2 trays and a detachable top box with lock bar Check price on Amazon
  • Goplus 5-Drawer Listing Goplus 5-Drawer Chest: 5 drawers with a detachable top toolbox and lock bar Check price on Amazon
  • TUFFIOM 5-Drawer Listing TUFFIOM 5-Drawer: 5-drawer rolling chest with lockable wheels and adjustable shelf Check price on Amazon
  • AIRAJ 7-Drawer Listing AIRAJ 7-Drawer: 7-drawer rolling chest with hooks, liners and tray dividers Check price on Amazon

Picks for the garage

PLENTORA Rolling Tool Chest

PLENTORA Rolling Tool Chest

PLENTORA9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 8-drawer rolling tool chest with a detachable upper chest, double safety lock and EVA-lined drawers for garage workshops.

Pros

  • 8 drawers plus a storage compartment for mixed tools
  • Detachable upper chest packs inside the lower cabinet
  • Double safety lock keeps drawers shut on uneven surfaces
  • EVA liners protect tools and drawers from scratches

Cons

  • No weight is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety certification is stated
  • Upper chest packing needs care in transport
Goplus Purple Tool Chest

Goplus Purple Tool Chest

Goplus9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5-drawer rolling tool chest with a detachable top toolbox, lock bar, braking wheels and EVA padding for garage workshops.

Pros

  • 5 drawers plus 2 trays with a detachable top box
  • Lock bar stops drawers sliding out while rolling
  • 2 braking wheels among 4 universal wheels
  • Adjustable bottom shelf plus hooks and 6 side holes

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety certification is stated
  • Purple color suits only some garages
  • Top box storage needs lower chest space
TUFFIOM 5-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest

TUFFIOM 5-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest

TUFFIOM9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5-drawer rolling tool chest with a bottom cabinet, detachable top, adjustable shelf and a 220 lb stated weight capacity.

Pros

  • 220 lb stated weight capacity, the highest here
  • 5 drawers plus a bottom cabinet with a removable, adjustable shelf
  • Detachable top chest that stores inside the bottom cabinet
  • Locking bars keep drawers and the cabinet door shut while rolling

Cons

  • Spec table lists two weights, 44.1 lb and 40 lb; the listing leaves it unclear
  • Side rack with holes is stated but its size is not
  • Red color only, per the spec table
  • No warranty term is stated
Goplus Tool Chest, 5-Drawer Rolling Cabinet

Goplus Tool Chest, 5-Drawer Rolling Cabinet

Goplus9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5-drawer 2-in-1 rolling tool cabinet in blue alloy steel with EVA drawer liners, a 122 lb weight capacity and 4 universal wheels.

Pros

  • 2-in-1 detachable design allows top toolbox to store inside bottom cabinet
  • EVA foam padding inside drawers for tool cushioning
  • Side handle includes 6 tool holes for screwdrivers
  • Bottom cabinet shelf can be adjusted or removed

Cons

  • 122 lb maximum weight capacity limits storage of heavy iron tools
  • Spec table lists door style as open frame despite having a cabinet door
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety certifications stated
AIRAJ Tool Chest 7-Drawers

AIRAJ Tool Chest 7-Drawers

AIRAJ9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 40 inch high cold-rolled steel tool chest with 7 drawers organized in three sizes, rubber wheels and a double-door bottom cabinet.

Pros

  • 7 drawers organized into 1 large, 3 medium and 3 small drawers
  • Cold-rolled steel construction with powder coating
  • 4 by 1 inch rubber wheels with rear brake locking devices
  • Includes hooks, liners and tray dividers

Cons

  • Unit weight is not stated in bullets or spec table
  • Maximum load capacity is not stated
  • Top chest must be unpacked from inside lower cabinet
  • No warranty term is stated

Other tools worth a look

Compared on paper

Chest Shop Score Drawers Top box Wheels Material Size
PLENTORA 8-Drawer 9.7/10 8 Detachable 4 universal, 2 locking Cold-rolled steel 14.0 x 25.0 x 43.0 inches
Goplus Purple 5-Drawer 9.6/10 5 plus 2 trays Detachable 4 universal, 2 brakes Powder-coated steel 23.5 x 11 x 40 inches
Goplus 5-Drawer Chest 9.5/10 5 plus 2 trays Detachable 4 universal, 2 brakes Powder-coated steel 23.5 x 11 x 40 inches
TUFFIOM 5-Drawer 9.6/10 5 Detachable Lockable wheels Not stated Not stated
AIRAJ 7-Drawer 9.5/10 7 Detachable Wheels Metal 40 inches high

Specifications are manufacturer rated, collected 3 November 2026. None of these listings states a warranty term with a length, and none names a safety standard.

