Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Brushless vs Brushed Cordless Impact Wrench: Which One Should You Buy?

Brushless motors run cooler and last longer than brushed motors, and four cordless impact wrench listings show what that means for torque, batteries and kit.

Brushless vs Brushed Cordless Impact Wrench: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

A lug nut that will not move during a tire rotation is the moment most home mechanics start shopping for a stronger impact wrench. Brushless vs brushed cordless impact wrench is the choice to settle before buying: a brushless motor runs cooler, lasts longer and needs no brush changes, while a brushed motor is the older design that still drives everyday fasteners. For most home garage jobs, the brushless wrench is the better buy.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on our product pages, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Brushless vs brushed cordless impact wrench: how the motors differ

A brushed motor uses carbon brushes to pass current to the spinning part of the motor, and those brushes wear down, spark and make heat. A brushless motor drops the brushes and uses electronics to switch the current instead.

The brushless listings agree: MODOFO states higher output, cooler running and less sparking under load; Puritron claims 70% longer lifespan and 80% more working efficiency than traditional brushed motors; LCICDV states longer runtime, extended tool life and zero maintenance.

None of the four listings here is a brushed model. The brushed design is the older, simpler motor, described in the brushless listings only as the traditional alternative they improve on. If your brushed wrench still breaks loose your fasteners, there is no need to replace it on motor type alone.

Torque: working torque vs breakaway torque

Torque figures come in two kinds. Working torque, also called tightening torque, is the force the wrench applies when it drives a fastener in. Breakaway torque is the higher force it delivers in short bursts to break a stuck fastener loose. DEWALT states both: up to 250 ft-lbs of tightening torque and 400 ft-lbs of breakaway torque.

The other three state one headline figure each: MODOFO lists 1300 N.m, given as 959 ft-lbs; Puritron lists 1500 N.m, given as 1106 ft-lbs in its title and 1107 ft-lbs in its bullets; LCICDV lists a maximum torque of 580 Nm. Do not compare a tightening figure from one listing with a breakaway figure from another.

Drive size matters as much as torque. The DEWALT is a 3/8 in. drive for tight spaces and smaller sockets; MODOFO, Puritron and LCICDV are all 1/2 in. drive, the size for lug nuts, suspension bolts and truck work. Our guide to 1/2 vs 3/8 impact wrench covers the drive choice in full.

Model Torque Drive Voltage Batteries Weight
Puritron 1500 N.m (1106 ft-lbs title, 1107 ft-lbs bullets) 1/2 in. 21V 2 x 4.0Ah 13.12 pounds
MODOFO TOOL 1300 N.m, 959 ft-lbs 1/2 in. 21V 2 x 4.0Ah 11.0 pounds
LCICDV 580 Nm maximum torque 1/2 in. Not stated 2 x 4.0Ah 4.9 lbs
DEWALT DCF913B 250 tightening, 400 breakaway ft-lbs 3/8 in. 20V Tool only 2.3 pounds

Two listings disagree with themselves. Puritron gives 1106 ft-lbs in the title and 1107 ft-lbs in the bullets, and lists 7 impact sockets while naming 8 sizes: 14, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 24 and 26mm. LCICDV states 4.9 lbs in its bullets and 2.3 pounds in its spec table; take 4.9 lbs as the listed weight.

The gear: four examples from the listings

The four examples below are in order of the headline torque figures their listings state, highest first. Those figures are not all the same kind of torque, so treat the order as a rough guide rather than a head-to-head ranking. The DEWALT listing does not state a motor type.

Puritron cordless impact wrench, 1500 N.m

The Puritron lists the highest torque figure of the four at 1500 N.m, with 4 speed levels, 2 x 4.0Ah batteries, a fast charger that tops the packs up in 1-2 hours, an LED light, and a kit with 7 impact sockets, a 125mm extension bar and a rugged case. The maker claims 70% longer lifespan and 80% more working efficiency than traditional brushed motors, with 1-year quality coverage for the wrench and the battery pack. At 13.12 pounds it is the heaviest of the four.

Who it is for: a home mechanic who wants the biggest stated torque figure and the fullest kit for truck, RV and tractor lug nuts; skip it for overhead work, where the listed weight will tell against it.

MODOFO TOOL cordless impact wrench, 1300 N.m

The MODOFO lists 1300 N.m, given as 959 ft-lbs, with a 21V brushless motor, 2 x 4.0Ah batteries, a fast charger that takes 1-2 hours, and 3 speed modes at 0-1400/1800/2400 RPM plus variable speed control. Its auto-stop brake slows the tool after the fastener loosens in reverse, and its LED stays lit for 10 seconds. Tungsten steel shaft and aluminum alloy head; uses listed include car tires, rusted bolts, pickup trucks, mowers and home repairs. No warranty term stated; listed weight 11.0 pounds.

