Dr Infrared Heater Dr-966 vs Dr-998: Which One Should You Buy?
The DR-966 is a hardwired 240V shop heater with 6000 W and 600 sq ft of stated coverage, while the DR-998 is a portable 120V plug-in with no wiring work.

On this page
Top picks at a glance
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
- 1
DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-910F 109.7/10View on Amazon - 2
DR Infrared Heater DR-998 Infrared Space Heater9.6/10View on Amazon - 3
Dr Infrared Heater DR-968 Portable Space Heater9.7/10View on Amazon - 4
DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-991 Portable Electric Fireplace SpaceView on Amazon - 5
Dr. Infrared Heater DR-966 240-Volt Hardwired Shop GarageView on Amazon - 6
DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-PS11524 Salamander ConstructionView on Amazon - 7
DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-978 New Upgraded Dual Heating HybridView on Amazon - 8
Dr. Infrared Heater DR-968H Indoor Portable Space Heater withView on Amazon - 9
DR. INFRARED HEATER DR218-1500W Greenhouse Garage WorkshopView on Amazon
Dr infrared heater DR-966 vs DR-998: which one should you buy? If your garage has a 240V circuit, or you will have an electrician add one, the DR-966 is the harder-working choice: the listing describes a hardwired, wall- or ceiling-mounted shop heater with 3000 and 6000 W settings and a stated 600 sq ft heating coverage. If you want to plug into a standard 120V outlet with no wiring work, the DR-998’s portable class is the simpler pick: our DR-998 review covers that model’s own listing numbers, and the portable units in this guide’s gear section show what the portable side trades away in stated output.
More options to compare
DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-991 Portable Electric Fireplace SpaceCheck price on Amazon
Dr. Infrared Heater DR-966 240-Volt Hardwired Shop GarageCheck price on Amazon
DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-PS11524 Salamander ConstructionCheck price on Amazon
DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-978 New Upgraded Dual Heating HybridCheck price on Amazon
Dr. Infrared Heater DR-968H Indoor Portable Space Heater withCheck price on Amazon
DR. INFRARED HEATER DR218-1500W Greenhouse Garage WorkshopCheck price on Amazon
GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on our product pages, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Below: how the two sides differ in power, wiring and coverage, the three units in this guide’s gear section ranked strongest first, and the wiring, safety and FAQ notes to read before you buy.
Dr Infrared Heater Dr-966 vs Dr-998: Hardwired Power or Portable Convenience?
Think of this as a wiring decision first and a heater decision second. The DR-966 commits you to a 240V hardwired circuit; the DR-998 class commits you to nothing more than a free 120V outlet. Here is how the two sides compare on the numbers the makers publish:
| DR-966 (hardwired) | Portable 120V class (DR-991, OSTBA) | |
|---|---|---|
| Voltage | 240V, 25 A, hardwired (power cord not included) | 120V, plugs into a standard outlet (OSTBA lists 12.5 A) |
| Power settings | 3000 / 6000 W, high and low | 1500 W high; 1000 W low and ECO mode (OSTBA); 3 heat settings, high, low and auto (DR-991) |
| Mounting | Wall or ceiling, bracket included | Freestanding floor design (DR-991); floor mount cabinet (OSTBA) |
| Stated heating coverage | 600 sq ft | 1000 sq ft (OSTBA maker claim); not stated (DR-991) |
| Airflow | 5 adjustable louvers | Fan-only mode (OSTBA); not stated (DR-991) |
| Thermostat | Adjustable, 37 to 104 °F | 41 to 95 °F ECO thermostat (OSTBA); built-in thermostat (DR-991) |
| Certifications | UL/CUL listed | ETL listed (DR-991); none stated (OSTBA) |
| Safety shutoffs | Overheat protection | Tip-over and overheat protection (both portables) |
| Weight | 27 lb | Under 20 lb (DR-991); 7.1 lb (OSTBA) |
| Warranty | One-year parts and labor | None stated (both portables) |
The takeaway is plain: the DR-966 brings far more power than either portable unit, but it needs a real electrical circuit to deliver it. The portables bring convenience, remotes and timers, and neither one asks an electrician for anything. If you are sizing a whole garage, our guide to what size garage heater you need and the 120V vs 240V garage heater comparison put those numbers in context.
The Gear: Three Infrared Heaters, Ranked
This guide’s gear section covers the three units with published listing data, strongest first.
1. DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-966: 240V Hardwired Shop Heater
The DR-966 is the only hardwired unit of the three and the only one built for a shop or commercial space: the maker lists 240V single phase, 3000 and 6000 W settings, 25 A, and 600 sq ft of heating coverage, with wall or ceiling mounting on the included bracket and 5 adjustable louvers to aim the airflow. The thermostat adjusts between 37 and 104 °F with high and low settings, the unit is UL/CUL listed, and the listing states a one-year parts and labor warranty. It measures 14.5 in deep by 13 in wide by 14.5 in tall and weighs 27 lb.
Two caveats come straight from the listing. First, the spec table contradicts itself: it lists the heating method as “Forced Air” while listing the heating element as “Radiant”, under a title and bullets that describe an infrared hardwired shop heater. Trust the title and bullets over the spec table, and check the manual before you buy. Second, no power cord is included: this is a hardwired install, which means a dedicated 240V circuit and a licensed electrician, not a weekend wiring job.
