4 Post Lift Size: Dimensions, Clearances and Garage Fit Guide
How 4 post lift size affects garage fit: typical runway lengths, column heights, drive-through widths and ceiling clearance rules to check before buying.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
APlusLift HW-8S 8000LB 4-Post Storage Service Car Lift 3 Year9.6/10View on Amazon - 2
XK 2 Post Auto Car Lift 9000 lb Capacity Truck Hoist 220V9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
KATOOL 12000 lbs Extra Height 167inch 2 Post Lift Two Post9.6/10View on Amazon - 4
XK 2 Post Auto Car Lift 10000 lb Capacity Truck Clear FloorView on Amazon - 5
ME 11000lbs Double S Design 2 Post Lift Car Lift AutomotiveView on Amazon - 6
12000 Lbs 4.0HP Two Post Lift Single Lock Release Auto LiftView on Amazon - 7
2 Post Lift 11000lbs Two Post Lift Auto Lift Car Lift HoistView on Amazon
What is the standard 4 post lift size for a home garage? Published 4 post lift sizes for residential garages generally range from 190 to 206 3/4 inches in overall length, 108 to 115 inches in overall width, and 83 to 94 inches in column height across reference models. For example, Atlas lists the PRO8000 at 206 3/4 inches long with approach ramps and 115 inches wide with motor, while APlusLift specifies 190 inches long and 112 inches wide for the 8SXLT. Drive-through width on lifts from APlusLift and TRIUMPH measures 99 inches, with lifting heights ranging from 67 inches of runway clearance on the Atlas PRO8000 up to 84.5 inches on AUTOKATO equipment. Sizing requires matching lift footprint, vehicle dimensions, and ceiling height.
More options to compare
XK 2 Post Auto Car Lift 10000 lb Capacity Truck Clear FloorCheck price on Amazon
ME 11000lbs Double S Design 2 Post Lift Car Lift AutomotiveCheck price on Amazon
12000 Lbs 4.0HP Two Post Lift Single Lock Release Auto LiftCheck price on Amazon
2 Post Lift 11000lbs Two Post Lift Auto Lift Car Lift HoistCheck price on Amazon
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on our product pages, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Below: key dimensions that determine 4 post lift size, model specifications compared, a garage measuring checklist, and four-post versus two-post sizing.
4 post lift size: key dimensions and what they mean
Exterior dimensions determine whether a lift fits between garage walls, under ceilings, and around door tracks. Evaluate these primary dimensions:
- Overall length and runway length. Overall length includes baseplates and approach ramps. Atlas lists the PRO8000 at 206 3/4 inches overall length with approach ramps and 165 3/4 inches runway length. APlusLift lists the 8SXLT at 190 inches overall length, while TRIUMPH lists the NSS8TL at 190 inches overall length and 180 inches runway length. Ensure adequate floor depth so the garage door closes behind the runways.
- Overall width and drive-through clearance. Total width includes external hydraulic pump units. Atlas lists 115 inches width with motor on the PRO8000, APlusLift lists 112 inches on the 8SXLT, and MutsMover lists 108 inches on the 4H850-02. Drive-through clearance between columns measures 99 inches on APlusLift and TRIUMPH models, accommodating cars, trucks, and SUVs.
- Column height and lifting height. Column height sets the minimum vertical clearance needed when lowered. Atlas lists 83 inches column height on the PRO8000; APlusLift lists 94 inches overall height on the 8SXLT. Lifting height dictates under-vehicle clearance: Atlas specifies 67 inches under runways, KATOOL specifies 70.87 inches on the 4-H850, and AUTOKATO lists 84.5 inches on the 4M110PA.
- Runway spacing and vehicle wheelbase. Runway spacing sets usable track width. Atlas lists 74 5/8 inches outside runway to outside runway width and a maximum wheelbase of 153 1/2 inches on the PRO8000, ensuring proper support without tire overhang.
4-post lift dimensions compared: length, width and height specifications
| Model | Rated Capacity | Overall Dimensions (L x W x H) | Lifting Height | Drive-Through Width |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlas PRO8000 | 8000 pounds | 206 3/4 x 115 x 83 inches | 67 inches clearance under runways | Not stated |
| APlusLift 8SXLT | 8000 pounds | 190 x 112 x 94 inches | 82 inches | 99 inches |
| TRIUMPH NSS8TL | 8000 pounds | 190 x 112 x 94 inches | Not stated | 99 inches |
| MutsMover 4H850-02 | 8500 pounds | 198 x 108 x 84 inches | 71 inches | Not stated |
| KATOOL 4-H850 | 8500 pounds | 167 x 23 x 30 inches listed dimensions | 70.87 inches | Not stated |
| AUTOKATO 4M110PA | 11000 pounds | Not stated | 84.5 inches | Not stated |
Manufacturer listings occasionally show internal contradictions. TRIUMPH bullets state 190 inches overall length, 94 inches overall height, and 180 inches runway length, whereas its specification table lists 141 inches overall length, 84 inches overall height, and 132 inches runway length. KATOOL titles list an 84-inch lifting height for the 4-H95 while bullets state 79 inches reached in 50 seconds. Always verify dimensions against manufacturer engineering schematics before delivery.
How to measure your garage for a 4-post lift: the step-by-step checklist
- Measure ceiling height to the lowest obstruction. Measure from the finished floor to the lowest joist, light fixture, or garage door track.
