Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Metal Sawhorse (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five folding metal sawhorses compared by capacity, working height, tops and storage for garage work.

Best Metal Sawhorse (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1BORA Speedhorse PM-4500THighest CapacityBORA Speedhorse PM-4500T9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2WOODERS Sawhorse PairStrong All-RounderWOODERS Sawhorse Pair9.5/10View on Amazon
  3. 3BORA Speedhorse PM-4500T-EFast SetupBORA Speedhorse PM-4500T-E9.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Toolsempire Sawhorse PairPortable PairToolsempire Sawhorse Pair9.4/10View on Amazon

A brake job turns into a bench job when a door panel, a length of trim or a sheet of plywood needs a steady place to rest while you work, and a wobbly stand makes every cut and every coat harder than it should be. This roundup compares the best metal sawhorse options for a home garage, looking at capacity, folding legs, tops and storage so the stand you pick fits the work you actually do.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Highest Capacity BORA Speedhorse PM-4500T: 1800 lbs per stand, 3600 lbs as a pair, with a 30-inch working height and lever quick-release legs. Check price on Amazon
  • Strong All-Rounder WOODERS Sawhorse Pair: 2200 lbs as a pair, 1100 lbs per stand, with 2×4 support arms and slip-resistant pivoting feet. Check price on Amazon
  • Fast Setup BORA Speedhorse PM-4500T-E: Lever quick-release legs, a pre-drilled metal top for 2×4 brackets, and a 45-inch top length. Check price on Amazon
  • Portable Pair Toolsempire Sawhorse Pair: 9 lbs per stand, with a non-slip top, pre-drilled holes and a carry handle. Check price on Amazon

Picks for the garage

BORA Speedhorse Saw Horses 2 Pack Folding Heavy

BORA Speedhorse Saw Horses 2 Pack Folding Heavy

BORA9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of folding metal sawhorses with lever quick-release legs, a pre-drilled metal top for 2x4 brackets, a 30-inch working height and 1800 lbs capacity per stand.

Pros

  • 1800 lbs capacity per stand, 3600 lbs as a pair
  • Lever quick-release legs for fast setup and teardown
  • Pre-drilled metal top accepts 2x4 brackets for a worktop
  • 45-inch top length for a stable base

Cons

  • No concrete warranty term is stated
  • No non-slip top surface is stated
  • No safety certification is stated
  • Capacity is listed per stand in the bullets and as a pair in the title, so read both figures
CRAFTSMAN Metal Sawhorse, Folding (‎CMST11154)

CRAFTSMAN Metal Sawhorse, Folding (‎CMST11154)

CRAFTSMAN9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A single folding metal sawhorse rated for 1,000 lbs per pair, weighing 5.7 lbs with a limited lifetime warranty.

Pros

  • Limited lifetime warranty stated
  • 1,000 lb load capacity per pair
  • Weighs 5.7 lbs for easy carrying
  • Side latches stack two units for compact storage

Cons

  • Sold as a single sawhorse, not a pair
  • No working height stated
  • Spec table lists blade and power specs that do not fit a sawhorse
  • No certification stated
BORA Speedhorse Saw Horses 2 Pack Folding Heavy

BORA Speedhorse Saw Horses 2 Pack Folding Heavy

BORA9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack folding metal sawhorse with lever quick-release legs, a pre-drilled metal top for 2x4 brackets and a 30-inch working height, listed at 1800 lbs per stand.

Pros

  • 1800 lbs capacity per stand
  • Lever quick-release legs, with no set leg-folding order
  • Pre-drilled metal top for 2x4 brackets
  • 45-inch top length for stability

Cons

  • No weight is stated for a stand on its own
  • No concrete warranty term is stated
  • No non-slip top surface is stated
  • No safety certification is stated
WOODERS Folding Sawhorses 2 Pack

WOODERS Folding Sawhorses 2 Pack

WOODERS9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of folding steel sawhorses with 2x4 support arms, slip-resistant pivoting feet, a powder-coated finish and 2200 lbs capacity as a pair.

Pros

  • 2200 lbs as a pair, 1100 lbs per stand
  • 2x4 support arms on each end for a jobsite table
  • Slip-resistant pivoting feet adapt to uneven surfaces
  • Powder coating resists corrosion

Cons

  • No concrete warranty term is stated
  • No safety certification is stated
  • Pair weight of 28 lbs is more than the Toolsempire pair at 18.0 pounds
  • No height adjustment is stated
Toolsempire 2-Pack Folding Sawhorses

Toolsempire 2-Pack Folding Sawhorses

Toolsempire9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of folding metal sawhorses with a non-slip top sheet, pre-drilled holes, a carry handle and 550 lbs capacity as a pair.

Pros

  • 9 lbs per stand for easy carrying
  • Non-slip sheet on the top helps keep materials from sliding
  • Pre-drilled holes help hold materials in place
  • Lockable crossbars fold the legs flat for storage

Cons

  • 550 lbs as a pair is the lowest capacity here
  • No working height is stated
  • No concrete warranty term is stated
  • No safety certification is stated

Compared on paper

Model Shop Score Capacity Working height Top length Pack
BORA Speedhorse PM-4500T 9.6/10 3600 lbs 30 inches 45 inches 2-Pack
BORA Speedhorse PM-4500T-E 9.5/10 1800 lbs per stand 30 inches 45 inches 2-Pack
WOODERS Sawhorse Pair 9.5/10 2200 lbs 29.8 inches 45.5 inches 2-Pack
Toolsempire Sawhorse Pair 9.4/10 550 lbs Not stated Not stated 2-Pack
CRAFTSMAN CMST11154 9.6/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 1 November 2026. Where a listing gives a per-stand figure and a pair figure, both are shown.