2. DR. INFRARED HEATER DR-991: Portable Fireplace-Style Heater with Humidifier
The DR-991 is the portable answer from the same maker: a freestanding 120V unit that plugs into a standard outlet for 1500 W of infrared heat. Its listing leads with ambiance rather than shop power: a 3D flame effect with two adjustable brightness levels, a built-in humidifier meant to counter dry winter air, and a remote plus LED display with 3 heat settings (high, low and auto) and a 12-hour timer. It is ETL listed with tip-over and overheat protection, weighs under 20 lb, and ships with a 6-foot cord.
Be clear about what it is: a fireplace-style supplemental heater for a room, not a shop heater. Its listing states no heating coverage figure, and nothing in it suggests mounting or hardwired use. For warming the bench area of a garage rather than the whole space, it is the convenient plug-in pick of the three.
3. OSTBA 1500W 6-Element Infrared Cabinet Heater
The OSTBA is the lightest and simplest portable of the three: a 120V cabinet unit with six heating elements, 1500 W on high, a 1000 W low setting and an ECO mode, aimed through a digital thermostat of 41 to 95 °F with a 0-12H timer and a child lock. It runs on 12.5 A, weighs 7.1 lb, measures 12.91 in deep by 11.65 in wide by 14.96 in tall, and includes a remote plus tip-over and overheat protection and a fan-only mode for warmer months.
Two notes. The maker’s stated heating coverage is 1000 sq ft from a 1500 W plug-in unit, which is an ambitious claim worth reading as the maker’s claim, not a promise. And its listing’s recommended uses are bedroom, home and office, with the unit designed for indoor household use, so treat it as a room heater you carry into the garage, not garage equipment. No warranty term is stated.
Never run a fuel-burning heater, generator or engine in a closed garage: carbon monoxide builds up fast and has no smell. Fit a CO alarm, keep clearances to cars and storage, use vented gas heaters installed to code, and put 240V electric heaters on a dedicated circuit. See CPSC carbon monoxide guidance. Read our Safety Disclaimer.
Wiring, Breakers and Garage Safety
Electric heat makes no carbon monoxide and needs no venting, which is the main safety advantage over fuel heaters. The rules that remain are electrical and practical:
- 240V means an electrician. The DR-966 is a hardwired 25 A unit with no cord included. Have a licensed electrician size the circuit and the breaker; our guide to breaker sizing for a 240V garage heater explains what the numbers on the listing mean for the panel.
- Respect the shutoffs. Tip-over and overheat protection are last-resort features, not operating instructions. Keep the clearances from walls, vehicles and combustibles that the manual lists.
- Do not leave portables running unattended. Turn them off and let them cool before you leave the garage for the night; a power cord is not a substitute for supervision.
- Keep fuel vapors away. Gas cans, solvents and brake cleaner live in garages, and their vapors ignite easily. Store them away from any heater and never heat while spraying flammables.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the difference between the DR-966 and the DR-998?
Installation and power. The DR-966 is a hardwired 240V shop heater with 3000 and 6000 W settings and a stated 600 sq ft coverage; the DR-998 sits in the portable 120V plug-in class. For the DR-998’s own listing numbers, see our DR-998 review; for the portable side’s tradeoffs in stated specs, the DR-991 and OSTBA in the gear section above show the picture.
Can the DR-966 plug into a standard outlet?
No. Its listing states 240V, 25 A and hardwired with no power cord included. It needs a dedicated 240V circuit installed by a licensed electrician; see our breaker sizing guide before you plan the circuit.
Why does the DR-966 listing say both forced air and radiant?
That is a contradiction inside the listing: the spec table lists the heating method as “Forced Air” while the heating element is listed as “Radiant”, and the title and bullets describe an infrared hardwired shop heater. Trust the title and bullets over the spec table, and confirm the heating method in the manual; our infrared vs forced air comparison explains what each style means in a garage.
Will a 1500W portable heater warm my garage?
Both portable units in this guide top out at 1500 W on a standard 120V outlet, which suits spot heat near a workbench rather than a whole garage. The DR-991’s listing states no coverage figure; the OSTBA’s maker claims 1000 sq ft, which reads as a maker claim. Work out your space first with our garage heater sizing guide.
Is the OSTBA heater actually a garage heater?
Its listing’s recommended uses are bedroom, home and office, and it is designed for indoor household use, so treat it as a room heater you carry into the garage rather than garage equipment. It does include tip-over and overheat protection, a child lock and a timer, which are the safety features to look for in any portable.
Do electric infrared heaters need a carbon monoxide alarm?
Electric heaters produce no combustion gases, so they create no carbon monoxide themselves. Garages still deserve caution: stored fuels and solvents give off flammable vapors, and any attached garage benefits from alarms per the maker’s guidance and local code. Never run a fuel engine or an unvented fuel heater in a closed garage.
Related: our DR-998 review, garage heater sizing by BTU, the best garage heaters for a 2-car garage, our garage upgrades hub and the best infrared garage heaters.



