Best Impact Wrench for Mechanics (2026): 5 Cordless Picks
Five cordless impact wrenches for mechanics, ranked by stated torque, voltage platform, speed control, included sockets and batteries, and how much each listing discloses.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
Top pickFogera 20V Impact Wrench9.5/10View on Amazon - 2
Best for prosBDJHMP Impact Wrench9.5/10View on Amazon - 3
Best value kitBluebow 21V Impact Wrench9.4/10View on Amazon - 4
Compact pickCRAFTSMAN V20 Impact Wrench9.3/10View on Amazon - 5
Budget comboACDelco 12V Combo9.2/10View on Amazon - 6
AIRCAT 1150 1/2" Composite Impact WrenchView on Amazon - 7
Ingersoll Rand 231C 1/2" Drive Air Impact Wrench Features upView on Amazon - 8
Ingersoll Rand 2235TiMAX 1/2"-Drive Air Impact WrenchView on Amazon - 9
AIRCAT 1056-XL 1/2" Nitrocat Composite Compact Impact WrenchView on Amazon - 10
MILWAUKEE'S Mid-Torque Impact WrenchView on Amazon
For a mechanic, the impact wrench is the tool that breaks loose the rusted bolt nobody else will touch. All five listings here are cordless electric models, so this best impact wrench for mechanics guide compares them on what matters in the shop: stated torque, voltage platform, speed control, what ships in the box, and how much each listing actually says.
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Top pick Fogera 20V Impact Wrench: Stated 1,100 ft-lbs, brushless motor, 3 speed modes, 6 impact sockets, bare tool for DeWalt 20V. Check price on Amazon
- Best for pros BDJHMP Impact Wrench: Stated 1,106 ft-lbs, 4 speeds to 3,000 RPM, 3 modes, and the biggest kit: batteries, charger, case. Check price on Amazon
- Best value kit Bluebow 21V Impact Wrench: Stated 900 ft-lbs with two 4.0Ah batteries, fast charger, 4 sockets and a brake-stop function. Check price on Amazon
- Compact pick CRAFTSMAN V20 Impact Wrench: Stated 275 ft-lbs fastening torque, 20V brushless bare tool at 4 lb and 8.7 in, 2 modes, LED. Check price on Amazon
- Budget combo ACDelco 12V Combo: 12V combo kit: 45 ft-lbs ratchet plus 90 ft-lbs impact wrench, battery, charger and bag included. Check price on Amazon
The picks

1/2" Cordless Impact Wrench for Dewalt 20V
A 1/2 inch cordless impact wrench stated at 1,100 ft-lbs with a brushless motor, 3 speed modes, an LED light and 6 impact sockets, as a bare tool for DeWalt 20V batteries.
Pros
- Stated 1,100 ft-lbs (1,500 N.m) of max torque, near the top of the group
- Brushless motor with 3 speed modes for low, medium and high torque work
- Ships with 6 impact sockets, extension bar, O-rings and pins
- Stated overcurrent, overvoltage and overheat protection
Cons
- Bare tool: battery not included, so total cost depends on your platform
- No safety certification is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- No length or weight is stated despite the compact design claim

Cordless Impact Wrench 1/2 Inch
A 1/2 inch cordless impact wrench stated at 1,106 ft-lbs with 4 speeds to 3,000 RPM, forward, reverse and lock modes, and the largest accessory kit of the group.
Pros
- Stated 1,106 ft-lbs (1,500 N.m), the highest figure in the group
- 4 adjustable speeds at 1,200, 1,800, 2,400 and 3,000 RPM with 3 modes
- Largest kit: two 5.0Ah batteries, charger, case, 6 sockets, bits and nut drivers
- High-altitude mode stops the wrench after loosening so nuts do not fall
Cons
- Title says Makita 18V compatible but the spec table says 20 volts: contradiction
- No safety certification is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- Item weight states 4.6 kg while the rest of the table reads metric-light, odd units

1/2 Inch Cordless Impact Wrench
A 1/2 inch cordless impact wrench stated at 900 ft-lbs with two 21V 4.0Ah batteries, a fast charger, 4 sockets and a brake-stop function.
