Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

DR Infrared Heater DR-998 Review: Pros, Cons & Who It’s For

A research-based review of the DR Infrared Heater DR-998: 1500W infrared and PTC heating, humidifier, oscillation and remote, plus the listing's gaps and who should skip it.

DR Infrared Heater DR-998 Review: Pros, Cons & Who It’s For
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1DR Infrared Heater DR-998 Infrared Space HeaterDR Infrared Heater DR-998 Infrared Space Heater9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-910F 10DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-910F 109.7/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Dr Infrared Heater DR-968 Portable Space HeaterDr Infrared Heater DR-968 Portable Space Heater9.7/10View on Amazon
  4. 4DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-PS11524 Salamander ConstructionDR. INFRARED HEATER DR-PS11524 Salamander ConstructionView on Amazon
  5. 5Dr. Infrared Heater DR-966 240-Volt Hardwired Shop GarageDr. Infrared Heater DR-966 240-Volt Hardwired Shop GarageView on Amazon
  6. 6DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-978 New Upgraded Dual Heating HybridDR. INFRARED HEATER DR-978 New Upgraded Dual Heating HybridView on Amazon
  7. 7Dr. Infrared Heater DR-968H Indoor Portable Space Heater withDr. Infrared Heater DR-968H Indoor Portable Space Heater withView on Amazon
  8. 8DR. INFRARED HEATER DR218-1500W Greenhouse Garage WorkshopDR. INFRARED HEATER DR218-1500W Greenhouse Garage WorkshopView on Amazon
  9. 9DR. INFRARED HEATER DR966 240-volt Hardwired Shop GarageDR. INFRARED HEATER DR966 240-volt Hardwired Shop GarageView on Amazon

This dr infrared heater dr-998 review starts the way most garage winters start: it is mid-January, the truck is due for an oil change, and the bench thermometer says your fingers will give up around the second drain bolt. A plug-in heater that warms the work bay on a standard outlet has obvious appeal for that job. The DR Infrared Heater DR-998 is a 1500W cabinet-style heater with a built-in humidifier, oscillation and a remote control, and this review reads its Amazon listing line by line: what the specs mean, what they leave out, and who should skip it. We have not used the heater ourselves; everything here comes from the listing published by Dr. Heater USA.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

DR Infrared Heater DR-998 Infrared Space Heater

DR Infrared Heater DR-998 Infrared Space Heater

DR. INFRARED HEATER9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1500W infrared space heater that pairs an infrared quartz tube with a PTC element, adds a cool-mist ultrasonic humidifier, oscillation, a remote control, a 50 to 85°F thermostat and a 1 to 12 hour timer.

Pros

  • Dual infrared quartz tube and PTC heating with oscillation to move warmth around the room
  • Built-in cool-mist ultrasonic humidifier, so one unit covers heat and dry winter air
  • Remote control with batteries included, 50 to 85°F digital thermostat and 1 to 12 hour timer
  • 3 years limited parts and components warranty stated on the listing

Cons

  • No UL, ETL or CSA certification stated on the listing, so the safety score stays low
  • Title says DR-998 while the spec table lists the model as DR-998W
  • Recommended uses name a patio, but the listing says indoor use only
  • Title claims wheels for portability, yet the included components list none

More options to compare

DR infrared heater DR-998 review: the short verdict

The DR-998 is a plug-in appliance for one main job: making one room warmer on a standard 120V outlet. The listing’s headline feature is dual heating, an infrared quartz tube paired with a PTC element, and the maker claims 60% more warmth than standard 1500W heaters. That claim is the maker’s own, stated without a basis or a room-size rating to back it, so treat it as marketing until you see otherwise.

The rest of the package is about convenience: a cool-mist ultrasonic humidifier for dry winter air, oscillation to move warm air around, a remote control, a digital thermostat that sets from 50 to 85°F, a 1 to 12 hour timer, and a lifetime washable filter. Safety hardware is stated too: tip-over and overheat protection, a cool-touch exterior and no exposed heating elements. What is missing is any stated safety certification, and the humidifier’s tank capacity and the heater’s rated coverage are not stated either. The verdict: a feature-rich 1500W heater on paper, with a few listing gaps worth knowing before you buy.

Key specs

Product Shop Score Heat Output Thermostat
DR Infrared Heater DR-998 9.6/10 1500 watts 50 to 85°F

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on the Amazon listing and collected 19 October 2026. Where the listing contradicts itself, the review below trusts the title and bullets over the spec table.

The heater

What the DR-998 does well

Two heat sources in one cabinet

The bullets describe an infrared quartz tube plus a PTC element, and the spec table lists the heating method as convection, forced air and radiant. Read together, that means the DR-998 is not a pure radiant heater: it warms objects in its path and moves warm air with it. For a garage work bay that matters, because radiant heat feels good when you stand in front of it and forced air reaches the corners the radiant beam misses.

Humidifier built in

Winter shop heat dries the air, and the DR-998 includes a cool-mist ultrasonic humidifier to counter that. One appliance instead of two is genuinely useful in a small shop where bench space is already spoken for. The listing does not state the water tank capacity or how long it runs per fill, so plan on refilling it on a schedule you cannot yet look up.

Controls you can run from the workbench

The remote control ships with GN24A AAA batteries in the box, the digital thermostat sets from 50 to 85°F, and the timer runs 1 to 12 hours. A lifetime washable filter rounds out the package. None of this is exotic, but together it means you can set the temperature once and adjust it without walking across a cold garage.

