Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Cordless Drill vs Cordless Screwdriver: Which One Should You Buy?

A cordless drill and a cordless screwdriver compared for garage jobs: drilling range, screwdriving control, torque, bits and batteries, with examples from each side.

Cordless Drill vs Cordless Screwdriver: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

Verdict: For cordless drill vs cordless screwdriver, choose a cordless drill if the job needs drilling range plus screwdriving from a single tool. Choose a cordless screwdriver if the job centers on driving screws with control and a bit set for assembly work.

A garage shelf project starts with holes to drill and screws to drive, and the choice between a drill and a screwdriver decides how smoothly the job goes. That choice is what cordless drill vs cordless screwdriver is about: drilling range on the drill side, screwdriving control on the screwdriver side, and the bits, batteries and charging that come with each kind of tool.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

CRAFTSMAN V20 1/2 Cordless Drill With Battery

CRAFTSMAN V20 1/2 Cordless Drill With Battery

CRAFTSMAN9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20V drill with up to 300 UWO, a 2-speed transmission up to 1,700 RPM, a 2 Ah battery and a 3 Year Limited Warranty, in a set with a battery, a charger and a double ended bit.

Pros

  • Up to 300 UWO with a brushed motor
  • Up to 90 holes per charge, as stated
  • 2-speed transmission up to 1,700 RPM
  • Onboard LED for visibility in dark workspaces

Cons

  • Torque in inch-pounds is not stated
  • VERSATRACK clips and accessories are sold separately
  • Drilling capacity in wood or steel is not stated
  • Spec table weight is 4.39 pounds
HOTO 25-Piece Upgraded Electric Screwdriver Kit

HOTO 25-Piece Upgraded Electric Screwdriver Kit

HOTO9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A cordless screwdriver kit with 25 S2 steel bits, three torque settings, up to 4 N·m in electric mode and up to 8 N·m in manual mode, a 1500mAh battery and a magnetic storage case.

Pros

  • 25 S2 steel bits at 60HRC hardness
  • Electric mode up to 4 N·m, manual mode up to 8 N·m
  • Smart sensor stops rotation when the button is released
  • Full charge in under 150 minutes through a Type-C port

Cons

  • Charging cable is not included
  • No drilling speed in RPM is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Battery voltage is not stated
AVID POWER 20V Cordless Drill Set for Home DIY

AVID POWER 20V Cordless Drill Set for Home DIY

AVID POWER9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20V drill set with 280 In-lbs of torque, 15+1 torque settings, variable speed from 0-550 RPM, a 3/8" keyless chuck and 22 accessories, at 2.5 lb as stated in the bullets.

Pros

  • 280 In-lbs across 15+1 torque settings
  • Variable speed from 0-550 RPM
  • 22 accessories: 10 drill bits, 10 driver bits, flexible shaft, extension bar
  • Battery level display on the 20V lithium-ion battery pack

Cons

  • Not suitable for more than 25mm drill bits
  • Not for concrete or masonry walls
  • Only the AVID POWER battery fits, per the listing
  • No warranty term is stated
SKIL Twist 2.0 Rechargeable 4V Screwdriver

SKIL Twist 2.0 Rechargeable 4V Screwdriver

Skil9.3/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4V screwdriver with a pivoting head that locks at 0, 22.5, and 45 degrees, three torque settings, an LED light, USB-C charging and a 2-piece bit set.

Pros

  • Pivoting head locks at 0, 22.5, and 45 degrees
  • Three torque settings to adapt to the application at hand
  • Forward and reverse trigger button for single-finger use
  • USB-A to USB-C charging cable included in the set

Cons

  • No concrete warranty term is stated
  • No torque value in N·m or inch-pounds is stated
  • No battery capacity in mAh is stated
  • Bit set includes only 2 bits

Cordless Drill vs Cordless Screwdriver Side by Side

CRAFTSMAN CMCD702D1 HOTO QWLSD011 AVID POWER CD316-20 SKIL SD5619-01
Side Cordless drill Cordless screwdriver Cordless drill Cordless screwdriver
Voltage 20V Not stated 20V 4V
Torque Not stated 4 N·m electric, 8 N·m manual 280 In-lbs, 15+1 settings Three torque settings
Speed Up to 1,700 RPM, 2-speed Not stated 0-550 RPM Not stated
Chuck or bit holder 1/2, keyless 1/4” Hex 3/8″ keyless Pivoting head; bit holder not stated
Included bits Double ended bit 25 S2 steel bits 10 drill bits, 10 driver bits, flexible shaft, extension bar 2-piece bit set, 2-inch bits
Battery 2 Ah, 20V 1500mAh, Type-C, full charge in under 150 minutes 20V lithium-ion, battery level display Integrated battery, USB-C
Shop Score 72 64 57 50

Example figures are as stated on each listing and collected 5 November 2026.

