Brushless vs Brushed Cordless Ratchet: Which One Should You Buy?
Brushless motors deliver 60 to 75 ft-lbs with better efficiency; unstated-motor picks compete on price. How the two compare and which ratchet to buy.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Cordless Impact Wrench9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
Extended 18V Cordless Electric Ratchet Wrench Set 3/8" Drive9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
3/8" Cordless Ratchet Wrench for Dewalt 20V Battery9.5/10View on Amazon - 4
VESSEL 400ER3 Cordless Electric Slim Ratchet CordlessView on Amazon - 5
Vessel 400ER3-1M Cordless Electric Slim Ratchet Set with 31View on Amazon - 6
Milwaukee ElectricView on Amazon
Shopping for a cordless ratchet, you will see the word brushless everywhere and wonder what it buys you. Brushless vs brushed cordless ratchet comes down to the motor: a brushless motor uses electronics instead of carbon brushes to spin, which runs cooler and more efficiently, while a brushed motor is the older, simpler design that costs less. In the listings here, the brushless picks deliver 60 to 75 ft-lbs of torque, and the picks that do not state a motor type sit at the cheaper end. Buy brushless for daily shop use; the rest can serve occasional jobs.
More options to compare
VESSEL 400ER3 Cordless Electric Slim Ratchet CordlessCheck price on Amazon
Vessel 400ER3-1M Cordless Electric Slim Ratchet Set with 31Check price on Amazon
Milwaukee ElectricCheck price on Amazon
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on our product pages, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Below: how the motors differ, what the listings state, and which one fits your garage.
Brushless vs brushed cordless ratchet: the short answer
Buy brushless if the ratchet will earn its keep. The AOBEN 20V brushless kit delivers 60 ft-lbs with two 2000mAh batteries, the AOBEN 21V brushless reaches 74 ft-lbs, the DEWALT ATOMIC brushless models deliver up to 70 ft-lbs (DCF513B 3/8 inch and DCF512B 1/2 inch), the ACROPOW brushless hits 74 ft-lbs at 0-250 RPM, and the DEWALT DCF510GE1 brushless set delivers 75 ft-lbs at 0-300 RPM with battery and charger included. The listings that do not state a motor type, the Makita XRW01Z at 35 ft-lbs and 0-800 RPM, the ShieldPro at 45 ft-lbs and 400 RPM, and the 12V ALLOYPOWER at 60 ft-lbs, compete on price and size rather than motor technology. No listing here advertises itself as brushed; the brushed side of this comparison is the older technology those unstated motors descend from.
What brushless means in these listings
A brushless motor replaces the carbon brushes with electronic commutation: no brushes to wear out, less heat, and more of the battery’s energy reaching the fastener. The listings translate that into torque figures: 60 ft-lbs on the AOBEN 20V kit and the 12V ALLOYPOWER (whose motor type is unstated, for comparison), 70 ft-lbs on both DEWALT ATOMIC bare tools, 74 ft-lbs on the AOBEN 21V and the ACROPOW, and 75 ft-lbs on the DEWALT DCF510GE1 set. Brushless also pairs with the extras: the DEWALT ATOMIC models add an onboard LED work light and a glass-filled nylon housing rated against oils and solvents, and the DCF510GE1 adds a variable speed trigger with forward and reverse switch. If you already own a battery platform, the bare-tool brushless picks, the DCF513B, DCF512B and the ACROPOW that fits DEWALT 20V batteries, keep the cost to the tool alone.
Where the unstated motors sit
Three listings do not name their motor type, and they read as the budget side. The Makita XRW01Z delivers 35 ft-lbs with variable 0-800 RPM, interchangeable 3/8 and 1/4 inch anvils, an electric brake, and the ability to work as a manual ratchet with the motor off. The ShieldPro 20V kit delivers 45 ft-lbs at 400 RPM with an LED work light and two batteries, and its listing notes that the motor produces sparks when running, which it calls normal: sparking is the visible signature of brushes at work. The 12V ALLOYPOWER delivers 60 ft-lbs (80 N.m) with a 5.5 inch extended neck for reach and an alloy body. None of the three claims brushless, and all three compete on price, kit contents or form factor instead.
Torque, speed and drive size side by side
| Ratchet | Motor stated | Torque | Speed | Drive |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AOBEN 20V kit | Brushless | 60 ft-lbs | Not stated | 3/8 in |
| AOBEN 21V 3/8 kit | Brushless | 74 ft-lbs | Not stated | 3/8 in |
| AOBEN 21V 1/2 kit | Brushless | 74 ft-lbs | Not stated | 1/2 in |
| DEWALT DCF513B | Brushless | 70 ft-lbs | Not stated | 3/8 in |
| DEWALT DCF512B | Brushless | 70 ft-lbs | Not stated | 1/2 in |
| DEWALT DCF510GE1 set | Brushless | 75 ft-lbs | 0-300 RPM | 3/8 and 1/2 in |
| ACROPOW (DEWALT 20V fit) | Brushless | 74 ft-lbs | 0-250 RPM | 3/8 in |
| Makita XRW01Z | Not stated | 35 ft-lbs | 0-800 RPM | 3/8 and 1/4 in |
| ShieldPro 20V kit | Not stated | 45 ft-lbs | 400 RPM | 3/8 in |
| ALLOYPOWER 12V | Not stated | 60 ft-lbs | Not stated | 3/8 in |
Which one to buy
For daily use, buy brushless on the battery platform you already own: the DEWALT ATOMIC bare tools and the ACROPOW for DEWALT 20V batteries are the low-cost entries, and the DCF510GE1 set with its 75 ft-lbs, interchangeable anvils and included battery suits a first platform purchase. For occasional use, the unstated-motor kits compete well: the ShieldPro 20V kit with two batteries at 45 ft-lbs, or the 12V ALLOYPOWER with its 5.5 inch extended neck for tight spots. Match the drive to your sockets, 3/8 inch for most automotive work, 1/2 inch for larger fasteners, and note the interchangeable-anvil models (DCF510GE1, XRW01Z) if you want both. For more options, see best cordless ratchet for spark plugs and best ratchet wrench set, and our how to use a ratchet wrench guide covers technique.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is brushless worth it on a cordless ratchet?
For regular use, yes: no brushes to wear, less heat and better efficiency from the same battery. The brushless listings here deliver 60 to 75 ft-lbs, the top of this set’s torque range.
How much torque do I need in a cordless ratchet?
The listings span 35 ft-lbs (Makita XRW01Z) to 75 ft-lbs (DEWALT DCF510GE1). A ratchet spins fasteners rather than breaking them loose, so mid-range torque with the right drive size covers most garage work.
Should I get 3/8 or 1/2 inch drive?
Three-eighths inch suits most automotive fasteners; half inch suits larger ones. The DEWALT DCF510GE1 and Makita XRW01Z have interchangeable anvils covering both sizes in one tool.
Do I need to stay on one battery platform?
It helps. Bare tools like the DEWALT DCF513B and DCF512B need the batteries you own, and the ACROPOW states compatibility with DEWALT 20V batteries. Kits like the AOBEN and ShieldPro include two batteries each.
What does variable speed do on a ratchet?
It matches speed to the job: the Makita runs 0-800 RPM and the DEWALT DCF510GE1 runs 0-300 RPM with a variable trigger, so you can run fasteners down quickly or ease them in.



