12v vs 24v Battery Charger: Which One Should You Buy?
A 12V sealed lead-acid maintainer and two 24V lithium iron phosphate chargers compared on chemistry, charging voltage, current, protections, and size, so you can match the charger to the battery in your garage.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Schumacher Electric 15A Car Battery Charger & Maintainer9.8/10View on Amazon - 2
10Amp Battery Charger Smart Car Trickle Charger 12V 24V9.7/10View on Amazon - 3
PZ.P 15-Amp 12V/24V Smart Battery Charger9.7/10View on Amazon - 4
MOTOPOWER MP00205A 12V 800mA Automatic Battery ChargerView on Amazon - 5
E-FAST 25A Smart Car Battery ChargerView on Amazon - 6
PZ.P 15-Amp 12V/24V Smart Battery ChargerView on Amazon - 7
WAVLINK 35-Amp Smart Battery Charger 6V 12V 24V Auto-DetectView on Amazon - 8
12A Smart Car Battery ChargerView on Amazon - 9
HERISKEER 24V 10A Lithium Battery Charger 29.2V LiFePO4View on Amazon
Verdict: Pick a 12v charger for a 12V sealed lead-acid pack that mostly needs maintenance. Pick a 24v charger for a 24V lithium iron phosphate pack, choosing the 30A or 10A example on current.
A battery that sat all winter greets you with a slow crank, and the charger on the shelf is the wrong voltage for the pack on the bench. Getting voltage and chemistry right matters most, because a charger built for one chemistry does not serve the other. This guide compares the 12v vs 24v battery charger choice through the listings below: one 12V sealed lead-acid maintainer and two 24V lithium iron phosphate chargers.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

BROODAY 29.2V/24V 30A LiFePO4 Lithium Battery
A 24V lithium iron phosphate charger with 29.2V charging voltage and 30A current, a smart chip, a full protection suite, and a stated temperature range.
Pros
- 30A current with 29.2V charging voltage for 24V LiFePO4 packs
- Smart chip plus soft-start, over-current, over-voltage, and short-circuit protection
- Stated temperature range from -13°F to 104°F
- CE, FCC, and ROHS certification stated in the listing
Cons
- Not compatible with lead-acid, AGM, or other battery types
- Warranty description states no concrete term
- Large 8.0 x 4.0 x 2.0 inch body for a bench charger
- No UL, ETL, or CSA mark stated in the listing

BROODAY 29.2V/24V 10A LiFePO4 Lithium Battery
A 24V lithium iron phosphate charger with 29.2V charging voltage and 10A current, a smart chip, a full protection suite, and a stated temperature range.
Pros
- 10A current with 29.2V charging voltage for 24V LiFePO4 packs
- Smart chip plus soft-start, over-current, over-voltage, and short-circuit protection
- Stated temperature range from -13°F to 104°F
- CE, FCC, and ROHS certification stated in the listing
Cons
- Not compatible with lead-acid, AGM, or other battery types
- Warranty description states no concrete term
- Large 8.0 x 4.0 x 2.0 inch body for a bench charger
- No UL, ETL, or CSA mark stated in the listing

