Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Jump Starter Under 150 (2026): 5 Booster Packs Compared

Five portable lithium jump starters under 150, compared by peak cranking amps, engine displacement rating, battery capacity, emergency light, weight and warranty terms.

Best Jump Starter Under 150 (2026): 5 Booster Packs Compared
On this page

Top picks at a glance

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

  1. 1NOCO Boost GB50Best OverallNOCO Boost GB509.6/10View on Amazon
  2. 2TREKURE Beta04Best High CapacityTREKURE Beta049.6/10View on Amazon
  3. 3NOCO Boost GBX45Fastest RechargeNOCO Boost GBX459.5/10View on Amazon
  4. 4Joltekon VP30Best with Air CompressorJoltekon VP309.5/10View on Amazon
  5. 5Autowit Super Capacitor Jump StarterAutowit Super Capacitor Jump StarterView on Amazon
  6. 6MEGAWISE 2500A 12V Jump Starter for 8.0L Gas/6.5L DieselMEGAWISE 2500A 12V Jump Starter for 8.0L Gas/6.5L DieselView on Amazon
  7. 7Stanley J5C09D 1200 Peak Amp Jump Starter with 120 PSIStanley J5C09D 1200 Peak Amp Jump Starter with 120 PSIView on Amazon
  8. 8Power Cord for Jump-N-Carry Clore Automotive Jump StarterPower Cord for Jump-N-Carry Clore Automotive Jump StarterView on Amazon
  9. 9TEMOLA Portable Car Jump Starter with Air CompressorTEMOLA Portable Car Jump Starter with Air CompressorView on Amazon

You finish replacing an alternator or wrapping up an oil change on a cold Saturday morning, turn the key, and hear nothing but a dead-battery click. A reliable portable jump pack in the garage or glove box gets you back on the road in seconds without waiting for a second car and jumper cables. This guide compares five top models to find the best jump starter under 150, evaluating peak cranking amps, vehicle engine displacement ratings, built-in safety protections, recharge times, and manufacturer warranties.

GarageToolHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall NOCO Boost GB50: 1500 peak amps, up to 30 starts per charge, UL listed with spark-proof protection, and an IP65 water-resistant casing. Check price on Amazon
  • Best High Capacity TREKURE Beta04: 27000 mAh capacity, 8000 peak amps, 800-lumen wide emergency light, and a 3.3-inch smart color display. Check price on Amazon
  • Fastest Recharge NOCO Boost GBX45: Recharges in 48 minutes via 60W USB-C Power Delivery, with a 5-minute charge enough for a jump start. Check price on Amazon
  • Best with Air Compressor Joltekon VP30: Combines a 4500 peak amp jump starter with a 150 PSI auto-shutoff tire inflator and a 2-year warranty. Check price on Amazon

The picks

NOCO Boost GB50 1500A UltraSafe Jump Starter

NOCO Boost GB50 1500A UltraSafe Jump Starter

NOCO9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1500A lithium jump starter rated for up to 7.0L gas and 4.5L diesel engines, with UL safety certification and up to 30 starts per charge.

Pros

  • 1500 peak amps rated for up to 7.0L gas and 4.5L diesel engines
  • UL listed with patented spark-proof and reverse polarity protection
  • IP65 water-resistant housing with rubberized over-molding
  • 1-year limited warranty stated by NOCO

Cons

  • Listing shows a weight contradiction: 2.7 lb in bullets versus 3.3 lb in spec table
  • 5-hour recharge time is longer than newer fast-charging models
  • 3.15 Ah battery capacity is modest compared to multi-cell power banks
  • Wall charging brick is not included in the box
8000A Car Battery Jump Starter

8000A Car Battery Jump Starter

TREKURE9.6/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 8000A peak lithium jump starter with a 27000 mAh battery bank, 3.3-inch color screen, 800-lumen wide light, and UL listing.

Pros

  • 8000A peak current rated for all gas and up to 12L diesel engines
  • 27000 mAh power bank capacity with 18W fast charging support
  • 800-lumen emergency light with 300-degree wide illumination and 4 modes
  • Stated CE, FCC, RoHS, and UL safety specifications in spec table

Cons

  • No concrete warranty term stated, as the spec table lists only the number 2 without units
  • Wall adapter is not included, requiring an 18W or higher third-party plug
  • Listing advises success rate is significantly higher only when charge exceeds 75 percent
  • Large 9.68-inch length takes up more room in compact glove boxes
NOCO Boost GBX45 1250A UltraSafe Jump Starter

NOCO Boost GBX45 1250A UltraSafe Jump Starter

NOCO9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1250A jump starter featuring 60W bidirectional USB-C Power Delivery that recharges in 48 minutes, rated for up to 6.5L gas and 4.0L diesel.

