Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Best Tool Chest with Ball Bearing Drawer Slides (2026)

Five tool chests with ball bearing drawer slides compared by drawer count, slide type, lock, size and warranty term.

Best Tool Chest with Ball Bearing Drawer Slides (2026)
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1Dkenicor 7-Drawer CartBest OverallDkenicor 7-Drawer Cart9.7/10View on Amazon
  2. 2Homak 2-Drawer ChestBest WarrantyHomak 2-Drawer Chest9.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3Workington 9-DrawerBest Drawer CountWorkington 9-Drawer9.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Workington 6-DrawerBest PortableWorkington 6-Drawer9.6/10View on Amazon
  5. 5TUFFIOM 5-Drawer CartBest Rolling CartTUFFIOM 5-Drawer Cart9.4/10View on Amazon
  6. 6CRAFTSMAN Tool Chest Combo with Drawer Liner RollCRAFTSMAN Tool Chest Combo with Drawer Liner RollView on Amazon
  7. 7INTERGREAT 8 Drawers Tool ChestINTERGREAT 8 Drawers Tool ChestView on Amazon
  8. 8Tool Chest Heavy Duty Cart Steel Rolling Tool Box 5 DrawerTool Chest Heavy Duty Cart Steel Rolling Tool Box 5 DrawerView on Amazon
  9. 9Maxority 7-Drawer Heavy-Duty Rolling Tool Chest Cabinet withMaxority 7-Drawer Heavy-Duty Rolling Tool Chest Cabinet withView on Amazon
  10. 104-Drawer Tool Chest with Lock4-Drawer Tool Chest with LockView on Amazon

A brake job with sockets scattered across the workbench is the moment a proper chest earns its keep: every socket back in a drawer, every drawer gliding shut without a shove. This roundup compares the best tool chest with ball bearing drawer slides by drawer count, slide type, lock, size and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall Dkenicor 7-Drawer Cart: 7 drawers plus side drawer, 100-lb ball bearing slides, central lock Check price on Amazon
  • Best Warranty Homak 2-Drawer Chest: 1-year warranty stated, ball bearing glides, 80 lb capacity Check price on Amazon
  • Best Drawer Count Workington 9-Drawer: 9 drawers, all ball bearing slides, central cam lock Check price on Amazon
  • Best Portable Workington 6-Drawer: 6 drawers, all ball bearing slides, 25.3 lb stated Check price on Amazon
  • Best Rolling Cart TUFFIOM 5-Drawer Cart: 5 drawers, lockable wheels, top cushion, drawer liners Check price on Amazon

Picks for the garage

7-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest

7-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest

Dkenicor9.7/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 7-drawer rolling cart with a side storage drawer, full-extension ball bearing slides rated to 100 lbs and a stainless steel top.

Pros

  • All 7 drawers glide on full-extension ball bearing slides, each rated to 100 lbs
  • Side-mounted deep drawer holds bulky drills, impact wrenches and long-handled ratchets
  • Keyed central lock plus an interlock that allows only one drawer open at a time
  • 4 swivel casters, 2 with parking brakes, plus a reinforced side handle

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Item weight of 76.1 pounds makes it the heaviest chest here
  • Side cabinet works on its own, apart from the central lock
  • No interior drawer dimensions are stated
Homak 2 Drawer Ball Bearing Toolbox Chest, Red

Homak 2 Drawer Ball Bearing Toolbox Chest, Red

Homak9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-drawer metal toolbox with ball bearing glides, EVA foam mats and a double latch with pad lock.

Pros

  • 1-year manufacturer warranty term is stated
  • Double latch system with pad lock for security
  • Drawers lock when the lid is closed, so contents stay put in transit
  • EVA foam slip proof mats in each drawer

Cons

  • Only 2 drawers, the fewest here
  • Spec table lists a 16 ounce item weight beside a 72 ounce unit count
  • Not water resistant, per the spec table
  • Capacity of 80 pounds is stated without a per-drawer figure
Workington Professional Industrial Portable Metal

Workington Professional Industrial Portable Metal

Workington9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 9-drawer portable steel chest with all ball bearing drawer slides, a central cam lock and non-slip liners.