Pros
- Stated 900 ft-lbs (1,200 N.m), solid mid-range torque for automotive work
- Two 21V 4.0Ah batteries and a fast charger included
- 3-speed variable control with brake stop to keep loosened nuts from dropping
- LED stays on 20 seconds after the trigger releases
Cons
- No safety certification is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- At 11.81 inches it is the longest tool here, harder in tight bays
- 4 sockets is fewer than the 6 in the Fogera and BDJHMP kits

CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Impact Wrench, 1/2 inch
A 1/2 inch 20V brushless cordless impact wrench stated at 275 ft-lbs of fastening torque, as a bare tool with 2 modes and an LED work light.
Pros
- Stated 275 ft-lbs of max fastening torque, the working figure, not just breakaway
- Brushless motor with a stated 26% more runtime claim
- Hog ring anvil for easy socket changes
- LED work light for visibility in dark spots
Cons
- Lowest stated torque of the full-size tools here at 275 ft-lbs
- Bare tool: battery and charger sold separately
- No safety certification is stated
- No warranty term is stated

ACDelco ARW1209-K14 G12 Series 12V Li-ion Cordless
A 12V combo kit with a 3/8 inch ratchet at 45 ft-lbs and an impact wrench at 90 ft-lbs, including battery, fast charger and canvas bag.
Pros
- Two tools in one kit: ratchet plus impact wrench
- Includes 12V battery, fast charger and canvas carry bag
- Compact 12V system for tight engine bays
- Lowest torque figures suit small fasteners without stripping
Cons
- 90 ft-lbs impact torque is the lowest stated in the group
- Spec table names a 1/4 inch hex impact driver that the title and bullets do not
- Manufacturer warranty is named but no term is stated
- No safety certification is stated
More options to compare
AIRCAT 1150 1/2" Composite Impact WrenchCheck price on Amazon
Ingersoll Rand 231C 1/2" Drive Air Impact Wrench Features upCheck price on Amazon
Ingersoll Rand 2235TiMAX 1/2"-Drive Air Impact WrenchCheck price on Amazon
AIRCAT 1056-XL 1/2" Nitrocat Composite Compact Impact WrenchCheck price on Amazon
MILWAUKEE'S Mid-Torque Impact WrenchCheck price on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Model | Score | Max torque | Voltage | Drive | Speeds | Included | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fogera 20V Impact Wrench | 9.5/10 | 1,100 ft-lbs | 20V | 1/2 in | 3 modes | 6 sockets, extension, bare tool | Not stated |
| BDJHMP Impact Wrench | 9.5/10 | 1,106 ft-lbs | 18V / 20V* | 1/2 in | 4 speeds, 3 modes | 2 batteries, charger, case, sockets, bits | Not stated |
| Bluebow 21V Impact Wrench | 9.4/10 | 900 ft-lbs | 21V | 1/2 in | 3 speeds, brake stop | 2 batteries, charger, 4 sockets, box | Not stated |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Impact Wrench | 9.3/10 | 275 ft-lbs | 20V | 1/2 in | 2 modes | Tool only | Not stated |
| ACDelco 12V Combo | 9.2/10 | 90 ft-lbs | 12V | 3/8 in | 0-2,400 / 0-3,100 RPM | Battery, charger, bag | Manufacturer warranty* |
Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 20 October 2026. None of the five listings states a safety certification, and none states a warranty with a concrete term.
How we scored them
Each wrench is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. A spec the listing does not publish scores nothing.
| Product | Shop Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fogera 20V Impact Wrench | 9.5 | 32 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| BDJHMP Impact Wrench | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Bluebow 21V Impact Wrench | 9.4 | 29 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Impact Wrench | 9.3 | 24 | 19 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
| ACDelco 12V Combo | 9.2 | 21 | 16 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
What the listings tell you
We read five cordless impact wrench listings, not air tools: no air inlet, no CFM figures, no compressor requirements anywhere. That is worth saying plainly, because the keyword suggests air. Stated torque runs from 90 ft-lbs on the small ACDelco combo to 1,106 ft-lbs on the BDJHMP and 1,100 ft-lbs on the Fogera. Every one of the five states a brushless or battery operation, and four state multiple speed modes. Batteries are the weak spot in the listings: two are bare tools, one ships with two 5.0Ah batteries and a charger, one with two 4.0Ah batteries and a charger, and the ACDelco combo includes one 12V battery and a fast charger.