How drilling range differs

The AVID POWER example lists drilling into wood, drywall, plastics, and metal, with a stated limit for larger bits and for masonry. The Craftsman example states holes per charge but states no material range, so its drilling range stays less detailed in the listing.

How screwdriving control differs

The HOTO example offers three torque settings, with electric mode and manual mode giving different torque figures for extra control. The SKIL example offers three torque settings and a pivoting head that locks at set angles for work in tight spaces.

Batteries and charging

The Craftsman example includes a battery and a charger in the set. The AVID POWER example includes a battery pack with a battery level display, and the listing advises recharging the battery every 3 months when the machine is out of use. The HOTO example uses a rechargeable battery charged through a Type-C port, with a full charge in under 150 minutes, and the charging cable is not included. The SKIL example uses an integrated battery charged through a USB-C port, and the set includes a USB-A to USB-C charging cable.

Bits and kits

The Craftsman example includes a double ended bit in the set. The AVID POWER example includes 22 accessories, covering drill bits, driver bits, a flexible shaft and an extension bar. The HOTO example includes 25 S2 steel bits in a magnetic storage case. The SKIL example includes a 2-piece bit set with 2-inch bits.

Choose a cordless drill if

  • You need drilling range plus screwdriving from a single tool
  • You want a battery and charger included in the set
  • You need variable speed for drilling and driving
  • You want a keyless chuck for quick bit changes

Choose a cordless screwdriver if

  • You mainly drive screws for assembly work
  • You want torque settings for delicate work
  • You want a compact kit with a storage case
  • You want a pivoting head for tight spaces

Example drills and screwdrivers

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Check the chuck and bit holder against the bits already in the garage: the drill examples use keyless chucks, while the HOTO example uses a 1/4” hex holder and the SKIL example has a pivoting head.
  • Check battery and charging before starting work: a drill set in this comparison includes a battery and charger, while a screwdriver kit in this comparison needs a charging cable that is not included.
  • Check space for storage: the screwdriver kit comes in a magnetic storage case, and the drill set is packed in a box.
  • Check torque settings against the job: the screwdriver examples offer three torque settings, and a drill example offers 15+1 torque settings.
  • Check stated limits before drilling: a drill example is not for concrete or masonry walls and not for more than 25mm drill bits.

FAQ: garage tools

Should I buy a cordless drill or a cordless screwdriver for furniture assembly?

A screwdriver example lists furniture assembly as an ideal use, with screwdriving control and a bit set. A drill set also lists furniture assembly, but adds drilling range for holes as well as screwdriving.

Can a cordless screwdriver drill holes?

The screwdriver examples in this comparison state torque settings and bit sets, but state no drilling range in wood or steel, so drilling stays unclear for those examples. A drill example lists drilling into wood, drywall, plastics, and metal.

What battery and charging differences matter?

A drill set in this comparison includes a battery and charger. A screwdriver kit in this comparison uses a 1500mAh battery, with a full charge in under 150 minutes through a Type-C port, and the charging cable is not included. A separate screwdriver example charges through USB-C and includes a USB-A to USB-C charging cable.

Do I need a drill if I already own a screwdriver?

A screwdriver covers screwdriving jobs, while a drill adds drilling range that the screwdriver examples do not state. A drill set in this comparison also adds variable speed and a keyless chuck for bit changes.

Related: the best cordless drill for a home garage, the best cordless drill for beginners and the 12v vs 20v cordless drill comparison.

More buying guides

Cordless Tools ·

Best Hole Saw Heavy Duty (2026)

4 carbide hole saw kits for heavy duty metal cutting, from 13 and 15 size kits with full listings to 2 title-only kits, compared…