Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Battery Chargers for Automotive Shops Under $300: 5 Picks by Charge Rate

Five battery chargers for automotive shops compared by charge rate, engine start amps, voltage, battery types, weight and warranty.

Best Battery Chargers for Automotive Shops Under $300: 5 Picks by Charge Rate
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1DCACNLE 15A ChargerBest OverallDCACNLE 15A Charger9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2PLXX BC-602 ChargerRunner-UpPLXX BC-602 Charger9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Schumacher SC1400Best Engine StartSchumacher SC14009.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Clore PL2320Best 20A Charge RateClore PL23209.6/10View on Amazon
  5. 5DEWALT DXAEC200Best RollingDEWALT DXAEC2009.4/10View on Amazon
  6. 6MOTOPOWER MP00205A 12V 800mA Automatic Battery ChargerMOTOPOWER MP00205A 12V 800mA Automatic Battery ChargerView on Amazon
  7. 7CRAFTSMAN 12A Car Battery Charger & MaintainerCRAFTSMAN 12A Car Battery Charger & MaintainerView on Amazon
  8. 825A Smart Car Battery Charger25A Smart Car Battery ChargerView on Amazon
  9. 912V 24V Car Battery Charger Heavy Duty12V 24V Car Battery Charger Heavy DutyView on Amazon
  10. 102A Battery Maintainer & Trickle Charger2A Battery Maintainer & Trickle ChargerView on Amazon

The shop truck would not turn over on a Monday morning, and the battery on the bench was too far gone for a jump pack to save it. That is the job that decides the best battery chargers for automotive shops under 300 dollars: a charger that can push real amps into a dead battery, start an engine when the battery is flat, and keep the rest of the fleet maintained between jobs. This guide compares five shop chargers on what their listings state.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall DCACNLE 15A Charger: 0 to 15A with 12V/24V auto detect, a desulfator, a winter mode to -20°C and a 3 year warranty. Check price on Amazon
  • Runner-Up PLXX BC-602 Charger: The same 0 to 15A and 3-year warranty with 7-stage charging, battery repair above 3V and a 12V power supply mode. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Engine Start Schumacher SC1400: 300A engine start at 12V and 200A at 6V with up to 60A boost on a wheeled cart. Check price on Amazon
  • Best 20A Charge Rate Clore PL2320: 2/10/20A charge rates with 6V/12V support, a power supply mode and a UL listing. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Rolling DEWALT DXAEC200: 200A engine start and 40A charging stated in a rolling unit with a telescoping handle. Check price on Amazon

The picks

DCACNLE 12V/24V 0-15A Car Battery Charger Heavy

DCACNLE 12V/24V 0-15A Car Battery Charger Heavy

DCACNLE9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 0 to 15A smart charger with 12V/24V auto detect, a desulfator, a winter mode to -20°C and a 3 year warranty.

Pros

  • 0 to 15A with 12V/24V auto detect and fast or slow modes by battery size
  • Desulfator with pulse current plus a winter mode to -20°C
  • Reverse polarity, short circuit, overvoltage, overcurrent, overcharge and overheat protection
  • 3 year warranty with a 6.3 ft DC cable and 6 ft AC cable

Cons

  • Not compatible with lithium batteries per the listing
  • Spec table lists 40 items against a unit count of 1
  • 12.3 lb, heavier than a bench maintainer
  • Lesser-known brand with thinner parts support
PLXX 12V 24V 0-15A Automatic Car Battery Charger

PLXX 12V 24V 0-15A Automatic Car Battery Charger

PLXX9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 0 to 15A smart charger with 12V/24V auto detect, 7-stage charging, battery repair above 3V and a 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • 0 to 15A with 12V/24V auto detect and 7-stage smart charging
  • Battery repair and desulfation for batteries above 3V
  • Covers 4 to 300Ah AGM, gel, wet, EFB, calcium, MF and deep-cycle batteries
  • 3-year warranty with a 12V DC power supply mode

Cons

  • No stated fast-charge battery size threshold like its rival
  • Electrolysis use named, which most shops will never touch
  • 12.4 lb, heavier than a bench maintainer
  • Lesser-known brand with thinner parts support
Schumacher Electric 6A Car Battery Charger & 300A

Schumacher Electric 6A Car Battery Charger & 300A

Schumacher Electric9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A wheeled 6A charger and 300A engine starter for 6V/12V batteries with boost, maintain and desulfation modes.