- Calculate vertical stacking space. Add the lower vehicle height, runway lifting height, runway thickness, upper vehicle height, and roof clearance.
- Measure bay length with the door closed. Atlas specifies 206 3/4 inches overall length with approach ramps on the PRO8000, while APlusLift specifies 190 inches on the 8SXLT. Maintain walking space around both ends.
- Check bay width and power unit clearance. Account for external pumps, such as the 115-inch width listed for the Atlas PRO8000.
- Verify vehicle width against drive-through clearance. Confirm vehicle body and mirror width clear the 99-inch drive-through width listed on APlusLift and TRIUMPH models.
- Inspect concrete slab integrity. Review the lift maker’s concrete and ceiling requirements. Ensure the slab is level, fully cured, and crack-free.
- Confirm electrical requirements. Atlas specifies a 110V motor on a 30-amp breaker for the PRO8000, APlusLift uses a 1.5HP 110V motor, and AUTOKATO offers 110V with 220V optional. Always use a licensed electrician to install dedicated shop wiring.
- Account for caster mobility. Verify the floor is flat without floor drains or steps if moving the lift on rolling casters.
Never rely on hydraulic pressure alone to support a raised load. Always lower runways onto the mechanical locks at all four columns before working or parking below. When lifting on the floor with a jack, always place rated stands on solid level ground, follow owner’s manual lift points, and never get under a vehicle on a jack alone.
Check the lift's rated capacity against your heaviest vehicle, and its ceiling and concrete requirements (thickness and strength) before you buy. Install it exactly as the manufacturer specifies, use the mechanical locks before you go under, and look for ALI certification on the model. See the Automotive Lift Institute (ALI). Read our Safety Disclaimer.
4-post vs 2-post lift size and garage requirements
Deciding between four-post and two-post designs requires balancing bay dimensions against vehicle storage and maintenance goals:
- Floor footprint: A four-post lift occupies a defined perimeter (Atlas PRO8000 measures 206 3/4 by 115 inches; APlusLift 8SXLT measures 190 by 112 inches). A two-post lift concentrates its footprint on two columns, requiring less floor area but wider side clearance for swing arms and vehicle doors.
- Ceiling height demands: Four-post lifts support vehicles by their tires on runways (such as the 165 3/4-inch runways on the Atlas PRO8000), serving as parking stackers when height allows. Two-post lifts lift by the chassis frame, requiring clearance for hanging wheels and overhead crossbars.
- Concrete anchoring demands: Two-post lifts exert large leverage forces on baseplates, requiring strict concrete slab thickness and psi ratings. Four-post lifts spread weight across four posts, allowing freestanding operation with caster kits on many models, though permanent anchoring maximizes rigidity.
- Ease of parking: Driving onto runways requires minimal alignment compared to positioning two-post swing arms, making four-post units faster for daily parking.
Compare configurations in our 2-post vs 4-post lift differences guide. If overhead clearance is tight, read our guide to the best car lift for low ceiling garages, or see our top picks in the best car lift for home garage roundup.
Ceiling height and concrete slab considerations
Installing a four-post lift requires checking overhead door travel. Standard garage door tracks curve inward where a raised vehicle sits; installing high-lift tracks or a wall-mounted jackshaft opener recovers critical vertical clearance.
Reviewing lift maker’s concrete and ceiling requirements is essential before delivery. The slab must be level, solid, and free of cracks or expansion joints. When servicing on the floor, place rated stands on solid level ground, follow owner’s manual lift points, and never get under a vehicle on a jack alone. For wheel service on a four-post lift, use an approved sliding jack tray on the runways.
Check our guides on what ceiling height do I need for a car lift, slab requirements in how thick does concrete need to be for a car lift, and installation rules in can you put a car lift in a residential garage.
Frequently Asked Questions
What ceiling height is needed for a 4-post lift?
Ceiling height must clear column heights (83 inches on the Atlas PRO8000; 94 inches on the APlusLift 8SXLT) to stand upright. Stacking requires adding lower vehicle height, lifting height, runway thickness, upper vehicle height, and roof clearance.
How long is a typical 4-post car lift?
Overall lengths generally range from 190 inches on the APlusLift 8SXLT to 206 3/4 inches with approach ramps on the Atlas PRO8000.
How wide is a standard 4-post lift?
Overall width ranges from 108 inches on the MutsMover 4H850-02 to 115 inches with motor on the Atlas PRO8000. Drive-through width measures 99 inches on APlusLift and TRIUMPH models.
Can a 4-post lift fit in a standard single-car garage?
Yes, if bay depth and height allow. With widths between 108 and 115 inches on MutsMover and Atlas models, verify side clearance to access vehicle doors and lock releases.
Do you have to bolt down a 4-post car lift?
Caster kits allow freestanding use when unloaded on hobby models, but anchoring to cured concrete maximizes stability and prevents column walk during heavy loading.
What electrical circuit does a 4-post lift require?
Many home lifts use 110V power, though breaker needs vary: Atlas requires a 30-amp breaker for the PRO8000, while APlusLift uses a 1.5HP 110V motor, and AUTOKATO offers 220V optional. Always use a licensed electrician to install dedicated shop wiring.
Related: ceiling height needed for a car lift, concrete thickness for car lifts, how to choose a car lift for a home garage, our car lifts hub and the safety disclaimer.