Stated safety hardware

The listing states tip-over and overheat protection, a cool-touch exterior and no exposed heating elements, which is the right set of features for a heater that will sit near foot traffic, kids or pets. The gap is the certification: no UL, ETL or CSA mark is stated anywhere, so the safety score here reflects stated features rather than an independent listing claim.

Limitations

  • Model number mismatch. The title calls it the DR-998, but the spec table lists the model number and part number as DR-998W. Minor, but worth flagging when you search for parts or the manual.
  • Wheels are claimed but not packed. The title says “Portable with Wheels”, yet the included components list only the heater, the remote, the user manual and the GN24A AAA batteries. If wheels matter to you, confirm they are actually in the box.
  • Patio in, indoor only. Recommended uses name the garage, home, office and patio, but indoor/outdoor usage says indoor. A patio suggests outdoor use; the listing’s own usage field contradicts that, so treat it as an indoor heater.
  • No safety certification stated. Tip-over and overheat protection are stated, but no UL, ETL or CSA certification is, and our Shop Score gives no points for a certification the listing does not state.
  • Missing numbers. Humidifier tank capacity, rated room coverage, unit weight and the oscillation sweep in degrees are all not stated. The dimensions read 16 by 11 by 16 in, a cabinet you should measure your space for before ordering.
  • Marketing claim without a basis. The “60% more warmth than standard 1500W heaters” line is the maker’s claim, with no stated basis, room size or comparison conditions. Read it as advertising, not a spec.

How we scored it

Shop Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Full method on our how we pick page.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
DR Infrared Heater DR-998 9.6 29 21 20 5 4

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Who should buy the DR infrared heater DR-998, and who should skip it

Buy it if

  • You want one appliance that heats and humidifies a single room, and a 1500W, 120V plug-in unit fits your space.
  • You work in a garage or home office and want a remote, a thermostat and a timer without extra gadgets.
  • The 3 years limited parts and components warranty matters more to you than a stated safety certification.
  • You are fine with a 16 by 11 by 16 in freestanding cabinet sitting on the floor near your work area.

Skip it if

  • You need a stated UL, ETL or CSA certification on the listing before you buy. See our best infrared garage heater picks for alternatives with stated credentials.
  • You need to heat a whole garage, not one work bay: compare radiant and forced air first in our infrared vs forced air garage heater guide.
  • You wanted a heater for the patio. The listing says indoor use only despite naming a patio.
  • You need the unit on wheels for daily moves. The title says portable with wheels, but the included components list does not name any.

Alternatives

  • Radiant-only options: the best infrared garage heater roundup compares radiant heaters for garage use.
  • Electric vs propane: if you are choosing a fuel type, the electric vs propane garage heater comparison lays out the trade-offs.
  • Right size: the electric garage heater size guide explains how to match wattage and voltage to your space.
Heater safety

Never run a fuel-burning heater, generator or engine in a closed garage: carbon monoxide builds up fast and has no smell. Fit a CO alarm, keep clearances to cars and storage, use vented gas heaters installed to code, and put 240V electric heaters on a dedicated circuit. See CPSC carbon monoxide guidance. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

The DR-998 draws a listed 12.6 A at 120 volts for its 1500 watts, from a corded plug. Run it on a circuit that can carry that load, keep anything that burns clear of the cabinet, and follow the maker’s placement guidance in the manual. If your garage needs a new outlet or a dedicated circuit for it, have a licensed electrician do that work.

Garage Fit Check

  • Space: the cabinet measures 16 by 11 by 16 in and stands freestanding. Measure your floor spot before the first cold job.
  • Power: 1500 watts on 120 volts with a listed 12.6 A draw. Know which outlet and circuit will carry it before you plug it in for the season.
  • Placement: indoor use only per the listing, even though a patio appears in the recommended uses. Keep it clear of anything that burns.
  • Upkeep: lifetime washable filter per the listing; the remote ships with GN24A AAA batteries included. Storage weight and humidifier tank capacity are not stated, so check the manual when it arrives.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much power does the DR infrared heater DR-998 draw?

The spec table lists 1500 watts, 120 volts and 12.6 amps, on corded electric power. That is a standard plug-in load, but check which circuit your outlet sits on before adding it to a loaded garage circuit.

Does the DR-998 include a humidifier?

Yes. The bullets list a cool-mist ultrasonic humidifier, meant to counter dry winter air. The water tank capacity and run time per fill are not stated on the listing.

Can I use the DR-998 in my garage?

Garage is one of the listing’s recommended uses, and indoor use only is the stated usage. For sizing a heater to your space, the electric garage heater size guide covers matching wattage and voltage.

Does the DR-998 oscillate?

Oscillation is a stated feature, described as spreading warm air evenly through the room. The sweep range in degrees is not stated.

What controls come with the DR-998?

A remote control with GN24A AAA batteries, a digital thermostat from 50 to 85°F, a 1 to 12 hour timer and a lifetime washable filter are all stated on the listing.

Is the DR-998 safe around kids and pets?

The listing states tip-over and overheat protection, a cool-touch exterior and no exposed heating elements. No UL, ETL or CSA certification is stated, so if a stated certification is a must for you, confirm it with the maker before buying.

Related: our best infrared garage heater picks, the infrared vs forced air garage heater comparison, the electric vs propane garage heater guide, our electric garage heater size guide.

More buying guides