Who it is for: a driver who rotates tires and breaks loose rusted bolts on a truck or mower and wants 3 speeds and a spare battery; skip it if you want a stated warranty term or a lighter wrench.

LCICDV cordless impact wrench, 580 Nm

The LCICDV lists a maximum torque of 580 Nm from a brushless motor, with 2 x 4.0Ah batteries, a fast charger, and a 2-speed selector at 0-2,800 RPM for delicate assembly and 0-3,200 RPM for heavy work. The kit includes 4 impact sockets in 18mm, 19mm, 21mm and 22mm, plus a rubber ring and a retaining pin. Bullets state 4.9 lbs, spec table 2.3 pounds; 24-hour after-sales support offered. No warranty term is stated.

Who it is for: a home mechanic who wants the lowest-weight 1/2 in. wrench of the four for auto repair and home maintenance; skip it for large truck or RV lug nuts.

DEWALT DCF913B 20V MAX 3/8 in. cordless impact wrench

The DEWALT is the wrench with the lowest listed weight of the four and the only 3/8 in. drive, with up to 250 ft-lbs of tightening torque and 400 ft-lbs of breakaway torque, as a 20V MAX tool. Hog ring anvil for rapid socket changes, on-board LED ring, compact size for hard-to-reach workspaces, at 2.3 pounds. Sold as a tool only, so no battery is included, and the listing does not state a motor type. It does state a 3 yr warranty on material and workmanship, the longest term of the four.

Who it is for: a mechanic in tight engine bays who wants a compact 3/8 in. wrench with a 3-year warranty and already owns 20V MAX batteries; skip it as a first wrench for truck lug nuts.

Batteries and runtime: what the listings state

Three listings include 2 x 4.0Ah batteries: MODOFO, Puritron and LCICDV. A second battery means one pack charges while the other works, and MODOFO and Puritron state that their fast charger takes 1-2 hours. The DEWALT is the exception: sold as a tool only, it states no battery or charger.

Voltage is stated as 20V for the DEWALT and 21V for MODOFO and Puritron, while LCICDV states no voltage. Do not read much into 20V against 21V: the torque figures tell you more. Our guide to 2Ah vs 5Ah 20V battery explains what the amp-hour figure means for runtime.

Which one should you buy?

Match the wrench to the fasteners, not to the motor badge. For lug nuts on a truck, an RV or a tractor, pick from the 1/2 in. listings with the highest stated torque figures and a spare battery: the Puritron at 1500 N.m of breakaway torque or the MODOFO at 1300 N.m. For a car, a mower or home repairs, the LCICDV at 580 Nm covers the same 1/2 in. jobs at the lowest listed weight of the three 1/2 in. wrenches. For tight spaces and small fasteners, the DEWALT 3/8 in. drive at 250 ft-lbs of tightening torque is the right size, with the longest warranty term stated here at 3 yr.

Check the drive size against the sockets you own, check whether a battery is in the box, and check your vehicle manual for the torque its lug nuts call for. For model-by-model picks, see our best cordless impact wrench picks and our best impact wrench roundup.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

FAQ: garage tools

Is a brushless impact wrench worth it over a brushed one?

On the listings here, yes: the makers claim cooler running, longer runtime, extended tool life and zero maintenance compared to brushed alternatives, and Puritron claims 70% longer lifespan and 80% more working efficiency.

What torque do I need for lug nuts?

Check your vehicle manual for the torque its lug nuts call for, then compare like with like: only the DEWALT and the Puritron state a breakaway figure, 400 ft-lbs and 1500 N.m. The MODOFO states 1300 N.m (959 ft-lbs) without naming the kind, and the LCICDV states a maximum torque of 580 Nm.

Do brushless impact wrenches need less maintenance?

The listings say so: LCICDV states zero maintenance compared to brushed alternatives, and MODOFO states that its brushless motor reduces sparking under load.

Can one impact wrench cover cars and trucks?

Puritron lists cars, SUVs and all classes of trucks, plus RVs, tractors and mowers; MODOFO lists car tires, pickup trucks, mowers and home repairs. A 1/2 in. drive with a high stated torque figure covers the widest range.

How long do the batteries last?

No listing states runtime. MODOFO, Puritron and LCICDV state 2 x 4.0Ah batteries, with fast chargers that take 1-2 hours for MODOFO and Puritron.

What does the warranty cover?

DEWALT states a 3 yr warranty on material and workmanship, and Puritron states 1-year quality coverage for the wrench and the battery pack. MODOFO and LCICDV state no warranty term.

Related: brushless vs brushed impact wrench, 1/2 vs 3/8 impact wrench, 2Ah vs 5Ah 20V battery and the cordless tools hub.

More buying guides