How the points were given

The Shop Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For tool chests, safety would mean a stated safety certification, and none of the 5 listings names one, so no safety points were given. No listing states a warranty term either. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
PLENTORA 8-Drawer 9.7 32 22 21 n/a 0
Goplus Purple 5-Drawer 9.6 30 21 21 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

What the listings tell you

Drawer counts run from 5 to 8 across these chests, and every one of the 5 lists a detachable top box that separates from the rolling lower cabinet. The PLENTORA chest gives the most compartments, with 3 medium drawers, 3 small drawers, 2 large drawers and a storage compartment, while the Goplus chests give 5 drawers plus 2 trays. Only the Goplus purple listing states a weight, 38.0 pounds, and none of the 5 listings states a warranty term, so warranty and weight comparisons stay limited to what is stated. The Goplus listings also share the same footprint and drawer layout, so the choice between them comes down to color and the stated weight on the purple listing.

Buying guide: choosing the best tool box chest

Drawer count and layout

Count compartments, not just drawers. The PLENTORA chest splits its 8 drawers into 3 medium, 3 small and 2 large, plus a storage compartment in the lower cabinet, which suits mixed socket sets, wrenches and bulky gear. The Goplus chests give 5 drawers plus 2 trays, with an adjustable or removable bottom shelf for taller tools, movable hooks on the cabinet door and 6 tool holes in the side handle for screwdrivers. For more drawer layouts, see rolling tool chest with multiple drawers options.

Wheels, locks and moving day

Every chest here rolls on 4 universal wheels, and every one lists a way to keep it still. The Goplus chests give brakes on 2 wheels plus a lock bar that stops drawers sliding out and the cabinet door opening while rolling. The PLENTORA chest gives 2 locking wheels and a double safety lock design that keeps drawers and doors shut on uneven surfaces. Both full-data chests arrive mostly pre-assembled, with only minor accessories like wheels and racks left to attach. A tool chest for mechanics guide covers heavier shop use.

Measure the parking spot

Footprints differ enough to matter in a small garage. The Goplus chests measure 23.5 inches by 11 inches by 40 inches, while the PLENTORA chest measures 14.0 inches by 25.0 inches by 43.0 inches, so one is narrow and deep and the other is wide and shallow. The AIRAJ chest stands 40 inches high. Detachable tops help twice over: the PLENTORA upper chest packs inside the lower cabinet for transport, and the Goplus top box stores in the lower chest when not in use.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Measure the parking spot against the stated footprint before ordering, since widths run from 11 inches to 25.0 inches.
  • Check that 2 wheels lock or brake on the model chosen, so the chest stays put on the garage floor.
  • Plan where the detachable top box goes when separated, in the lower chest or inside the lower cabinet.
  • Use the door hooks and side handle holes for screwdrivers and small tools that would otherwise fill a drawer.

FAQ: garage tools

How many drawers do these tool chests have?

The PLENTORA chest has 8 drawers, the Goplus chests have 5 drawers plus 2 trays, the TUFFIOM chest has 5 drawers, and the AIRAJ chest has 7 drawers.

Do the top boxes detach?

Yes. All 5 listings describe a detachable top box or upper chest that separates from the rolling lower cabinet. Check the top box fit before the first job.

How do these chests stay in place?

The Goplus chests use brakes on 2 wheels plus a lock bar, and the PLENTORA chest uses 2 locking wheels plus a double safety lock. The TUFFIOM chest lists lockable wheels.

Are these chests pre-assembled?

Mostly. The PLENTORA and Goplus listings describe mostly pre-assembled builds with only minor accessories left to attach.

Do any of these chests state a warranty?

No. None of the 5 listings states a warranty term.

More garage guides

Related: our tool storage hub, the best tool storage for small garage and the best roll around tool chest.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Tool Cart (2026)

Five rolling tool carts compared by capacity, storage layout, wheels, build, weight and warranty, for the home garage and workshop.