Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Car Lift for Home Garage: 6 Two-Post and Four-Post Lifts Compared

Six full-rise car lifts for a home garage, two-post and four-post, compared by capacity, rise, overall height, drive-through width, power, locks and warranty.

Best Car Lift for Home Garage: 6 Two-Post and Four-Post Lifts Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1APlusLift HW-8SBest OverallAPlusLift HW-8S9.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2XK L2900Best Two-PostXK L29009.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3KATOOL 4-H110Best for TrucksKATOOL 4-H1109.6/10View on Amazon
  4. 4KATOOL AK-M120 Extra HeightBest Clear-Floor for Tall CeilingsKATOOL AK-M120 Extra Height9.6/10View on Amazon
  5. 5ME 11000lbs Double S Design 2 Post Lift Car Lift AutomotiveME 11000lbs Double S Design 2 Post Lift Car Lift AutomotiveView on Amazon
  6. 6XK 2 Post Auto Car Lift 10000 lb Capacity Truck Clear FloorXK 2 Post Auto Car Lift 10000 lb Capacity Truck Clear FloorView on Amazon
  7. 7DIHOOL Electric Scissor Lift TableDIHOOL Electric Scissor Lift TableView on Amazon
  8. 812000 Lbs 4.0HP Two Post Lift Single Lock Release Auto Lift12000 Lbs 4.0HP Two Post Lift Single Lock Release Auto LiftView on Amazon

A full-rise car lift changes what you can do at home: stand under the car for exhaust, brakes, suspension and transmission work, or park a second car above the first. This guide compares six, four two-posts and two four-posts, by capacity, rise, the lift’s own height, drive-through width, power and warranty, and shows the ceiling each one needs.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall APlusLift HW-8S: An 8,000 lb four-post on 110V with a 3 year warranty, caster kit, jack tray, drip trays and aluminum ramps included. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Two-Post XK L2900: 9,000 lb, 78 in of rise, a 3.88 in minimum pad height and 36 months of parts replacement. Check price on Amazon
  • Best for Trucks KATOOL 4-H110: 11,000 lb and 84.5 in of rise on four posts with primary and secondary locks at each post. Check price on Amazon
  • Best Clear-Floor for Tall Ceilings KATOOL AK-M120 Extra Height: 12,000 lb with a 117.75 in drive-through, if you have about 14 feet of ceiling for its 166.75 in columns. Check price on Amazon

The picks

APlusLift HW-8S 8000LB 4-Post Storage Service Car

APlusLift HW-8S 8000LB 4-Post Storage Service Car

APlusLift9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 8,000 lb four-post storage and service lift on a 110V, 1.5 HP power unit, with 72 in of rise and a 3 year warranty.

Pros

  • Runs on 110V, no 220V circuit needed
  • 3 year (36 month) warranty, the longest written term here
  • Caster kit, jack tray, drip trays and aluminum ramps included
  • Free-standing four-post that can roll on casters

Cons

  • 8,000 lb, the lowest capacity here
  • Wheels-free work needs a rolling jack on the tray
  • 175 in long footprint
  • CE marking only, no ALI certification stated
XK 2 Post Auto Car Lift 9000 lb Capacity Truck

XK 2 Post Auto Car Lift 9000 lb Capacity Truck

XK9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 9,000 lb base-plate two-post lift with 78 in of rise, a 3.88 in minimum pad height and a 220V, 3 HP power unit.

Pros

  • 78 in of rise, the most of the two-posts
  • 3.88 in minimum pad height for low cars
  • Automatic arm locks, door guards, up-limit switch, truck adapters
  • 36 months of parts replacement

Cons

  • Needs a 220V circuit
  • Base plate between the columns to step over
  • Freight delivery needs a forklift or tractor to unload
  • No ALI certification stated
KATOOL 12000 lbs Extra Height 167inch 2 Post Lift

KATOOL 12000 lbs Extra Height 167inch 2 Post Lift

KATOOL9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12,000 lb clear-floor two-post lift with dual-chain hydraulic drive, a 117.75 in drive-through and 166.75 in tall columns.