Buying guide: the best impact wrench for mechanics and what to check
Torque, as the listings state it
Stated torque is the first number to compare, but read how each listing phrases it. The Fogera states 1,100 ft-lbs (1,500 N.m) of max torque, the BDJHMP states 1,106 ft-lbs (1,500 N.m), the Bluebow states 900 ft-lbs (1,200 N.m), the CRAFTSMAN states 275 ft-lbs of max fastening torque, and the ACDelco states 90 ft-lbs for its impact wrench and 45 ft-lbs for the ratchet. Max torque describes loosening; the CRAFTSMAN is the only one here to say fastening torque, which is the working figure for driving. A figure from one listing describes that listing only: the Fogera’s 1,100 ft-lbs says nothing about the CRAFTSMAN. See our impact wrench vs breaker bar guide on when to reach for the gun and when to break the bolt by hand first.
Voltage platforms and battery sharing
The cordless listings lean on platforms you may already own. The Fogera is designed for DeWalt 20V batteries, sold bare. The BDJHMP title says it is compatible with Makita 18V batteries, though its own spec table says 20 volts, a contradiction to confirm before buying. The Bluebow ships with two 21V 4.0Ah batteries and a fast charger. The CRAFTSMAN is a 20V bare tool in the V20 system. The ACDelco runs on its own 12V li-ion battery, included. If you already own DeWalt, Makita, or CRAFTSMAN batteries, that narrows the field fast. Our 18V vs 20V impact wrench comparison covers what the voltage labels do and do not mean.
Speed control for delicate fasteners
Mechanics do not run full power on every bolt. The BDJHMP lists four speed settings at 1,200, 1,800, 2,400 and 3,000 RPM with forward, reverse and lock modes. The Fogera offers 3 speed modes. The Bluebow offers 3-speed variable control from 0 to 2,300 RPM plus a brake-stop function that keeps loosened nuts from dropping. The CRAFTSMAN lists 2 mode settings. The ACDelco impact wrench runs 0 to 2,400 impact and 0 to 3,100 RPM. More modes give finer control on small fasteners and plastic parts, where full torque would strip or snap.
What ships in the box
Count the extras, because they change the value. The Fogera includes 6 impact sockets (17, 18, 19, 21, 22 and 24 mm), an extension bar, O-rings and pins, bare tool. The BDJHMP includes two 5.0Ah batteries, a charger, a carrying case, 6 sockets, 5 drill bits, 3 nut drivers and other accessories. The Bluebow includes two 4.0Ah batteries, a fast charger, 4 sockets (17, 19, 21, 22 mm), an extension rod, a tool box and a manual. The ACDelco combo ships the ratchet, the impact wrench, one 12V battery, a fast charger and a canvas bag. The CRAFTSMAN is the tool only, battery and charger sold separately. Sockets here are metric, so pair the gun with the right set; see our metric vs SAE socket set guide.
Size, weight and tight spaces
Impact wrenches live under cars and inside wheel wells. The CRAFTSMAN states 8.7 inches long and 4 pounds. The Bluebow states 11.81 inches and 3.8 pounds. The ACDelco states 4.3 pounds for the kit tool. The BDJHMP states 4.6 kg in its table, and the Fogera listing states no length or weight at all. The Fogera and Bluebow both claim compact designs for tight spaces, stated as claims rather than dimensions. Under-car work also wants light, so the LED work lights on the Fogera, BDJHMP and Bluebow matter there; the Bluebow says its LED stays on 20 seconds after the trigger releases.