Pros

  • Recharges in 48 minutes via 60W USB-C Power Delivery
  • 5-minute charge provides enough power for a jump start
  • UltraSafe 2.0 spark-proof and reverse polarity protection stated
  • 1-year limited warranty stated by NOCO

Cons

  • Delivers up to 6 jump starts per charge due to its 60-second power timer
  • Spec table contains an error listing battery capacity as 250 amp_hours
  • 100-lumen flashlight is dimmer than the older GB50 output
  • Spec table lists energy specification rather than a UL listing
Car Battery Jump Starter with Air Compressor 4500A

Car Battery Jump Starter with Air Compressor 4500A

Joltekon9.5/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A multi-function 4500A jump starter with an integrated 150 PSI auto-shutoff tire inflator, 500-lumen emergency light, and 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • Built-in 150 PSI air compressor with auto-shutoff and 4 nozzle adapters
  • 4500A peak current rated for up to 9L gas and 8L diesel engines
  • 500-lumen wide light includes red strobe warning triangle mode
  • 2-year manufacturer warranty explicitly stated in the spec table

Cons

  • No electrical safety certification like UL or ETL is stated on the listing
  • 1200 g weight makes it the heaviest multi-function unit in this comparison
  • Air pump generates mechanical vibration and noise during tire inflation
  • Listing advises battery level must exceed 50 percent prior to vehicle starting
AIMAPOW Portable Car Battery Jump Starter 8000A

AIMAPOW Portable Car Battery Jump Starter 8000A

AIMAPOW9.3/10 Shop Score
i
The Shop Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact 403 g jump starter claiming 8000A peak current, rated for all gas and 10L diesel engines with heavy-duty 8AWG cables.

Pros

  • Lightweight 403 g form factor is the lightest unit in this guide
  • Claimed 8000A peak current rated for all gas and 10L diesel engines
  • Includes heavy-duty 8AWG jumper cables and a carrying case
  • Operating temperature range specified from -4 degrees to 140 degrees Fahrenheit

Cons

  • Spec table lists compatible vehicle type as ATV only, contradicting title and bullets
  • No warranty term is stated on the listing, only 2-year friendly customer service
  • Flashlight lumen rating is not stated in the listing details
  • No electrical safety listings such as UL or ETL are stated

More options to compare

Compare the picks

Model Shop Score Peak Amps Gas / Diesel Rating Battery Capacity Light Weight Warranty
NOCO Boost GB50 9.6/10 1500 A 7.0L gas / 4.5L diesel 3.15 Ah 200 lumens 2.7 lb 1 year limited
TREKURE Beta04 9.6/10 8000 A All gas / 12L diesel 27000 mAh 800 lumens 16 oz Not stated
NOCO Boost GBX45 9.5/10 1250 A 6.5L gas / 4.0L diesel 250 Ah (stated) 100 lumens 1.2 kg 1 year limited
Joltekon VP30 9.5/10 4500 A 9L gas / 8L diesel 7200 mAh 500 lumens 1200 g 2 years
AIMAPOW A20 9.3/10 8000 A All gas / 10L diesel 7200 mAh Not stated 403 g Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated, as published on each listing and collected 12 October 2026. “Not stated” means the listing does not give the figure.

How we scored them

Each jump starter is scored out of 10 across performance, build quality, value, safety features, and warranty terms, using the weighted criteria detailed on our How We Pick page. Listings that provide verified UL safety certifications or explicit reverse polarity protection earn full safety points, while products omitting stated warranty terms or electrical certifications score zero in those categories.

Product Shop Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
NOCO Boost GB50 9.6 29 21 19 9 2
TREKURE Beta04 9.6 30 19 20 8 0
NOCO Boost GBX45 9.5 27 20 18 5 2
Joltekon VP30 9.5 29 19 20 0 3
AIMAPOW A20 9.3 26 16 18 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

What the listings tell you

Reviewing the listings for these five jump starters reveals substantial variation in how specifications are disclosed. While every model states a peak amperage figure ranging from 1250A to 8000A and lists maximum engine displacements, only two listings provide verified UL safety listings. Battery capacities range from 3.15 Ah up to 27000 mAh, though one listing contains an apparent clerical error reporting 250 Ah. Warranty transparency also varies widely: two models provide explicit 1-year limited coverage, one provides a 2-year warranty, while two omit formal warranty terms entirely, listing only an ambiguous number or general customer service.

Buying guide: best jump starter under 150

Peak amperage versus engine displacement

Peak amperage indicates the maximum surge current the internal lithium cells can supply during initial cranking. While passenger sedans with 4-cylinder engines require modest cranking power, larger V8 gas engines and high-compression diesel engines demand substantially more starting energy, especially during freezing weather. Listings in this price tier range from 1250A up to 8000A, covering gas engines up to 9 liters and diesels up to 12 liters. For sizing guidance based on vehicle type, consult our guide on what size jump starter do I need and our comparison of jump starters for trucks and diesel.