Pros

  • 12,000 lb, the highest capacity here
  • 117.75 in drive-through for wide trucks
  • Clear floor, nothing to trip over between columns
  • Dual-chain hydraulic drive

Cons

  • 166.75 in overall height needs about a 14 foot ceiling
  • 1 year warranty
  • Power unit voltage not stated in the listing text
  • CE marking only, no ALI certification stated
KATOOL 10000lbs 2 Post Lift Car Lift Auto Vehicle

KATOOL 10000lbs 2 Post Lift Car Lift Auto Vehicle

KATOOL9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10,000 lb floor-plate two-post lift with symmetric arms, dual chain-drive cylinders and a 110.25 in overall height.

Pros

  • 110.25 in overall height fits many 10 foot garages
  • Symmetric arms for flexible positioning
  • Dual hydraulic chain-drive cylinders
  • Double-side lock release

Cons

  • Floor plate between the columns
  • 1 year warranty
  • Drive-through width not stated
  • CE marking only, no ALI certification stated
KATOOL 3.0HP 11000Lbs 4 Post Lift 4 Post Parking

KATOOL 3.0HP 11000Lbs 4 Post Lift 4 Post Parking

KATOOL9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 11,000 lb four-post storage and service lift with 84.5 in of rise and primary and secondary locks at each post.

Pros

  • 11,000 lb and 84.5 in of rise, the most here
  • Primary and secondary locks at all four posts
  • Single manual release for the locks
  • Runs on 110V, with an optional 220V power unit

Cons

  • Casters and rolling jacks cost extra
  • 2,117 lb shipping weight, forklift needed
  • 1 year warranty
  • No certification stated
WEIZE 11000lbs Two Post Car Lift

WEIZE 11000lbs Two Post Car Lift

WEIZE9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 11,000 lb clear-floor two-post lift with a 220V, 3 HP power unit, 110.23 in drive-through and 109 in overall height.

Pros

  • Clear floor with only 109 in overall height
  • 11,000 lb capacity
  • 110.23 in drive-through
  • Double-point lock release

Cons

  • Needs a 220V circuit
  • 1 year warranty
  • Short listing on arm and lock details
  • No certification stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Shop Score Type Capacity Max rise Overall height Drive-through Power Warranty
APlusLift HW-8S 9.6/10 4-post 8,000 lb 72 in 84 in 93 in 110V, 1.5 HP 3 years
XK L2900 9.6/10 2-post, base plate 9,000 lb 78 in 106.3 in 100 in 220V, 3 HP 36 months parts
KATOOL AK-M120 Extra Height 9.6/10 2-post, clear floor 12,000 lb 70.75 in 166.75 in 117.75 in Not stated in text 1 year
KATOOL 10,000 lb Floor Plate 9.6/10 2-post, floor plate 10,000 lb 70.75 in 110.25 in Not stated 220V 1 year
KATOOL 4-H110 9.6/10 4-post 11,000 lb 84.5 in Not stated Not stated 110V (220V optional) 1 year
WEIZE PLA-1028-A 9.5/10 2-post, clear floor 11,000 lb 70.87 in 109 in 110.23 in 220V, 3 HP 1 year

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 5 October 2026. “Overall height” is the lift itself, before you add a car.

How we scored them

Each lift is scored out of 10 on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, with the weights published on our How We Pick page. None of these listings states ALI certification. Three state CE marking and get partial safety credit.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
APlusLift HW-8S 9.6 30 22 21 3 3
XK L2900 9.6 32 22 21 0 3
KATOOL AK-M120 Extra Height 9.6 33 21 19 3 2
KATOOL 10,000 lb Floor Plate 9.6 30 21 20 3 2
KATOOL 4-H110 9.6 33 22 19 0 2
WEIZE PLA-1028-A 9.5 32 21 20 0 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

We read 16 two-post and four-post lift listings. All stated capacity and a lift height, and most stated voltage and a warranty term, from 1 year to 36 months. None stated ALI certification; several stated CE marking and load ratings of 115% dynamic and 150% static. Floor requirements, the concrete thickness and strength the anchors need, were rarely on the listing at all; get them from the manual before you buy.

Buying guide: a car lift for a home garage

Two-post or four-post

A two-post lifts the car by its frame, so the wheels hang free: best for brakes, suspension and tires. A four-post holds the car on its wheels: best for storage, oil changes and exhaust, and it needs no anchors. Our 2-post vs 4-post comparison goes deeper.