Pros

  • 300A engine start at 12V and 200A at 6V with up to 60A boost
  • Charges and starts 6V/12V standard, AGM, gel and deep-cycle batteries
  • Desulfation mode plus 6A/2A charging and maintaining
  • UL 1236, FCC and DOE stated with a 1 year warranty

Cons

  • Spec table says boost is 40A to 20A variable, against up to 60A in the bullets
  • 40 lb on wheels, needs floor space at 12 by 12.5 by 23.38 in
  • Only 6A charging, slow for big dead batteries
  • Stated 10 hour charge time
Clore Automotive PL2320 20-Amp Fully-Automatic

Clore Automotive PL2320 20-Amp Fully-Automatic

Clore Automotive9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20A fully automatic smart charger for 6V/12V batteries with power supply mode and temperature compensation.

Pros

  • 2/10/20A charge rates in the title and bullets for 6V/12V batteries
  • Power supply mode for stable system voltage during service work
  • Temperature compensation in the multi-phase charge process
  • UL stated with a 1 year warranty

Cons

  • Spec table says 4A charge rate, against 2/10/20A in the title and bullets
  • Spec table says no data for 6V charging, against 6V in the title
  • 1.3 lb stated weight is very light for a 20A charger
  • No battery types named beyond 6V and 12V
DeWalt DXAEC200 Rolling 40 Amp Battery Charger

DeWalt DXAEC200 Rolling 40 Amp Battery Charger

DEWALT9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A rolling 40A charger with 200A engine start, a 3A maintainer and an alternator check, per the title and bullets.

Pros

  • 200A engine start and 40A charging stated in the title and bullets
  • Rolling design with a telescoping handle at 16 lb
  • Alternator check and battery reconditioner named in the bullets
  • LCD screen with a countdown charging timer

Cons

  • Spec table says engine start no, charger 2A and maintainer 2A, against the title and bullets
  • Spec table says no to alternator check and reconditioner, against the bullets
  • No safety listing stated, only Energy Star
  • Only lead-acid batteries named

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Shop Score Charge rate Engine start Voltage Battery types Weight Warranty
DCACNLE 15A Charger 9.7/10 0 to 15A Not stated 12V/24V auto AGM, gel, wet, EFB, calcium, deep-cycle 12.3 lb 3 year
PLXX BC-602 Charger 9.6/10 0 to 15A Not stated 12V/24V auto 4 to 300Ah AGM, gel, wet, EFB, calcium, MF, deep-cycle 12.4 lb 3-year
Schumacher SC1400 9.6/10 6A/2A (12V), 2A (6V) 300A 6V/12V Standard, AGM, gel, deep-cycle 40 lb 1 year
Clore PL2320 9.6/10 2/10/20A Not stated 6V/12V Not stated 1.3 lb 1 year
DEWALT DXAEC200 9.4/10 40A 200A 6V or 12V Lead acid 16 lb 1 year

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 22 October 2026. “Not stated” means the listing does not give the figure, and where a spec table contradicts the title and bullets, the title and bullets are trusted.

How we scored them

Each charger is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. The two 3 year warranty listings lead, the Schumacher follows on its 300A engine start, and the DEWALT trails because its spec table contradicts its own title on engine start, charge rate and maintainer.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
DCACNLE 15A Charger 9.7 29 20 21 8 4
PLXX BC-602 Charger 9.6 28 20 21 8 4
Schumacher SC1400 9.6 32 20 21 8 2
Clore PL2320 9.6 28 19 20 7 2
DEWALT DXAEC200 9.4 26 20 16 0 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

I read five shop charger listings under $300. Two state a 0 to 15A charge rate with 12V/24V auto detect, two state an engine start figure (300A and 200A), and two state a 3 year warranty. Three of the five name a desulfation or recondition mode, and two listings contradict their own spec tables on basic figures, which is why the reviews call those out.

Buying guide: best battery chargers for automotive shops under 300

Match the charge rate to the battery

Charge rate is the number that decides how fast a dead battery comes back. The DCACNLE and PLXX listings state 0 to 15A with fast and slow modes, and the DCACNLE listing ties the modes to battery size: fast charge for batteries above 30Ah, slow charge for batteries under 30Ah. The Clore listing names 2/10/20A charge rates in its title and bullets, though its spec table says 4A, and the Schumacher listing states 6A and 2A charging on 12V plus 2A on 6V. For a maintainer that sits on a stored car all winter, a low amp trickle is enough; for a shop that needs a truck back by lunch, more amps matter. See battery charger vs battery maintainer.