Pros

  • 9 drawers for sorting small and large tools
  • All ball bearing drawer slides for smooth open-to-close
  • Two side handles plus a full-length piano hinge
  • Non-slip drawer liners keep tools from rolling

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table lists a drawer quantity of 6 against 9 drawers in the title and bullets
  • Spec table height of 14-3/4 inches differs from the bullets' 16-7/8 inches
  • No casters are stated
Workington Portable Metal Tool Chest with 6

Workington Portable Metal Tool Chest with 6

Workington9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6-drawer portable steel chest with all ball bearing drawer slides, a central cam lock and non-slip liners.

Pros

  • All ball bearing drawer slides for smooth open-to-close
  • Central cam lock mechanism system for security
  • Non-slip drawer liners prevent tools from rolling
  • Two side handles stated in the bullets plus a full-length piano hinge

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table width of 14 inches differs from the bullets' 23-5/8 inches
  • Spec table says no side handle while the bullets state two side handles
  • No casters are stated
TUFFIOM 5-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest w/Drawers

TUFFIOM 5-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest w/Drawers

TUFFIOM9.4/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5-drawer rolling steel chest with lockable wheels, a top cushion and drawer liners.

Pros

  • 5 drawers plus a top surface with a cushion for placing tools during work
  • 4 wheels, 2 with brakes, for moving around the garage
  • Lock and keys stated for the chest
  • Powder coating finish with a smooth surface that is easy to maintain

Cons

  • No ball bearing drawer slides are stated anywhere in the listing
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table size of 27.3 x 13 x 30 inches differs from the item dimensions of 13 x 24.4 x 29.5 inches
  • No drawer slide figure is stated

Other tools worth a look

Compared on paper

Chest Shop Score Drawers Slides Lock Warranty
Dkenicor 7-Drawer Cart 9.7/10 7 plus side drawer Ball bearing, 100 lbs Keyed central lock Not stated
Homak 2-Drawer Chest 9.6/10 2 Ball bearing glides Double latch, pad lock 1 year
Workington 9-Drawer 9.6/10 9 Ball bearing Central cam lock Not stated
Workington 6-Drawer 9.6/10 6 Ball bearing Central cam lock Not stated
TUFFIOM 5-Drawer Cart 9.4/10 5 Not stated Lock and keys Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 28 October 2026. Where a listing contradicts itself, both figures are shown. Five chests are compared; one states a warranty term and four state ball bearing slides.

How the points were given

The Shop Score weighs performance (drawer count, slide type and stated slide load), build (materials, liners and handles), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a tool chest, safety means a stated lock, an anti-tip feature or braked wheels; all five state a lock, and the Dkenicor adds an interlock that allows only one drawer open at a time. One listing states a warranty term: the Homak at 1 year. How We Pick explains the weights.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Dkenicor 7-Drawer Cart 9.7 33 22 21 9 0
Homak 2-Drawer Chest 9.6 27 20 20 7 3
Workington 9-Drawer 9.6 30 21 21 7 0
Workington 6-Drawer 9.6 29 20 20 7 0
TUFFIOM 5-Drawer Cart 9.4 23 19 19 7 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

Five tool chest listings were compared. Four state ball bearing slides and one, the TUFFIOM, states no slide type at all. Drawer counts run from 2 on the Homak to 9 on the Workington 9-drawer. Only one listing states a warranty term, the Homak at 1 year, while the other four state none. All five state a lock, from the Homak double latch with pad lock to the Dkenicor keyed central lock. Two listings contradict themselves on size: both Workington chests give different figures in their bullets and spec tables.

How to choose the best tool chest with ball bearing drawer slides

Drawer count and slide load

Drawer count sets how finely tools can be sorted. The Workington 9-drawer gives the largest drawer count, the Dkenicor gives 7 drawers plus a side drawer for bulky power tools, and the Homak gives just 2 drawers for a carry-to-the-job kit. Slide load matters once drawers fill with steel: the Dkenicor states full-extension ball bearing slides on all 7 drawers, each rated to 100 lbs, while the other ball bearing chests state the slide type without a load figure. The TUFFIOM states no slide type, so a buyer who needs ball bearing slides stated should skip it.