Recharge speeds and power bank utility

Recharge time determines how quickly a booster box can be returned to service after a rescue. Standard USB inputs recharge a dead pack in approximately 5 hours, whereas modern 60W USB-C Power Delivery can fully recharge a unit in 48 minutes, or supply enough reserve for a single jump start in just 5 minutes. High-capacity units also double as portable power stations, providing fast USB output ports to charge smartphones, tablets, or even laptops in an emergency.

Emergency lighting and multi-function tools

A built-in flashlight is essential when hooking up booster clamps in an unlit driveway or on a dark highway shoulder. Stated outputs range from 100 lumens up to 800 lumens with wide-angle reflectors, incorporating strobe and SOS distress patterns. Certain models integrate additional workshop utilities directly into the casing, such as a 150 PSI cordless tire inflator with automatic shutoff, which saves trunk space by combining jump starting and tire maintenance in a single box. To compare multi-function units, see our roundup of the best jump starter with air compressor.

Smart clamps and safety protections

Connecting jumper cables incorrectly can damage delicate vehicle electronics or trigger dangerous short circuits. Modern lithium boosters utilize smart clamp modules featuring spark-proof connections and reverse polarity protection, preventing current from flowing if clamps are attached to the wrong terminals. For severely discharged batteries that drop below detection thresholds, manual force-start buttons allow users to override safeguards and deliver immediate power. To understand the differences between traditional cables and portable packs, read our guide on jump starter vs jumper cables, and explore jump starter vs battery charger for long-term battery care.

Battery charging safety

Lead-acid batteries can release hydrogen while charging, so charge in a ventilated space away from sparks and flames, connect positive first and negative last, set the charger to the battery type (flooded, AGM, gel, lithium), and wear eye protection. Read our Safety Disclaimer.

Garage Fit Check

  • Glove box and console dimensions: Units range from compact 1.37-inch thick models like the AIMAPOW A20 up to the 9.68-inch long TREKURE Beta04, so measure your center console or door pocket before stowing.
  • Weight for road bags: Portable jump boxes in this group weigh between 16 ounces (1 lb) and 3.3 pounds (or 1200 g for the Joltekon VP30), making them easy to pack into a roadside emergency kit or motorcycle saddlebag.
  • Standby and maintenance charging: Joltekon recommends recharging every 2 to 3 months, TREKURE advises charging every 3 months to preserve battery life, and NOCO packs recharge in 48 minutes to 5 hours depending on USB-C input power.
  • Cable gauge and terminal reach: The listings feature heavy-duty clamps and cables, including stated 8AWG leads on the AIMAPOW, designed to span top-post or side-post 12V battery terminals.

Frequently Asked Questions

What size engine can a jump starter under 150 start?

The models compared here handle gas engines up to 6.5L, 7.0L, 9L, and all gas engines, plus diesel engines from 4.0L up to 12L. Compact units like the NOCO GBX45 handle up to 6.5L gas, while heavy-duty packs like the TREKURE Beta04 state support for up to 12L diesels.

How often should I recharge a portable jump starter?

Manufacturers recommend topping off lithium jump packs every 2 to 3 months when stored in a vehicle trunk or garage. Maintaining battery charge above 50 to 75 percent ensures maximum cranking current is available when an emergency occurs.

What does a force start button do on a lithium jump pack?

When a 12V vehicle battery is completely drained, smart clamps cannot detect voltage to activate power automatically. The force start button bypasses automatic voltage detection, delivering full battery power to crank the vehicle even from zero volts.

Can a jump starter replace a battery charger or maintainer?

No. A jump starter delivers a quick burst of high amperage to crank the engine, but it is not designed to slowly charge or condition a dead lead-acid battery. For trickle charging or seasonal storage, use a dedicated battery maintainer as explained in our guide on battery charger vs battery maintainer.

Are lithium jump starters safe to store in a car during hot summer months?

Lithium packs feature operating and storage temperature ratings, typically up to 140 degrees Fahrenheit (-4°F to 140°F stated on Joltekon and AIMAPOW). However, vehicles parked in direct sunlight can exceed these temperatures, so keeping the unit stored out of direct sun inside a glove box or lower trunk compartment extends cell longevity.

Related: the best jump starter guide, our comparison of the best jump starter for cold weather, the best brand for portable jump starter, our diagnostics and electrical hub, and the best portable tire inflator guide. Also see our guide on best car battery charger. Also see our best battery charger maintainer. Also see our best battery maintainer for motorcycles. Also see our best battery checker for cars. Also see our battery checker vs multimeter. Also see our why does my car battery die in cold weather. Also see our how long does it take to charge a car battery with a charger. Also see our can you leave a battery maintainer on all winter. Also see our best automotive multimeter. Also see our how to use automotive multimeter.

More buying guides