How the points were given

Each sawhorse is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Safety points come only from stated slip-resistant tops or feet, and no listing states a concrete warranty term, so warranty scores stay at zero across the set. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
BORA Speedhorse PM-4500T 9.6 32 22 22 0 0
BORA Speedhorse PM-4500T-E 9.5 30 22 22 0 0
WOODERS Sawhorse Pair 9.5 29 21 20 2 0
Toolsempire Sawhorse Pair 9.4 26 20 20 2 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

Capacity is the clearest split in this set. The BORA listings give the highest per-stand capacity, the WOODERS pair sits in the middle, and the Toolsempire pair gives a much lower pair capacity, which makes it a lighter-duty choice for boards and panels rather than heavy timber. Working height is stated on the BORA and WOODERS listings and not stated on the Toolsempire or CRAFTSMAN listings, so a buyer who cares about height should start with the listings that state it.

Buying guide: best metal sawhorse for a garage

Capacity

Read capacity as the listing states it, and note whether the figure covers a stand on its own or a pair working together. The BORA listings state 1800 lbs per stand, with the pair figure in the title, while the WOODERS listing states 2200 lbs as a pair and 1100 lbs per stand, and the Toolsempire listing states 550 lbs as a pair. A stand that is loaded past its listed capacity is a poor choice for garage work, so match the listed figure to the boards, panels or assemblies that will rest on it.

Folding legs and storage

Folding legs matter in a small garage because a stand that folds flat can lean against a wall or slide behind a bench when the job is done. The BORA stands use lever quick-release legs, the Toolsempire stands fold their legs flat with lockable crossbars, and the WOODERS stands use fast-open folding legs with a carry handle. Check how the legs lock in the open position and how flat the stand sits when folded before choosing a pair for a tight bay.

Tops and brackets

The top decides how a board sits and whether it can be held in place. The BORA tops are pre-drilled metal, so 2×4 boards can be screwed in place as brackets for a worktop. The WOODERS stands carry 2×4 support arms on each end, so boards drop into brackets and turn a pair into a jobsite table. The Toolsempire tops carry a non-slip sheet and pre-drilled holes, which help keep materials from sliding and help hold them in place during cutting or assembly.

Working height

Working height shapes how comfortable a long job feels. The BORA listings state a 30-inch working height, and the WOODERS listing states open dimensions of 45.5 inches x 23.3 inches x 29.8 inches, which gives a working height near the BORA figure. The Toolsempire and CRAFTSMAN listings state no working height, so a buyer who needs a particular height should rely on the listings that state one and check the full listing before buying.

Feet and stability

Feet matter on a garage floor that is not perfectly even. The WOODERS stands use slip-resistant pivoting feet that adapt to uneven surfaces, and the Toolsempire tops use a non-slip sheet to help keep materials steady. The BORA listings point to a long top for stability, with a 45-inch top length. A stand that rocks on its feet will move during a cut, so check the feet and the top surface together rather than capacity alone.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Space: fold the legs flat for storage, and check the open size against the bay before a large panel goes on top.
  • Storage: a carry handle helps move a pair from a truck to the garage, and flat-folding legs save wall space when the stands are not in use.
  • Power: these stands need no power, so the check is the work surface and the floor, not an outlet or a cord.
  • Before a job: check the listed capacity per stand, the top surface and the feet, and confirm the height suits the work planned.

FAQ: garage tools

How much weight should a metal sawhorse hold for garage work?

It depends on the load, and the listings in this roundup differ widely. The BORA listings state 1800 lbs per stand, the WOODERS listing states 2200 lbs as a pair and 1100 lbs per stand, and the Toolsempire listing states 550 lbs as a pair. Match the listed capacity to the boards or assemblies planned, and check the full listing when a figure is given per stand rather than for a pair.

Do metal sawhorses fold flat for storage?

The folding listings here do fold for storage. The BORA stands use lever quick-release legs, the Toolsempire stands fold their legs flat with lockable crossbars, and the WOODERS stands use fast-open folding legs with a carry handle. The CRAFTSMAN listing describes a folding sawhorse, with no further folding detail in its title.

Can I use 2×4 boards with these sawhorses?

Yes, on the listings that state a bracket or arm for them. The BORA pre-drilled metal top allows 2×4 boards to be screwed in place as brackets for a worktop, and the WOODERS stands carry 2×4 support arms on each end. The Toolsempire stands have pre-drilled holes that help hold materials in place, while the CRAFTSMAN listing states no bracket detail.

What working height do these sawhorses give?

The BORA listings state a 30-inch working height, and the WOODERS listing states open dimensions of 45.5 inches x 23.3 inches x 29.8 inches. The Toolsempire and CRAFTSMAN listings state no working height, so a buyer who needs a particular height should start with a listing that states one.

Related: the tool storage hub, the best sawhorse heavy duty and the best portable sawhorse.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Tool Cart (2026)

Five rolling tool carts compared by capacity, storage layout, wheels, build, weight and warranty, for the home garage and workshop.

Tool Storage ·

Best Red Tool Chest (2026)

Five red steel tool chests compared by drawer count, detachable sections, wheels, locks, size and weight, for the home garage and workshop.

Tool Storage ·

Best Truck Tool Box Waterproof (2026)

Five waterproof truck tool boxes, from a wheel well unit to a 60 inch aluminum chest, compared on size, material, locks, seals and vehicle…