Engine start and boost are shop features

Only two listings here state an engine start figure. The Schumacher SC1400 states 300A of starting power at 12V and 200A at 6V, with up to 60A in boost mode, though its spec table says 40A to 20A variable for boost. The DEWALT DXAEC200 states 200A engine start in its title and bullets, though its spec table says no to engine start. If your shop regularly starts dead vehicles, an engine start figure belongs on your short list; a plain charger without one still charges fine, it just cannot crank. See jump starter vs battery charger.

Voltage and battery types

The DCACNLE and PLXX listings auto detect 12V and 24V, which covers trucks and equipment beyond cars. The Schumacher and Clore listings cover 6V and 12V, and the DEWALT listing states 6V or 12V. On chemistry, the Schumacher listing names standard, AGM, gel and deep-cycle, the DCACNLE listing names AGM, gel, wet, EFB, calcium and deep-cycle, and the PLXX listing adds MF to that list with a stated 4 to 300Ah range. The DCACNLE listing notes it is not compatible with lithium batteries. See AGM vs flooded battery charger.

Protection and cold weather

The two 15A listings state the most protection: reverse polarity, short circuit, overvoltage, overcurrent, overcharge and overheat protection on both, with auto shutoff when the battery is full. The DCACNLE listing also names a winter mode for charging in extreme cold down to -20°C, and the PLXX listing names a winter mode as well. See car battery chargers for winter.

Battery charging safety

Lead-acid batteries can release hydrogen while charging, so charge in a ventilated space away from sparks and flames, connect positive first and negative last, set the charger to the battery type (flooded, AGM, gel, lithium), and wear eye protection. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Plan the floor space: the Schumacher listing states 12 by 12.5 by 23.38 in on wheels at 40 lb, and the DEWALT listing states a rolling design with a telescoping handle, while the Clore listing states 8 by 9.4 by 4.5 in at 1.3 lb for a shelf.
  • Check the outlet: the DCACNLE listing states 110V input and the other four state 120V, so all five run on a standard garage outlet.
  • Check the cable reach: the DCACNLE listing states a 6.3 ft DC cable and a 6 ft AC cable, which decides how far the charger sits from the vehicle.
  • Match the clamps to the job: thickened clamps are stated on the DCACNLE listing, and ring terminals plus a 12V adapter are stated on the Clore listing.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a battery charger also work as a maintainer?

Four of the five listings here say yes in some form. The Schumacher listing states 6A to 2A charging and maintaining on 12V and 2A on 6V, the DEWALT listing states a 3A maintainer, the DCACNLE listing names a trickle maintenance mode with pulse current, and the Clore title names a battery maintainer. A maintainer holds a stored battery at full charge without overcharging it.

What does a desulfation or recondition mode do?

It is a charge cycle the maker says can restore capacity lost to sulfation on the battery plates. The Schumacher listing names a battery reconditioning mode with desulfation, the DCACNLE and PLXX listings name a desulfator that can revive weak or sulfated batteries, with the PLXX listing stating it works on batteries above 3V, and the DEWALT bullets describe a battery reconditioner that switches on automatically. It helps old batteries, it does not raise the dead.

Do I need a 24V charger for a home shop?

Only if you charge 24V systems. The DCACNLE and PLXX listings auto detect 12V and 24V, which covers diesel trucks and equipment with 24V setups. If everything you own is 12V, the 6V/12V Schumacher and Clore listings and the 6V or 12V DEWALT listing cover cars, motorcycles, ATVs and marine batteries.

How long does it take to charge a car battery with a charger?

It depends on the battery size and how dead it is. The Schumacher listing is the only one here to state a figure: a 10 hour battery charge time. Higher amp chargers like the 0 to 15A listings finish sooner than a 2A trickle, which is why shops keep both. See how long charging takes.

Is an engine start figure the same as a jump starter?

No. An engine start figure like the Schumacher 300A or the DEWALT 200A means the charger, plugged into the wall, can deliver starting current through its clamps. A jump starter is a portable battery pack with no wall cord. The charger wins in the shop; the jump starter wins on the roadside.

Related: the best battery chargers for automotive shops, the best battery charger for deep-cycle batteries, charger vs jumper cables and the best car battery charger for trucks.

More buying guides