Locks and anti-tip

Every chest here states a lock. The Homak uses a double latch system with pad lock and drawers that lock when the lid is closed. The Workington chests use a central cam lock mechanism, and the Dkenicor uses a keyed central lock for the main drawers with its side cabinet working on its own. Anti-tip protection appears on two listings: the Dkenicor interlock allows only one drawer open at a time, and the Workington 6-drawer lists an anti-tipping feature. A chest with several heavy drawers open at once can tip, so the interlock is worth noting on the rolling cart.

Rolling or portable

Two chests roll and three carry. The Dkenicor and TUFFIOM carts each state 4 wheels with 2 braked, so they move around the garage and park in place. The Workington chests state side handles for carrying, and the Homak is a 20 inch carry toolbox with a double latch. A rolling cart suits a garage where the work moves between bays, while a portable chest suits a bench or a trip to a neighbor’s driveway. For the wider tool storage range, the same split applies: wheels for moving, handles for carrying.

Size and garage space

Measure the spot before ordering, and use the bullets’ figures where a listing disagrees with its own spec table. The Dkenicor cart measures 12.8 x 24.2 x 29.6 inches, the TUFFIOM cart measures 13 x 24.4 x 29.5 inches per its item dimensions, and the Workington 9-drawer measures 26 inches wide per its bullets. The Homak at 20 inches wide fits a bench top or a truck bed corner, while the rolling carts need floor space plus room to open drawers fully.

Chest Drawers Slides stated Lock
Dkenicor 7-Drawer Cart 7 plus side drawer Ball bearing, 100 lbs per drawer Keyed central lock
Homak 2-Drawer Chest 2 Ball bearing glides Double latch, pad lock
Workington 9-Drawer 9 Ball bearing Central cam lock
Workington 6-Drawer 6 Ball bearing Central cam lock
TUFFIOM 5-Drawer Cart 5 Not stated Lock and keys

Figures as stated in each listing. Where a listing contradicts itself, the bullets’ figures are used and the spec table figures are noted in the review.

Garage safety

Use rated jack stands on solid ground, wear eye protection with power and air tools, keep fuel-burning equipment out of a closed garage, and follow the manual for every tool. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Measure the wall or bench space against the chest size: the Dkenicor cart measures 12.8 x 24.2 x 29.6 inches and the Workington 9-drawer measures 26 inches wide per its bullets.
  • Rolling chests need floor room for casters: the Dkenicor and TUFFIOM carts each state 4 wheels with 2 braked.
  • Check the lock before the first job: every chest here states a lock, from the Homak pad lock to the Dkenicor central lock.
  • Count drawers against the tool set: drawer counts run from 2 on the Homak to 9 on the Workington 9-drawer.
  • Confirm slide type in the listing: the TUFFIOM listing states no slide type, so it suits a buyer who does not need ball bearing slides stated.

FAQ: garage tools

Do all five chests have ball bearing drawer slides?

No. Four listings state ball bearing slides or glides: the Homak, the Dkenicor and both Workington chests. The TUFFIOM listing states no slide type at all.

What does the 100-lb slide figure mean on the Dkenicor?

Each of its 7 drawers glides on full-extension ball bearing slides rated to 100 lbs, per the listing. The other ball bearing chests state the slide type without a load figure.

Which chest has a warranty term?

Only the Homak, at 1 year manufacturer warranty. The other four listings state no warranty term.

Do the rolling chests lock in place?

Yes. The Dkenicor cart states 4 swivel casters with 2 parking brakes, and the TUFFIOM cart states 4 wheels with 2 braked. Lock the braked wheels before loading or unloading drawers.

Why do the Workington sizes differ between bullets and spec tables?

Both Workington listings give different figures in their bullets and spec tables, for example 9 drawers against a spec table quantity of 6 on the 9-drawer chest. This article uses the bullets’ figures and notes the spec table figures in each review.

Related: the best tool chest table top, the best foldable tool cart, the best wall mounted tool cabinet and our tool storage hub.

More buying guides

Tool Storage ·

Best Tool Cart (2026)

Five rolling tool carts compared by capacity, storage layout, wheels, build, weight and warranty, for the home garage and workshop.