Contradictions to know about
Two listings disagree with themselves. The ACDelco spec table names its first tool as a 1/4 inch hex impact driver, while the title and bullets describe a 3/8 inch ratchet wrench and a 3/8 inch impact wrench; the title and bullets win. The BDJHMP title says it works with Makita 18V batteries while the spec table says the voltage is 20 volts; confirm which is right before buying into the platform. Neither contradiction affects the torque figures, but both are the kind of detail to verify with the seller.
Cordless vs air: the cluster question
The keyword plan behind this article tags an air impact wrench cluster, so the question is fair: where are the air tools? They are not in these listings. Every one of the five is cordless battery electric, and none states an air inlet size, a CFM figure, or a compressor requirement. That is a real difference for a working mechanic. An air tool needs a compressor, a hose and a fitting, and its torque depends on the shop air supply; a cordless tool needs only a charged battery. The listings here sell the cordless side of that trade: no hose to drag, no compressor cycling in the corner, but also no air-tool torque figures to compare. If your bays run on shop air, these five are not your category. If you want to leave the hose behind, they are.
Battery capacity between the kits
Two kits here let you compare battery capacity directly. The BDJHMP ships two 5.0Ah batteries with its charger; the Bluebow ships two 4.0Ah batteries with a fast charger. Both listings state lithium-ion, and both include the charger, so the out-of-box runtime story is the BDJHMP’s higher amp-hour figure against the Bluebow’s fast charging. The Fogera and CRAFTSMAN are bare tools: their runtime is whatever battery you already own, which the listings do not state. The ACDelco includes one 12V battery and a fast charger. Nothing here states charge time in minutes, so the fast charger claims are claims, not figures.
LED lights and trigger feel
Four listings mention a light. The Fogera and BDJHMP state built-in or trigger-activated LED work lights. The Bluebow goes further: its LED turns on with the trigger and stays lit for 20 seconds after release, the most specific light claim here. The CRAFTSMAN states an LED work light for added visibility. The ACDelco combo listing states no light at all. Trigger control matters too: the BDJHMP states smooth trigger control that varies speed with pressure, and the Bluebow states a smart trigger with variable speed. These are small features that show up every day under a dashboard.
Finish with a torque wrench
An impact wrench is for loosening and rough driving, not for final torque. None of the five listings states a torque accuracy figure, and none should be trusted for a lug nut’s final spec. After the impact gun, finish with a torque wrench set to the vehicle maker’s figure; our best torque wrench for lug nuts guide covers that step. This is especially true for the high-torque picks here: 900 to 1,106 ft-lbs will strip or snap a small fastener long before you feel it.
Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much torque does a mechanic need in an impact wrench?
Between these listings, stated torque runs from 90 ft-lbs on the compact ACDelco combo to 1,106 ft-lbs on the BDJHMP. For lug nuts and suspension bolts, the listings in the 900 to 1,100 ft-lbs band state the headroom a working mechanic wants; the smaller tools suit trim, interiors and light fasteners.
Do I need an air compressor for these impact wrenches?
No. Every listing here is cordless battery electric, with no air inlet or compressor requirement. If your shop runs on air, these are not that: they are the battery platform alternative.
What size drive should a mechanic get?
Four of the five listings are 1/2 inch drive, the standard for automotive work, lug nuts and suspension hardware. The ACDelco combo is 3/8 inch, suited to smaller fasteners and the ratchet in the kit. Match the drive to your socket set; see our impact socket vs chrome socket guide.
Are bare tools worth it?
The Fogera and CRAFTSMAN sell as bare tools, batteries not included. That is good value if you already own the platform’s batteries, and a bad deal if you do not, since batteries and chargers are the expensive part of cordless.
How do I keep an impact wrench working?
The listings here give little maintenance guidance. What they do state: the Fogera claims overcurrent, overvoltage and overheat protection, the BDJHMP has a lock mode that prevents accidental trigger pulls, and the Bluebow has a brake-stop to keep nuts from dropping. Store batteries charged and dry, and keep the anvil and sockets clean.
Related: the best cordless ratchet for brake jobs, the best torque wrench for lug nuts, our best tool chest for mechanics, and our garage safety notes.