KITUREK 12V 1300mA Sealed Lead Acid (SLA)
A 12V sealed lead-acid smart charger maintainer at 1300mA with automatic stop at full charge, an LED charge status indicator, and a compact plastic shell.
Pros
- Compatible with all 12V sealed lead-acid batteries, including motorcycle, automobile, ATV, and lawn mower packs
- Stops charging automatically when the battery is full, with an LED indicator for charge status
- Protection against short circuits, overcurrent, overheating, high voltage spikes, and low voltage drops
- Compact 1.2 x 1.9 x 2.8 inch plastic shell for tight spaces
Cons
- Built as a maintainer and trickle charger, not a high-current charger
- Warranty description states no concrete term
- No temperature range stated in the listing
- No weight stated in the listing
Other tools worth a look
MOTOPOWER MP00205A 12V 800mA Automatic Battery ChargerCheck price on Amazon
E-FAST 25A Smart Car Battery ChargerCheck price on Amazon
PZ.P 15-Amp 12V/24V Smart Battery ChargerCheck price on Amazon
WAVLINK 35-Amp Smart Battery Charger 6V 12V 24V Auto-DetectCheck price on Amazon
12A Smart Car Battery ChargerCheck price on Amazon
HERISKEER 24V 10A Lithium Battery Charger 29.2V LiFePO4Check price on Amazon
Side by side
| 12V side | 24V side, 30A example | 24V side, 10A example | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Battery chemistry | Sealed lead-acid (SLA) | LiFePO4 | LiFePO4 |
| Charging voltage | 13.8V output | 29.2V | 29.2V |
| Current | 1300mA | 30A | 10A |
| Role | Maintainer and trickle charger | Charger | Charger |
| Protections | Short circuits, overcurrent, overheating, high voltage spikes, low voltage drops | Soft-start, over-current, over-voltage, short-circuit | Soft-start, over-current, over-voltage, short-circuit |
| Temperature range | Not stated | -13°F to 104°F | -13°F to 104°F |
| Size | 1.2 x 1.9 x 2.8 inches | 8.0 x 4.0 x 2.0 inches | 8.0 x 4.0 x 2.0 inches |
| Lead-acid compatibility | Yes, all 12V sealed lead-acid | No, not compatible with lead-acid or AGM | No, not compatible with lead-acid or AGM |
| Certifications stated | Not stated | CE, FCC, ROHS | CE, FCC, ROHS |
Example figures are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 1 November 2026.
12v vs 24v battery charger: chemistry first, current second
Chemistry decides the side. The 12V example is a smart charger maintainer for all 12V sealed lead-acid batteries, including motorcycle, automobile, ATV, and lawn mower packs. Both 24V examples are designed for 24V lithium iron phosphate chemistry only, and both state they are not compatible with lead-acid, AGM, or other battery types. A charger picked on voltage alone, without matching chemistry, does not fit its pack.
Current sets the role, not a winner. The 12V example lists 1300mA and is built as a maintainer and trickle charger, with automatic stop when the battery is full. The 24V examples list 29.2V charging voltage with 30A on one listing and 10A on the other, each with a smart chip. The listings serve different chemistries and different roles, so current alone does not make one side better than the other.
Protections and temperature range
The 12V example lists protection against short circuits, overcurrent, overheating, high voltage spikes, and low voltage drops, plus an LED indicator that shows charge status. The 24V examples list soft-start, over-current, over-voltage, and short-circuit protection, plus an LED indicator. Only the 24V listings state a temperature range, from -13°F to 104°F; the 12V listing leaves temperature unstated, so the comparison leaves that point unclear for the 12V side rather than calling it a loss.
Size and storage
The 12V example is the compact pick on stated size: 1.2 x 1.9 x 2.8 inches in a plastic shell, which the listing describes as suited to environments with limited space. Each 24V example measures 8.0 x 4.0 x 2.0 inches. Size matters on a crowded bench, but it does not change which chemistry a charger serves.
Choose a 12v charger if
- Your pack is a 12V sealed lead-acid battery
- You want a maintainer that stops charging automatically at full charge
- You need a compact charger for a tight space
- Your jobs include motorcycle, automobile, ATV, or lawn mower packs
Choose a 24v charger if
- Your pack is a 24V lithium iron phosphate pack
- You need 29.2V charging voltage with 30A or 10A current
- You want soft-start, over-current, over-voltage, and short-circuit protection
- You charge in a wide temperature range, from -13°F to 104°F
Example chargers
For more choices, see the best car battery charger and the battery charger versus battery maintainer comparison.
Lead-acid batteries can release hydrogen while charging, so charge in a ventilated space away from sparks and flames, connect positive first and negative last, set the charger to the battery type (flooded, AGM, gel, lithium), and wear eye protection. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Garage Fit Check
- Space: the 12V example measures 1.2 x 1.9 x 2.8 inches, while each 24V example measures 8.0 x 4.0 x 2.0 inches, so check bench and shelf room before ordering.
- Power and chemistry: the 12V example serves sealed lead-acid packs, while the 24V examples serve 24V lithium iron phosphate packs and state they are not compatible with lead-acid or AGM packs.
- Hookup: the 12V listing connects the red pin to the positive pole and the black pin to the negative pole.
- Before the first job: check that pack voltage and chemistry match the charger.
FAQ: garage tools
Can a 12v charger charge a 24v battery?
No, on these listings. The 12V example is built for 12V sealed lead-acid packs with 13.8V output, while the 24V examples deliver 29.2V charging voltage for 24V lithium iron phosphate packs. Match the charger to the pack voltage and chemistry.
Can a 24v charger charge a lead-acid battery?
Not these examples. Both 24V listings state they are not compatible with lead-acid, AGM, or other battery types, and are designed for 24V lithium iron phosphate chemistry only.
What is the difference between the two 24v examples?
Current. The two listings share 29.2V charging voltage, protections, temperature range, and dimensions, but one lists 30A and the other lists 10A.
What does a battery maintainer do?
On the 12V listing, the maintainer charges and maintains the battery for a long time, stops charging automatically when the battery is full, and shows charge status through an LED indicator.
Related: the lithium versus lead-acid battery charger comparison, the AGM versus flooded battery charger comparison, the smart charger versus trickle charger comparison, the best battery charger for RV, and our diagnostics and electrical hub.