Ceiling height

Two numbers matter: the lift’s own height (clear-floor two-posts are the tallest, here up to 166.75 in) and the height of the car at full rise. A 58 in car at 70 in of rise needs about 131 in, or 11 feet, of ceiling to stand under it. Check yours with the car lift ceiling height calculator, and if it comes up short, see the best car lift for a low ceiling.

Floor and anchors

Two-post lifts anchor into the slab, and the manual sets a minimum concrete thickness and strength. Many home slabs are thinner than lifts call for. Do not anchor into a slab that does not meet the specification; check it before ordering.

Power and delivery

The two-post power units that state a voltage run on 220V; both four-posts run on 110V. These lifts ship by freight at 1,000 to over 2,000 lb, and most sellers require you to unload with a forklift or pick up at a terminal.

Certification

ALI certification means a model has been third-party certified to the ANSI/ALI ALCTV standard. CE marking is a European self-declaration. If certification matters to you, check the model on the Automotive Lift Institute’s directory.

Car Lift Ceiling Height Calculator

Check the ceiling a lift needs for your car, and whether 2-post, 4-post, mid-rise or scissor fits.

Open the calculator

Lift safety

Check the lift's rated capacity against your heaviest vehicle, and its ceiling and concrete requirements (thickness and strength) before you buy. Install it exactly as the manufacturer specifies, use the mechanical locks before you go under, and look for ALI certification on the model. See the Automotive Lift Institute (ALI). Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Frequently Asked Questions

How high does a ceiling need to be for a car lift?

To stand under a typical car, about 11 to 12 feet. Add the vehicle height, the rise you want and a few inches of clearance. Clear-floor two-posts also need room for their overhead beam; the tallest here is 166.75 in.

Is a 2-post or 4-post lift better for a home garage?

A two-post for wheels-off repair work, a four-post for storage and under-car work with the wheels on. Four-posts are free-standing and easier to install; two-posts take less floor space.

Can I install a car lift on a normal garage floor?

Four-posts usually sit on a level floor without anchors. Two-posts anchor into the concrete, which must meet the thickness and strength in the manual. Many garage slabs need checking first.

Do car lifts need 220V?

The two-post lifts here that state a voltage use 220V power units. Both four-posts run on 110V, and one offers an optional 220V unit for faster cycles.

Are these lifts ALI certified?

None of these six listings states ALI certification. Three state CE marking. If you need an ALI-certified lift, confirm the model on the Automotive Lift Institute’s directory.

Related: the QuickJack 6000TLX portable lift review, the best car lift for a low ceiling, the best jack stands, the best air compressor for a home garage, our car lift hub and the ceiling height calculator. Also see our best motorcycle lift stand. Also see our how to use a 2 post lift. Also see our how to use scissor lift. Also see our how to choose a car lift for home garage. Also see our what ceiling height do i need for a car lift. Also see our how thick does concrete need to be for a car lift. Also see our what does ali certified mean for car lifts. Also see our can you put a car lift in a residential garage. Also see our quickjack vs scissor lift. Also see our symmetric vs asymmetric 2 post lift. Also see our best motorcycle lift table. Also see our 4 post lift size. Also see our best motorcycle lift jack. Also see our car lift types. Also see our scissor lift types. Also see our car lift size. Also see our scissor lift maintenance. Also see our best hydraulic oil for car lift. Also see our car lift maintenance. Also see our best portable car jack kit. Also see our best high lift jack. Also see our clearance for car lift. Also see our car lift alternatives. Also see our vevor portable car lift vs quickjack. Also see our in ground vs surface mount car lift. Also see our mid rise vs full rise lift. Also see our 4 post lift vs scissor lift. Also see our baseplate vs clear floor 2 post lift. Also see our quickjack vs 2 post lift. Also see our pegboard vs slatwall garage storage. Also see our portable car lift vs jack stands. Also see our best motorcycle lift for sport bikes. Also see our motorcycle lift table vs motorcycle stand. Also see our best motorcycle lift stand under 80. Also see our floor jack vs car lift. Also see our best motorcycle lift for low ceiling. Also see our chain hoist vs come along. Also see our car lift vs motorcycle lift. Also see our best motorcycle lift under 200.

More buying guides